hibs.net Messageboard

 

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: BT Wifi disk

  1. #1
    @hibs.net private member HibbyAndy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Penicuik
    Age
    46
    Posts
    31,587

    BT Wifi disk

    I have changed broadband providers from Sky to Bt , My new BT router is upstairs whilst my PC is downstairs , With sky i had my router next to my PC and was connected via a yellow ethertet cable easy peasy..Now i can't have an ethernet cable running from upstairs to downstairs so the BT engineer said i need a 'wifi disc'

    Does anyone else have their router upstairs using a wifi disk to connect to a downstairs PC ?


  2. Log in to remove the advert

  3. #2
    @hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    No longer a city dweller
    Age
    42
    Posts
    4,171
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Im the opposite, router downstairs and a disc upstairs. Ive got an xbox and a Switch running fine off it.

  4. #3
    @hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The 'Mains
    Posts
    4,955
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Im the opposite, router downstairs and a disc upstairs. Ive got an xbox and a Switch running fine off it.
    Folks are similar... in fact after a few supplier changes over the years they've said this was so seemless they're not changing again lol
    cm fallain

  5. #4
    @hibs.net private member HibbyAndy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Penicuik
    Age
    46
    Posts
    31,587
    I think my point is if my PC is downstairs and not plugged into my router then how can a wifi disk upstairs find a connection ?

  6. #5
    @hibs.net private member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    696
    This is news to me. I have BT wi fi downstairs and it works well upstairs without a disc or anything.

    Are we talking about the same thing ?

  7. #6
    @hibs.net private member HibbyAndy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Penicuik
    Age
    46
    Posts
    31,587
    Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This is news to me. I have BT wi fi downstairs and it works well upstairs without a disc or anything.

    Are we talking about the same thing ?
    Nae idea , But when i got BT installed the engineer said i can only put the router upstairs which is nae good to me as my PC is downstairs which was fine when i was with Sky as my router was next to my PC plugged in via a yellow ethernet cable

  8. #7
    @hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,352
    If you absolutely need your PC to be connected via ethernet, have you considered using powerline adaptors?
    They plug in to your mains network, one by the router, one by the PC. The powerline adaptors connect to each other over your electric cabling and you connect your router & PC to the powerlines with a short (or long) Ethernet cable.
    You can get decent download speeds using them but take care if it's for gaming as the ping latency isn't the best.
    Last edited by speedy_gonzales; 01-08-2022 at 04:09 PM.

  9. #8
    @hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Spinning a Yarn
    Posts
    23,269
    Have you tried to see if it works fine without the disk?
    WASH YOUR HANDS, WEAR A MASK, KEEP 2M APART AND GET THE VACCINE

  10. #9
    @hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    No longer a city dweller
    Age
    42
    Posts
    4,171
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I think my point is if my PC is downstairs and not plugged into my router then how can a wifi disk upstairs find a connection ?
    Ah, got you. You would need a wireless network card in your PC to connect using the disc, otherwise a wired connection using powerline adapters as suggested above.

    Edit: just checked my disc and it has an Ethernet port. So you can have your disc downstairs next to your PC and plug them in.
    Last edited by Green Man; 01-08-2022 at 10:09 AM.

  11. #10
    Coaching Staff HUTCHYHIBBY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    EDINBURGH
    Age
    51
    Posts
    19,595
    Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If you absolutely need your PC to be connected via ethernet, have you considered using powerline adaptors?
    They plug in to your mains network, one by the router, one by the PC. The powerline adaptors connect to each other over your electric cabling and you connect your router & PC to the powerlines with a short (or long) Ethernet cable.
    You can get decent download speeds using them but if take care of its for gaming as the ping latency isn't the best.
    That's what I use.

  12. #11
    @hibs.net private member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Musselburgh
    Posts
    3,140
    I've got three BT discs. I think they're great. Router is downstairs. Work laptop is plugged into the disc in my upstairs study.

  13. #12
    @hibs.net private member HibbyAndy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Penicuik
    Age
    46
    Posts
    31,587
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Ah, got you. You would need a wireless network card in your PC to connect using the disc, otherwise a wired connection using powerline adapters as suggested above.

    Edit: just checked my disc and it has an Ethernet port. So you can have your disc downstairs next to your PC and plug them in.

    That's exactly what i'm on about


    100 for the disk though

  14. #13
    @hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    20,414
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    That's exactly what i'm on about

    100 for the disk though
    Would a 5-10 wireless card stuck in to a spare USB port on your PC not work?

    https://business.currys.co.uk/catalo...B&gclsrc=aw.ds

  15. #14
    @hibs.net private member HibbyAndy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Penicuik
    Age
    46
    Posts
    31,587
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Would a 5-10 wireless card stuck in to a spare USB port on your PC not work?

    https://business.currys.co.uk/catalo...B&gclsrc=aw.ds
    Can only try i guess , Ordered one

  16. #15
    @hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The 'Mains
    Posts
    4,955
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Can only try i guess , Ordered one
    I used one of those with no issues for work stuff. Well worth a try.
    cm fallain

  17. #16
    @hibs.net private member HibbyAndy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Penicuik
    Age
    46
    Posts
    31,587
    This is going to sound daft but i really don't have a clue about technical stuff


    Sooo ...On my PC , Along the bottom on the screen Their is a wee icon saying 'internet access' i clicked on it and it brings up my bt broadband details , I clicked on that and it connected me Nae wifi disk needed , And their was me gonna spend 100 on a disc i dinnae even need !! Nae ethernet cable , Totally wireless ...BT broadband 25 a month

  18. #17
    @hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The 'Mains
    Posts
    4,955
    Sorted!... must've been WiFi enabled already
    cm fallain

  19. #18
    @hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Spinning a Yarn
    Posts
    23,269
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Have you tried to see if it works fine without the disk?
    Ahem!
    WASH YOUR HANDS, WEAR A MASK, KEEP 2M APART AND GET THE VACCINE

  20. #19
    @hibs.net private member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    696
    All that for nothing !! 100 better off. It makes you wonder....

  21. #20
    @hibs.net private member HibbyAndy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Penicuik
    Age
    46
    Posts
    31,587
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Ahem!
    Aken mate

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
hibs.net ©2020 All Rights Reserved
- Mobile Leaderboard (320x50) - Leaderboard (728x90)