Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    @hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    How to improve the current squad?

“ Pay for better players “

Pat Stanton
    Sounds easy, but it really isn’t if you don’t have a lot of money to spend. We don’t have a lot of money.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    The pub in question being St Giles Bar, fit o the West Port/corner of 'market.
    Most here may have known it as the Fiddlers Arms.
    Aye Jimmy left what is now known as The Balmoral.(old North British)
    I think he went down to the back door/lift to the railway station.
    He jumped in a taxi and when he got to the pub,it was mobbed.
    The St Giles bus left from the Market back then and of course the area was mostly Hibsland at the time.
    Anyway,the whole shebang burst into a chorus of the Hibs Song when Jimmy appeared.
    And yes ,he gave our grandad Jimmy Devlin his medal.
    When he got a taxi back to the hotel,i dont think anyone noticed he had left.
    So busy ! So explains Sloop not being aware he nipped away.
    It truth told, Jimmy would have prefered the team to have went to the Grassmarket with him.
    A raucous night !!

And a "lock in"

Edit
    Good job Turnbull didnae ken Jimmy done a B1 or he might have docked him a weeks wages!!

Wae Eddie,it was "my way or the highway"
    That was part of his downfall imo
    Stubborn he was.That puts it mildly !
    A great coach though.
    One of my favourite Jimmy/Ned stories Mick is when Jimmy did a flick through his and the defender's legs and sent Brownlie free galloping down the right. The crowd roared but Ned jumped out the dugout and shouted, "O'Rourke leave the tricks to the good players". Ned was a tough act.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    One of my favourite Jimmy/Ned stories Mick is when Jimmy did a flick through his and the defender's legs and sent Brownlie free galloping down the right. The crowd roared but Ned jumped out the dugout and shouted, "O'Rourke leave the tricks to the good players". Ned was a tough act.
    Aye Brian,he was that.

Of course,as you well know,Ned was there when Jimmy signed as a schoolboy.
    So maybe Jimmy got it tight more than others later on
    Familiarity and all that !
    I could not possibly comment !!

But i did tell Ned off in the Barnton hotel public bar many years later .

Quote Originally Posted by Ringothedog View Post
    Sounds easy, but it really isn’t if you don’t have a lot of money to spend. We don’t have a lot of money.
    Says who?

We have the Doig money

Boyle money hopefully

ST’s must be close to prepandemic levels

200k + for a 16 year old McIntyre

200k for an 18 year old Grigor tbc is a strange way for a cash strapped club to act

Throw in Hauge Meikersson McGeady Rocky Marshall and Tait all who didn’t come cheap with hopefully more to arrive before the window slams shut
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 17-08-2022 at 01:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    When Brownlie and Blackley left they were in their late 20's. Hibs defo had them throughout their prime.

Another noticeable factor was our general reluctance to sell players to the Old Firm. Cropley went to Arsenal, Bremner to Villa, Brownlie and Blackley to Newcastle. Stanton to Celtic was different, Pat was at the veteran stage of his career (I'll ignore Turnbull's bizarre swap of Iain Munro for Fyfe and Scott, WTF was that about).

I remember Edwards signing, the fee was like £12,000. His career trajectory must have dipped a lot by then, as had Dunfermline's team standing. If he had gone to Ibrox, then he wouldn't have to have suffered the attentions of Diddy McDonald at least. Eight game ban for throwing a ball away, talk about injustice. Meanwhile it was alright for our opponents to boot the **** out of him every week .
    Good post
    Just let todays fans know if they think Martin Boyle gets it tight from defenders, Alex Edwards got assaulted back then.
    Many of his cards may well have been in retaliation of being hacked down.
    Yes,that wee man wae the king billy tattoo,Diddy McDonald was a sneaky dirty barstewrd.
    Hated us as much as he did Celtic

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Good post
    Just let todays fans know if they think Martin Boyle gets it tight from defenders, Alex Edwards got assaulted back then.
    Many of his cards may well have been in retaliation of being hacked down.
    Yes,that wee man wae the king billy tattoo,Diddy McDonald was a sneaky dirty barstewrd.
    Hated us as much as he did Celtic
    Remember one game Doddy was lying prostrate on the ground and Wee Mickey decided to take a walk over the top of him

Mickey headed straight for the tunnel without waiting on the red leaving McDonald to lift his light blue top to inspect the damage