Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hibs YLT ?

Hibs YLT ?

I've been a fan of a lot of the content the social media team at hibs have been pushing out

But wtf are they thinking posting Darren pulling the YLT sign?

Pride in Leith aye, pride in what that's all about - nah.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Unbeaten in the league so far?

Last minute equaliser v the gunts?

Looking more promising for the season?

Stadium upgrades doing well?

Hospitality largely sold out for the season?

What else can I have a moan about???????? Aye, its the YLT sign that Daz has done for, literally, years..................

Quote Originally Posted by Greenio View Post
    I've been a fan of a lot of the content the social media team at hibs have been pushing out

Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post

What else can I have a moan about???????? Aye, its the YLT sign that Daz has done for, literally, years..................
    I think it's also part of the Trainspotting themed marketing campaign stuff which has looked brilliant. I like that we're owning a lot of it despite Hearts/Rangers fans calling us spoon burners and junkies.

A lot of our fans are really buying in to it too. Look at all the ching being taken in the toilets, the guys from the YLT will be making a fortune.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Yeh mate, but the difference is that rather than Daz doing it off the cuff as a personal thing the club have now chosen to use him doing it in a social media post. Promoting local gang culture is hardly the sort of thing that the club means when they talk about being a 'community' club I wouldn't have thought.

I've no personal experience of the YLT even though I lived in Leith for a few years when I was a kid. In fact the only experience I have of them is from back in the 90s when some of them thought it would be a jolly wheeze to break into ER the night before a game and ruin the pitch by carving a giant YLT sign into it.

IMO this is something Hibs would be well advised to leave well alone and make this Daz post the last one the club's official media ever reference the YLT in.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 12-08-2022 at 12:37 PM.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Have a day off

Just a bit of fun...lighten up. Every kid brought up in leith has done the YLT sign at some point.

Quote Originally Posted by Centre Hawf View Post
    I think it's also part of the Trainspotting themed marketing campaign stuff which has looked brilliant. I like that we're owning a lot of it despite Hearts/Rangers fans calling us spoon burners and junkies.
    Yeh mate, but Trainspotting has become a bit of a cult film and is a film where Hibs are referenced a few times. It is also a work of fiction and as you say has resulted in our support gaining a few nicknames. Hibs doing a tongue in cheek advert on the back of it is reasonably harmless as an advertising tool in that context.

I would suggest normalising gang culture as acceptable isn't the same thing.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 12-08-2022 at 12:35 PM.

Nothing about looking for something to moan about at all. I love all the things you've listed.

I just don't think it's beneficial for us to be aligning ourselves with, what to me, that represents.

Interested to hear why you think it is though?

It’s a total disgrace!!!

Darren is 37, that’s too old for the YLT. Give us an Ethan Laidlaw YLT.

It’s really not that deep and just a bit of fun.

Can’t wait for Youan to adopt it and do it when he scores

This is genius by big Daz. Kids love the hippity hop these days and all of that street gang culture pish. Lets take Leith radges global!

The Yankees sign can be replaced with the YLT.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    Just a bit of fun...lighten up. Every kid brought up in leith has done the YLT sign at some point.
    Exactly, there were/are no gangs in the organised crime sense of it, just laddies and lassies from Leith who give it the old YLT. It's iconic.

Our players are [mainly] Young
    The San Siro is in Leith
    Hibernian is a Team

We aren't promoting the CCS

Seeing the people who its annoyed on twitter pleases me.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Vault Boy View Post
    It’s a total disgrace!!!

Darren is 37, that’s too old for the YLT. Give us an Ethan Laidlaw YLT.
    Ethan Laidlaw is an East Lothian laddie.

Geographically prohibited.

Quote Originally Posted by DarrenSQH View Post
    Seeing the people who its annoyed on twitter pleases me.
    Me too.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Jesus christ, folk will moan about anything now

Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    Our players are [mainly] Young
    The San Siro is in Leith
    Hibernian is a Team

We aren't promoting the CCS
    Just being pedantic but the san siro isnt in leith...good try though.

First time I’ve heard of YLT, hasn’t a clue what Daz was doing until I came on here

Is there still a gang culture...in my younger years ( 50 odd years ago) yes. YLT YA B##S was what we got shouted at when they came to Broomie
    Lol.
    B

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Nothing about looking for something to moan about at all. I love all the things you've listed.

I just don't think it's beneficial for us to be aligning ourselves with, what to me, that represents.

Interested to hear why you think it is though?
    Its difficult to "align ourselves" with something that only exists in the minds of kids.

Why its beneficial? Well, for one because, as has been mentioned - it noises up the daft hun / diet hun apoplectic mob..............which is a win in my book.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Exactly, there were/are no gangs in the organised crime sense of it, just laddies and lassies from Leith who give it the old YLT. It's iconic.

Hibs promoting gang violence? Welcome to the internet.........................................j esus.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    Ethan Laidlaw is an East Lothian laddie.

Geographically prohibited.
    Taken down by my own hubris once again

First Team Regular Billy McKirdy's Avatar

Gamertag: N?A Wii Code: N?A
    Gang culture in the 60s and 70s was more about territory and identity than fighting, I’m from Piershill and we had our own identity, if the club were promoting the casual scene then that would cross a line for me, this is just harmless fun in my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by BT58 View Post
    Is there still a gang culture...in my younger years ( 50 odd years ago) yes. YLT YA B##S was what we got shouted at when they came to Broomie
    Lol.
    B

Yeah there is and organised crime is often linked to it. Nowadays they seem to be copying the odious Drill culture you get down south.

Gamertag: Jakesawers2008
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Yeh mate, but the difference is that rather than Daz doing it off the cuff as a personal thing the club have now chosen to use him doing it in a social media post. Promoting local gang culture is hardly the sort of thing that the club means when they talk about being a 'community' club I wouldn't have thought.

I've no personal experience of the YLT even though I lived in Leith for a few years when I was a kid. In fact the only experience I have of them is from back in the 90s when some of them thought it would be a jolly wheeze to break into ER the night before a game and ruin the pitch by carving a giant YLT sign into it.

IMO this is something Hibs would be well advised to leave well alone and make this Daz post the last one the club's official media ever reference the YLT in.
    I`m sure that was before a game with Rangers that we won... correct me if I'm wrong but that's how i remember it.

First Team Breakthrough HTD1875's Avatar
    If it annoys Ewan Golf Correspondent Murray then it’s a big thumbs up from me.

YL ya bass.

Are you Ewen Murray?