Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I can’t believe anybody would get the bus from Waverley to Easter road.

If the OP isn’t fit enough to do it in one go, just break up the journey by stopping for pints on the way.

I hate buses though so I’m probably not a great person to ask.
    I'm not a fan of buses either so in full agreement

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Google maps says it a 29 min walk!
    Mine says 32.

I started at the platform though!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I'm not saying he shouldn't walk, I often do when I'm up for games, but I've no idea if the chap can manage that or not.
    I'm not saying you said he shouldn't walk, nor am I saying he should or shouldn't walk Just wanted to flag up that timewise it may be fairly similar to help his decision making.

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    I'm not saying you said he shouldn't walk, nor am I saying he should or shouldn't walk Just wanted to flag up that timewise it may be fairly similar to help his decision making.
    Exactly!

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    I'm not saying he shouldn't walk, I often do when I'm up for games, but I've no idea if the chap can manage that or not.
    He's from Yorkshire, I'm reliably informed they all think they are superhuman

Mine says 32.

I started at the platform though!
    Exactly!

Re food - Vittoria's on Leith Walk a good place to eat before or after a match. Would increase the walking time though....

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    Well I'm into my 70s and it's an 20 min stroll for me, must be a lot of unfit hibbie around ��
    I agree. Wouldn't say it was a fair trek. Not if you're used to walking a lot. 20/25 mins.
    Last edited by Since452; 04-07-2022 at 02:47 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I can’t believe anybody would get the bus from Waverley to Easter road.

If the OP isn’t fit enough to do it in one go, just break up the journey by stopping for pints on the way.

I hate buses though so I’m probably not a great person to ask.

It wouldn’t even cross my mind to get a bus from Waverley but then I’ve averaged 14k or so steps a day for about the last 5 years.

If you’re physically able to walk a half hour or so at a leisurely pace downhill then definitely walk it. Lots of pubs on the way to break up the walk as well.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stubbsy90+2 View Post

It wouldn’t even cross my mind to get a bus from Waverley but then I’ve averaged 14k or so steps a day for about the last 5 years.

If you’re physically able to walk a half hour or so at a leisurely pace downhill then definitely walk it. Lots of pubs on the way to break up the walk as well.
    See, I’m different, I’m fat and lazy, still wouldn’t get the bus from Waverley to Easter road though.

Quote Originally Posted by BradtheMiller View Post
    Ian here, a 60 year old avid groundhopper & Rotherham United fan. I'm coming up to Easter Road for Saturday's game v Clyde.
    Is the stadium walkable from Waverley station or is a bus better?
    Best place to eat near the ground etc?
    should I keep my gob shut (yorks accent)?
    How's Joe Newell doing for you lot?
    Are the natives generally friendly?
    All help gratefully recieved, cheers!
    Use this website for a wide choice of buses that pass the vicinity of Waverley Station and take you down Easter Road.

www.lothianbuses.com
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 04-07-2022 at 02:55 PM.

What about a ticket to get in ( £12 - £6 concessions ) ?

Probably best to do it online and get it scanned to your phone for our scanners ( If they are working ? 😀)

The Ticket Office can be a bit of a last minute rush even at Cat C games on match days

Hope you are on the Hibs database? 😀
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 04-07-2022 at 03:12 PM.

I personally like Newell but he has his critics in our support. As it happens, I think he played well in our recent friendlies, and I think and hope he is going to thrive under Lee Johnson. Enjoy your visit to ER.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    On the bus debate, I'd definitely avoid getting the bus after the game if you're heading back to Waverley unless you have mobility issues. It might be different since there won't be a normal size of crowd but it normally takes way longer by bus to Waverley after a match than it is to walk due to match congestion, tram work congestion, matinees coming out of the Playhouse, etc.

If walking to/from the station, I'd avoid the Waverley Steps > Leith Street > London Rd route (unless you want to go to pubs around the Playhouse) and either go the scenic Waterloo Place route for the view, or the way I go which is to use the often forgotten about Calton Rd exit from Waverley, turn right out of the drop-off area, go down Calton Rd, left up Abbeyhill and down Easter Road - I find it quicker as it is less busy all round.
    Last edited by overdrive; 04-07-2022 at 03:18 PM.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Walk it if you can, buses in and around Leith and Easter Road currently work on a timetable and route that Stephen Hawking couldn't work out

Sometimes it will take 5 minutes and others 5 years

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Walk downhill all the way. It's a nice stroll (you'll struggle to get a direct bus from Waverley anyway, they'll all involve a walk to some extent. .
    Eat at Vittoria's on Leith Walk or head into Joseph Pierce's bar and have some scran and a quality beer.
    No one cares about your accent.
    Joe Newell- divides opinion. Has some decent footballing ability, but couldnae score in a swingers club.

Enjoy and welcome to Easter Road when you get there.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Good shout

If you like a beer, do this on the way back and on the way down, go via a selection of Guildford Arms/Café Royal/Barony Bar/Cask and Barrel/Windsor Buffet/Robbie's. Doing them all would be a world class pub crawl.
    And don't forget to nip in to the Strathie on Iona Street, best wee pub in Edinburgh.

Loads of great places to eat on Leith Walk, of every description.

@hibs.net private member Bad Habits's Avatar
    Ian here, a 60 year old avid groundhopper & Rotherham United fan. I'm coming up to Easter Road for Saturday's game v Clyde.
    Is the stadium walkable from Waverley station or is a bus better?
    Best place to eat near the ground etc?
    should I keep my gob shut (yorks accent)?
    How's Joe Newell doing for you lot?
    Are the natives generally friendly?
    All help gratefully recieved, cheers!
    I'm a Yorkshireman with roots in Leith, the only bother I've ever had is from my dad. Who told me I could have at least tried to put an accent on when shouting the score out to a passing car.

I've had friends from Australia, California and the deepest darkest depths of England up and they've never been met with anything other than open arms. My friends who support Manchester United and Liverpool couldn't believe how accommodating the Hibs fans were!

Mash Tun is nice for food. Been a while since I've been in but last time I was there I enjoyed it. May be busy on match day (see if you can reserve if you decide to go there).
    Have a great day on Saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by Bad Habits View Post
    I'm a Yorkshireman with roots in Leith, the only bother I've ever had is from my dad. Who told me I could have at least tried to put an accent on when shouting the score out to a passing car.

I've had friends from Australia, California and the deepest darkest depths of England up and they've never been met with anything other than open arms. My friends who support Manchester United and Liverpool couldn't believe how accommodating the Hibs fans were!
    Thanks for all the info & friendly warm welcome. I'm arriving fairly early so I'll probably take a leisurely stroll. You hibees are a friendly bunch, can't wait now, I'm a bit of an anorak so I'll be taking loads of pics of the city & Easter Road, see you Saturday!!!

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Thanks for all the info & friendly warm welcome. I'm arriving fairly early so I'll probably take a leisurely stroll. You hibees are a friendly bunch, can't wait now, I'm a bit of an anorak so I'll be taking loads of pics of the city & Easter Road, see you Saturday!!!
    Off topic a bit maybe but I love the sound of going ground hopping round loads of the smaller stadiums. Think when my boy is a bit older I can see me being a bit of an anorak in that sense too.

Love seeing football stadiums, big or small, empty or full. I’d love to get to every stadium in Scotland.

What is your favourite wee and big stadium you've visited?

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    What is your favourite wee and big stadium you've visited?
    I can only answer on English stadia unfortunately;
    my favourite wee stadium is the Northolme, home of Northern Premier League Gainsborough Trinity, a beautiful little ground.
    My favourite large stadium in England is Villa Park, a mixture of the ultra modern & old traditional, a great stadium.

Not that far a walk, plenty busses if you canny be arsed though.

Don’t worry about the accent, there’s plenty hibs fans come up from England and over from Ireland.

Get a half pizza supper from Giovanni’s, salt and sauce obviously, for the authentic Scottish experience. Unrivalled.

Ian, easiest thing to do is get an uber from Waverley to Easter road ( the street) then frequent a few bars in the area. Theres a restaurant near the bottom called the Persevere. Have a scran, then walk back up Easter road to Albion Road, turn left, then follow the guys wearing green and white scarves. Best of luck to ya.
    B
    Last edited by BT58; 06-07-2022 at 04:31 AM.

He did, Andy. And Stubbsy went there.
    Did Scottie Allan not go there as well

If it's your first visit to the city then I would recommend the walk, will get some great views. If you have the legs then Carlton hill will get you even better views.

Plenty pubs and food available on Easter road and would recommend baines if it's open.

Enjoy the trip.

I walk down from opposite the train station most games. Its a lovely walk, 20 to 25 mins and you'll pass loads of places to eat on the way or veer off onto leith walk for more food choices.

The accent won't be a problem, enjoy your day hopefully you'll see a decent game and enjoy our City

Quote Originally Posted by badabing67 View Post
    Did Scottie Allan not go there as well
    Aye a hink so

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    Don't forget the Shore onto Newhaven for good food.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Dont listen to them mate, they made me wear a kilt, go on a haggis hunt, eat 5 deep fried mars bars and then wash it down 2 litres of buckfast before they would accept me :)

Hibs fans are the salt of the earth.