Thread: BT Wifi disk

BT Wifi disk

I have changed broadband providers from Sky to Bt , My new BT router is upstairs whilst my PC is downstairs , With sky i had my router next to my PC and was connected via a yellow ethertet cable easy peasy..Now i can't have an ethernet cable running from upstairs to downstairs so the BT engineer said i need a 'wifi disc'

Does anyone else have their router upstairs using a wifi disk to connect to a downstairs PC ?

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    I’m the opposite, router downstairs and a disc upstairs. I’ve got an xbox and a Switch running fine off it.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post
    I’m the opposite, router downstairs and a disc upstairs. I’ve got an xbox and a Switch running fine off it.
    Folks are similar... in fact after a few supplier changes over the years they've said this was so seemless they're not changing again lol

I think my point is if my PC is downstairs and not plugged into my router then how can a wifi disk upstairs find a connection ?

This is news to me. I have BT wi fi downstairs and it works well upstairs without a disc or anything.

Are we talking about the same thing ?

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    This is news to me. I have BT wi fi downstairs and it works well upstairs without a disc or anything.

Are we talking about the same thing ?
    Nae idea , But when i got BT installed the engineer said i can only put the router upstairs which is nae good to me as my PC is downstairs which was fine when i was with Sky as my router was next to my PC plugged in via a yellow ethernet cable

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    If you absolutely need your PC to be connected via ethernet, have you considered using powerline adaptors?
    They plug in to your mains network, one by the router, one by the PC. The powerline adaptors connect to each other over your electric cabling and you connect your router & PC to the powerlines with a short (or long) Ethernet cable.
    You can get decent download speeds using them but take care if it's for gaming as the ping latency isn't the best.
    Last edited by speedy_gonzales; 01-08-2022 at 04:09 PM.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Have you tried to see if it works fine without the disk?
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    I think my point is if my PC is downstairs and not plugged into my router then how can a wifi disk upstairs find a connection ?
    Ah, got you. You would need a wireless network card in your PC to connect using the disc, otherwise a wired connection using powerline adapters as suggested above.

Edit: just checked my disc and it has an Ethernet port. So you can have your disc downstairs next to your PC and plug them in.
    Last edited by Green Man; 01-08-2022 at 10:09 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    If you absolutely need your PC to be connected via ethernet, have you considered using powerline adaptors?
    They plug in to your mains network, one by the router, one by the PC. The powerline adaptors connect to each other over your electric cabling and you connect your router & PC to the powerlines with a short (or long) Ethernet cable.
    You can get decent download speeds using them but if take care of its for gaming as the ping latency isn't the best.
    That's what I use.

I've got three BT discs. I think they're great. Router is downstairs. Work laptop is plugged into the disc in my upstairs study.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post
    Ah, got you. You would need a wireless network card in your PC to connect using the disc, otherwise a wired connection using powerline adapters as suggested above.

Edit: just checked my disc and it has an Ethernet port. So you can have your disc downstairs next to your PC and plug them in.

That's exactly what i'm on about

£100 for the disk though

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    That's exactly what i'm on about

£100 for the disk though
    Would a £5-£10 wireless card stuck in to a spare USB port on your PC not work?

https://business.currys.co.uk/catalo...B&gclsrc=aw.ds

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Would a £5-£10 wireless card stuck in to a spare USB port on your PC not work?

https://business.currys.co.uk/catalo...B&gclsrc=aw.ds
    Can only try i guess , Ordered one

I used one of those with no issues for work stuff. Well worth a try.

This is going to sound daft but i really don't have a clue about technical stuff

Sooo ...On my PC , Along the bottom on the screen Their is a wee icon saying 'internet access' i clicked on it and it brings up my bt broadband details , I clicked on that and it connected me Nae wifi disk needed , And their was me gonna spend £100 on a disc i dinnae even need !! Nae ethernet cable , Totally wireless ...BT broadband £25 a month

Sorted!... must've been WiFi enabled already

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Have you tried to see if it works fine without the disk?
    Ahem!
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

All that for nothing !! £100 better off. It makes you wonder....

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Ahem!
    Aken mate