Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Joe Newell.

Joe Newell.

1st half sheite, 2nd half much much better, just do it more Joe, you have the ability.

He epitomised the strength of character that the team showed today. Well played, Joe. More of the same next week please.

Dead ball delivery was mostly woeful, endless daft fouls. Upgrade required.

Stood out from the mire occasionally last season but I don't see a Hibs team with a centre midfield with him as a regular starter achieving much tbh

@hibs.net private member cameronw-hfc's Avatar
    I'm a big fan of Newell but thought he was off it a bit in the first half. Much better second as you said, more drive, more forward passes and put himself about a bit better. Campbell in CM is a bigger worry for me. He never hides, puts himself about but you just have no faith in him on the ball.

Newell and JDH have at least shown they can be good players.

Was the one player in the middle brave enough to keep ball. Thought he was one of the better players today.

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Thought he was poor along with Henderson who looked like a wee boy lost. We got lucky today as they had numerous chances in the second half to finish us off. Still they have done this to us loads o times so giruy Robbie.

2nd half he started showing for the ball which is why he improved. Obviously had to be told to do it at half time. 1st half he was hiding. And that happens far too often.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Possibly controversial opinion here but Hibs won’t improve until we upgrade on him.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    He’s not for me until he can start to offer more of a goal threat.

Testimonial Due Booked4Being-Ugly's Avatar
    Was our best midfielder today.

Never the answer but is a far superior player than Campbell. midfield is so poor

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Only midfielder who attempted to create anything today. Always showing for the ball. Always looking forward to see what’s on.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    He’ll never be for you then.

He cannae shoot. That’s not going to change.

@hibs.net private member cameronw-hfc's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    2nd half he started showing for the ball which is why he improved. Obviously had to be told to do it at half time. 1st half he was hiding. And that happens far too often.

I disagree on the hiding. He's got his flaws, but he rarely hides. Needs to be playing forward more, aye, more drive on the ball sometimes aye, but he's always stood out as one that seems to really care and not hide. Him and Campbell whilst I don't rate the latter, neither of them hide imo, sometimes they're just crap on the ball.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Thought our midfield was missing again today including Joe. The midfield is a puzzle LJ needs to get to grips with im sure he knows that though and im guessing will require a bit of time and a couple of transfer windows. We are very much work in progress but im sure we'll improve. Im not sure Joe will figure too much in the improved version.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    He’ll never be for you then.

He cannae shoot. That’s not going to change.
    Yes, I think so too but with that being the case, We need to replace him with someone that can shoot.

Kenneh won’t get many goals and he’s the defensive midfielder, the other players in the centre need to contribute more of a threat.

Showed more composure on the ball than many others which was our main issue today

Folk mistake that for a lack of urgency but the vast majority of the time his touches and passes are positive ones

...agree he needs to bring more goal scoring to the team tho...sure he knows this himself

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    You must've hated our cup winning midfield.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    I despair. He's never going to be the answer
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

I think today showed both good and bad of him, we've all seen how well he can play, but today he was poor then very good.

He just never produces it enough for me, maybe when we bring in another midfielder he can do it more often alongside someone better in there, if not we will just see more of the same.

Quote Originally Posted by Booked4Being-Ugly View Post
    Was our best midfielder today.
    Thats a very low bar. Midfield was totally missing today. Need players who can move the ball quicker, its painfull to watch how slow we are at moving the ball forward.

Cabrera takes a great corner but he's not had a sniff yet. I thought Henderson and Newell weren't great with most of the set pieces today. I like Joe though. I always think he's one of our better players.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    You must've hated our cup winning midfield.
    No as we had enough goals from elsewhere at the time. John McGinn would also pitch in with goals from time to time.

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    Possibly controversial opinion here but Hibs won’t improve until we upgrade on him.
    I’m in the trench with you on this one.

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    Where I am tbh.

I think he'll have plenty of games where he looks neat and tidy, will arguably be our best midfielder and have plenty of folk willing to defend him.. after games where the team has underperformed, the team has failed to gel and all sorts of departments have failed to be greater than the sum of the parts.

It doesn't obviously look like his fault and maybe isn't but I just feel that we'll find ourselves looking a better side without him.

Newell, Campbell and JDH will never be good enough for Hibs.

Bang average footballers.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    If Joe played to his full potential week in week out, he would be playing in a level well above the SPL. Trouble is that on his off days, he comes across as just not being arsed to put a shift in. Nothing worse than that. What he needs is real pressure on his place.

Quote Originally Posted by Coco Bryce View Post
    Newell, Campbell and JDH will never be good enough for Hibs.

Bang average footballers.
    I think Newell could be a very good footballer if there was consistency and if he wasn't trying to make up for others around him. No doubt we need someone to link midfield with the forward line but still think Newell will be part of the equation. JDH is also a good footballer but is too defensive when we already have Kenneth and Newell deep.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    If Joe played to his full potential week in week out, he would be playing in a level well above the SPL. Trouble is that on his off days, he comes across as just not being arsed to put a shift in. Nothing worse than that. What he needs is real pressure on his place.
    No danger. He's a lucky guy to be at a club like ours.

Funnily enough the general consensus on here is exactly what Rotherham fans said about him. Could be brilliant sometimes but other times look poor.