Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Andy Goram RIP

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar

Andy Goram RIP

I know he isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but it has been revealed that Andy Goram is in hospital receiving treatment for cancer.

He’s still a former Hibs player and the disease a horrible one. Can only wish him all the best for a full recovery.

https://news.stv.tv/sport/rangers-le...ted-for-cancer

Sad to hear about anyone having this cursed thing, can only wish him all the best.

Dreadful illness, I wouldn't wish it on anyone. Hope he makes a full recovery.

That’s not good to hear, hope he beats it. A fantastic keeper and I still remember how excited I was when he signed for us. I couldn’t get to many games back then but I made sure I was there for his home debut against Dunfermline. A very good cricketer as well. All the best to him.

One of our best ever keepers, met him several times when he was here at ER, can only say he was a lovely guy and I wish him all the best.

Met Andy quite a few times when he lived near Glencorse Golf Club. He was a good lad. Best wishes to him fighting this horrible diseases

Best wishes to him during this terrible time. Let's hope he makes a full recovery and gets the all clear. A brilliant goalkeeper, it's a shame he went nuts when he played for Rangers, but he wasn't only one who drank the loyalist kool-aid after signing for them.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    That’s not good to hear, hope he beats it. A fantastic keeper and I still remember how excited I was when he signed for us. I couldn’t get to many games back then but I made sure I was there for his home debut against Dunfermline. A very good cricketer as well. All the best to him.

Played for Penicuik , As you say a very good cricketer

Quote Originally Posted by hibeg View Post
    Met Andy quite a few times when he lived near Glencorse Golf Club. He was a good lad. Best wishes to him fighting this horrible diseases
    Yip ,Played him at pool on more than one occasion in the fishers tryst where he would just swan in and put his 50p on the table to play the winner

All the best Andy

Probably the best keeper I saw at Hibs.
    All the best for a fully recovery Andy.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Best goalkeeper I’ve ever seen, full stop. Wish him well.

Best Hibs goalkeeper by a country mile

Get well soon Goalie

You’ve got this !

Hope he beats it

One of my favourite ever players at Hibs

Best Scottish keeper in my lifetime, was absolutely brilliant at Hibs and as far as I know, had nothing but respect for us. Pretty sure I saw him congratulating Alex Miller on the pitch after our 1991 1-0 Hampden semi final win over his new team, Rangers. That couldn’t have been easy. All the best to him and speedy recovery..

Sad news. Get well soon

I played in goals as a youngster when Goram joined Hibs, he was my first idol, I was a bit too young to appreciate Rough. On his day was truly world class, can’t say that about many players that have played through my time supporting hibs. Wish him all the best.

Knew him well at ER great guy. Hope you beat this Andy

Orrabest in your fight Andy - inspired signing by Miller.

Would be worth so much more these days.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    Total tosser in his time with Hibs through to the Rankers but I wish him all the best in his fight and recovery from cancer.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Played for Penicuik , As you say a very good cricketer

Yip ,Played him at pool on more than one occasion in the fishers tryst where he would just swan in and put his 50p on the table to play the winner

All the best Andy
    You just jogged my memory there.
    Andy use to sometimes pop into the public bar of the old Barnton Hotel
    He had an older pal there .
    Would sit playing dominoes wae the auld yins for pennies.
    Seen him a couple of times back then.
    He got peace in there.No hassle aboot fitba.

Get Well Goalie !

PS
    Did he not also represent Scotland at cricket,or was to, but fitba got in the way.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-04-2022 at 06:42 PM.

All the best Andy , get well .

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    I know he isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but it has been revealed that Andy Goram is in hospital receiving treatment for cancer.

He’s still a former Hibs player and the disease a horrible one. Can only wish him all the best for a full recovery.

https://news.stv.tv/sport/rangers-le...ted-for-cancer
    Hope he beats this horrible disease!

Quote Originally Posted by GloryGlory View Post
    Hope he beats this horrible disease!
    Yes get well Andy.

One of the best players at Hibs in my lifetime and by far the best goalkeeper. Wish him the best.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Used to play snooker with him back in the day, loved a gamble, bet on anything. Horrible illness and I hope he gets back to full health soon.

First time I saw him was in Ladbrokes on rose street one lunchtime a few days after he signed for hibs.

Played cricket in the same team as him once and occasionally socialised with him after the cricket

Bit of a lech with the women iirc

Great goalie, best I have ever seen but lost the plot when at rangers.

That said I wish him all the best and hope he fights this.

Best keeper we've ever had. Hibs legend before he ever went to them. Best wishes Goalie.

@hibs.net private member Auckland Hibs's Avatar
    Best wishes to him.

Met him a few times, nice bloke - loved a punt and a pint.

Definitely the best keeper I've seen play for us. There was a save he made from a Dariusz Adamczuk header at a midweek game at Parkhead that I still smile about, it was incredible (IIRC we lost 3-1).

Get well soon the Goalie

Couple of talking points regards Andy

He of course will likely be remembered more for playing at the now defunct rAngers FC
    As all the reports are referring to,but he played four seasons for us.

Andy's dad briefly played for Hibs.Also a goalie

Andy scored twice in his time at Hibs.

Once a loooong kick v Morton.
    Am sure many here will recall that.
    Another goal V Clydebank in a League Cup penalty shoot out.

He played 4 times for Scotland at International Cricket.
    Batted with left hand, bowled with right hand.

Gleamed all this from wiki .So trust its correct !
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-04-2022 at 08:24 PM.