Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Andy Goram RIP

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    That’s not good to hear, hope he beats it. A fantastic keeper and I still remember how excited I was when he signed for us. I couldn’t get to many games back then but I made sure I was there for his home debut against Dunfermline. A very good cricketer as well. All the best to him.
    We only went for him because Celtic gazumped us for Ian Andrews. Andy Goram was the real deal, a genuinely world class player. Really sad how it turned out for him after he signed for Greyskull FC.

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    Sorry to hear this news about Andy, a fantastic goalie - the best Hibs keeper in my lifetime, Scotland too.

Get well soon Andy Goram.
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

I consider him the best goalie we've had.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Played for Penicuik , As you say a very good cricketer

Yip ,Played him at pool on more than one occasion in the fishers tryst where he would just swan in and put his 50p on the table to play the winner

All the best Andy
    He was in the Carnethy Roadhouse in Penicuik one Friday night towards the end of a season. Got poured into a taxi then made umpteen fine saves at Celtic Park the next day. A thirsty chap but a fine goalkeeper.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Couple of talking points regards Andy

He of course will likely be remembered more for playing at the now defunct rAngers FC
    As all the reports are referring to,but he played four seasons for us.

Andy's dad briefly played for Hibs.Also a goalie

Andy scored twice in his time at Hibs.

Once a loooong kick v Morton.
    Am sure many here will recall that.
    Another goal V Clydebank in a League Cup penalty shoot out.

He played 4 times for Scotland at International Cricket.
    Batted with left hand, bowled with right hand.

Gleamed all this from wiki .So trust its correct !
    I found that annoying as well. Played 5 seasons for us and 7 seasons for them, but of course he’s widely described as just ex-Rangers player.

We never, ever matter to the west coast media.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    I found that annoying as well. Played 5 seasons for us and 7 seasons for them, but of course he’s widely described aScotland Well he was cappeds just ex-Rangers player.

We never, ever matter to the west coast media.
    Got my sums wrong there.5 seasons.
    Indeed his time with us i would suggest he would have had very many tougher games than with them and standing out and playing so good that they bought him.

Another two points .He was our club captain for most of his time with us.
    Some media mentioning how many times the rAngers goalie was capped for Scotland
    He was capped while with us and Oldham many times.
    Anyway gloss over the other stuff and wish him a full recovery from this evil disease.

Definitely the best keeper we've had, albeit pushed hard by Leighton. He was brave, agile and had great hands. Possibly the best keeper Scotland have had, too. And all at a height that folk would baulk at deploying in the modern game. His technique and all round natural ability saw him put in displays to defy logic. I particularly remember the 10 man win at the Bus Shelter with Gordon Rae sent off early doors. Kano and Archigol netted for us and I think Hen Broon scored from a set piece for them but a major reason we won that day was Goram. He was exceptional and could only have been about 23 or 24 at the time. As good a performance from a goalie there as I've seen.

Obviously, there's a lot of unpalatable baggage that we can't ignore but wish him well in his fight against this horrible disease.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenwich_Hibby View Post
    Probably the best keeper I saw at Hibs.
    All the best for a fully recovery Andy.

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Best goalkeeper I’ve ever seen, full stop. Wish him well.
    Agree with you.

My Dad and his dad were mates. Played darts in Fairleys Leith Street before my dad played in the band.

We paid a mega transfer fee of £325 000 for Goram to Oldham which was unheard of back in the day for a goalkeeper per us. Worth every penny and pound though as he was immense. Rock solid. Only Jim Leighton came close to being in the same class as Roughie despite being a very good goalkeeper wasn't at the same level imo. Aye, I'd opine that Goram was the best ever keeper with Leighton a very close second. Budgie and Conrad Logan deserve a special mention too though.

Wish Andy Goram all the very best in the fight against cancer.

He of course will likely be remembered more for playing at the now defunct rAngers FC

Phenomenal stuff. All the best to him.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    A brilliant goalie during a time of brilliant goalies in Scotland. Get well soon Andy 👍

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar

Was at both of those games that you are referring to when he scored.The first being the last game of the 1988 season when we were 1-0 down at HT,(won 4-1)at home to Morton, where he kicked it from hand right over Davie Wyllie's head. The reason I remember that particular game as it was my 2 year old son's second Hibs game. Incidentally, he'll be joining me tomorrow for the game at SM. The Clydebank game from memory was on a midweek and AG scored the winning penalty at the cowshed.
    Last edited by green with envy; 23-04-2022 at 12:54 AM.

You just jogged my memory there.
    Andy use to sometimes pop into the public bar of the old Barnton Hotel
    He had an older pal there .
    Would sit playing dominoes wae the auld yins for pennies.
    Seen him a couple of times back then.
    He got peace in there.No hassle aboot fitba.

Get Well Goalie !

PS
    Did he not also represent Scotland at cricket,or was to, but fitba got in the way.
    He did, against Oz and I think he scored 4 runs.

He used to tell the story that one of their bowlers, Merv Hughes, thundered a bouncer at him an d Andy jumped out the way.

Merv stood with hands on hips staring at him and said..

“Stick to football, son”

His save from Pierre Van Hoojidonk is one of the best I have ever seen. It's why I always get irritated when people say things like '£40M is too much for a goalkeeper'. Saves like that win you league titles.

The guy is clearly not without 'interesting' views but you can see how it happens when you move to a club like Rangers. He's still a human being and he's going through a difficult time and I hope he makes a full recovery.

The best performance I have ever seen from a Hibs goalkeeper came to pass on a wet dreich windy night in Paisley 28/9/1988 in a match played in a gale

Gareth Evans gave us the lead then St Mirren threw the kitchen sink at us

Andy Goram was absolutely outstanding that night holding everything on the wet greasy surface and slippery ball as if he was wearing Teflon gloves getting his angles spot on every time repelling attack after attack on his own and loving every wet sodden minute with a big smile on his coupon

His only respite was Stevie Archigol’s ability to retain possession and hold the ball up the park

The Goalie left the field of play at the end of the ninety minutes after a 1-0 away win to a standing ovation from both sets of fans

Get well soon Goalie

First thing, Andy get well soon. I was his guest when he played for Scotland against Australia at Cricket. He was and I am sure is a real character.

One of our greatest goalkeepers for sure, on a par with the magisterial Jim Leighton. As for the greatest goal keeping display, I think that must go to our beloved, Conrad Logan, I have never seen anything like it, particularly in the circumstances.

We all know how dreadful a disease cancer, some here sadly even more than others but I am sure Andy will fight it hard. All the very best to him.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Got my sums wrong there.5 seasons.
    Indeed his time with us i would suggest he would have had very many tougher games than with them and standing out and playing so good that they bought him.

Another two points .He was our club captain for most of his time with us.
    Some media mentioning how many times the rAngers goalie was capped for Scotland
    He was capped while with us and Oldham many times.
    Anyway gloss over the other stuff and wish him a full recovery from this evil disease.

No mate your sums were right - played 4 seasons, signing in 1987/88 and leaving end of 1990/91.

Was a fantastic goalkeeper brilliant reflexes and agility. Best I have seen in a Hibs jersey. Hopefully recovers from his illness.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Hopefully he can make a recovery. Real quality player when we had him.

He was a great keeper.
    Will leave it at that

Fingers crossed he makes a full recovery. I think he's possibly the only keeper I've ever been excited about us signing and he fully justified it. The best I've seen playing for Hibs by a distance.

Just finished reading the following article in The Scotsman about Andy. Link below

Does come across that Andy was very much enjoying being a Hibby,till he flitted to the twilight zone.
    Alert !!
    David Duff comments in article ..

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/footb...keeper-3670131

I heard at the time he played for us that he was a good snooker player had a century break.
    All the best Goalie
    Last edited by gbhibby; 27-04-2022 at 12:03 PM.

@hibs.net private member Stonewall's Avatar
    Had the pleasure of playing cricket with him for Linlithgow.

Loved being part of a team and was really friendly and approachable.

Interestingly he admitted to being a really poor catcher of a cricket ball because his hands automatically set up to catch a football.

Wish him all the best in his fight with cancer.

Andy Goram

News this morning he has terminal cancer and around 6 months to live. Keep fighting Andy!

Quote Originally Posted by Gaffer1875 View Post
    News this morning he has terminal cancer and around 6 months to live. Keep fighting Andy!

Despite his Sevco guff, he was a phenomenal keeper throughout his career and this is sad to read.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Gaffer1875 View Post

Very sad to hear.

@hibs.net private member Libby Hibby's Avatar
    Horrible horrible disease. Good luck Andy, I loved him here at the Hibs, simply brilliant but he only played for that Glasgow mob according to the article today.