Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Fyvie

That last night is the sort of reception you should expect any of our cup winning legends to get whenever the come back to Easter Road. The way Jason Cummings was treated ( by some fans ) was shameful and if he ever comes back I hope those fans will correct it.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    He could have scored with his knob. So so unlucky.
    Thats a bit hard on him ,is it no?

Quote Originally Posted by Spudster View Post
    He didn't want to play for Lennon but once he realised he couldn't get a better offer elsewhere the deal was pulled.
    Not sure that's true.

I was at the game last night with Fraser's old man Neil. Just a shame only 6k there but he did get a nice applause when he came off. Managed to met up with Paul McGinn and his dad in the stand for a chat at HT. Has to be said the McGinn's are very grounded and come across as a really friendly family. I can see why they have all done so well out of the game. Neil says that Fraser looks back on his time at Hibs as his best in his career by a long shot. Neil still enjoys going along to the odd Hibs game with us from time to time - says he has a real connection with the club now.

As for Fraser, he is happy playing for Cove and has a P/T coaching role with Aberdeen.
    Last edited by RoxburghHibs; 21-01-2022 at 04:10 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Spudster View Post
    He would've signed elsewhere if there was a decent deal on offer just to get away from Lennon I was told (by one of Fyvie's mates).
    That’s not what Fraser is saying but maybe he’s keeping mum.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2020/05/20/he-was-in-tears-and-said-my-grandad-died-the-happiest-man-in-the-world-fraser-fyvie-on-hibs-2016-scottish-cup-triumph-hibs-scottish-cup-alan-stubbs-fa-cup-wigan-manchester-city-uwe-rosler/amp/

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    That last night is the sort of reception you should expect any of our cup winning legends to get whenever the come back to Easter Road. The way Jason Cummings was treated ( by some fans ) was shameful and if he ever comes back I hope those fans will correct it.
    Those fans shouldn't be given the chance to correct it. Real Hibs fans should tell him how we feel about him.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Those fans shouldn't be given the chance to correct it. Real Hibs fans should tell him how we feel about him.
    He'll pretty much know the score

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Lets call it.. the best "deliberately delayed" pass in history
    I think he did delay it Michael. He looked for the inside ball, saw it wasn't on an passed it to Stokesy's feet. Why not, Stokesy was destroying Tavernier anyway! Fraser played a huge part in our greatest moment and its lovely that there's mutual appreciation. Top player, top man, Hibs legend!

I saw him at Haymarket after the Bonnyrigg game, talking to a few fans, waiting for a train to Aberdeen. He was on the pitch a full time and I went straight to the station after the game. Still can't get my head around it.

Quote Originally Posted by King Cosell View Post
    I saw him at Haymarket after the Bonnyrigg game, talking to a few fans, waiting for a train to Aberdeen. He was on the pitch a full time and I went straight to the station after the game. Still can't get my head around it.
    I'd guess that you walked there from Tynie and he got driven.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    I'd guess that you walked there from Tynie and he got driven.
    Mind. Blown.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    I think he did delay it Michael. He looked for the inside ball, saw it wasn't on an passed it to Stokesy's feet. Why not, Stokesy was destroying Tavernier anyway! Fraser played a huge part in our greatest moment and its lovely that there's mutual appreciation. Top player, top man, Hibs legend!
    Yes ,it does seem that Fraser very much enjoyed his time here.
    He was part of a terrific midfield group.
    Like most said ,pity it didn't work out for him to extend his stay with us.
    A very intelligent player;who knew exactly what he was doing at the Stokes pass and in winning the corner kick that led to second goal.
    I read that he is the youngest ever player to turn out for Aberdeen,aged 16. He got MOTM in that debut too.

He was tipped for the top back then,but just like Jimmy O' at a similar age, a serious leg injury stalled progress.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-01-2022 at 02:22 PM.

Yes ,it does seem that Fraser very much enjoyed his time here.
    He was part of a terrific midfield group.
    Like most said ,pity it didn't work out for him to extend his stay with us.
    An very intelligent player who knew exactly what he was doing at the Stokes pass and in winning the corner kick that led to second goal.
    I read that he is the youngest ever player to turn out for Aberdeen,aged 16. He got MOTM too.

He was tipped for the top back then,but just like Jimmy O' at a similar age, a serious leg injury stalled progress.
    I might be wrong here, but did Ian Murray no' gie Fyvie a sair yin at Easter Road when Fraser was 16 or 17?

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    I might be wrong here, but did Ian Murray no' gie Fyvie a sair yin at Easter Road when Fraser was 16 or 17?
    He sure did, in front of the West. Was a bad bad tackle

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    Mind. Blown.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
    🤯

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    I remember being in Madrid after he signed, must have been mid season, and met some Aberdeen fans at an Atletico game, they were asking how he was doing for Hibs as they missed the driving force he was in the Aberdeen midfield. They were all complimentary about him.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Your post had me googling, to see if i could find out where Fraser got his bad leg injury.
    It was on the artificial surface at Alloa's ground in 2010.. he was age 17.
    He was a bit "scared" when years later he played there again with us.
    Article linked below on his fears,included in a report on his Hibs game at Alloa.
    Nice picture there,too.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/footb...injury-1511386
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-01-2022 at 02:23 PM.

Your post had me googling, to see if i could find out where Fraser got his bad leg injury.
    It was on the artificial surface at Alloa's ground in 2010.. he was age 17.
    He was a bit "scared" when years later he played there again with us.
    Article linked below on his fears,included in a report on his Hibs game at Alloa.
    Nice picture there,too.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/footb...injury-1511386
    Thanks Mick. Glad it wisnae Murray who gave him the really bad injury!

Enjoyed the report too (including the bit about Jason's alleged pagar in a fast food joint 😄).

Thanks Mick. Glad it wisnae Murray who gave him the really bad injury!

Enjoyed the report too (including the bit about Jason's alleged pagar in a fast food joint ��).
    Jason the Muffin Man

Barred oot of MacD's for lobbing chocolate muffins about the place.
    Possibly practising his lobbing expertise for future semi final at Hampden.

Ala The Panenka Muffin !

Jason the Muffin Man

Barred oot of MacD's for lobbing chocolate muffins about the place.
    Possibly practising his lobbing expertise for future semi final at Hampden.

Ala The Panenka Muffin !
    Mick, this is the one I was thinking of

https://www.hibs.net/archive/index.php/t-165327.html

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Mick, this is the one I was thinking of

https://www.hibs.net/archive/index.php/t-165327.html
    Cheers ,Billy
    Didn't read all the posts,but mixed opinions on Ian's "tackle" on Fraser.

Tough cookie was Ian,right enough.

I recall Celtic fans view years later that the infamous John Hughes tackle on Bobby Duncan was "fair"

The Murray tackle was fine at the time - won the ball clean as day, and it was more the way Fyvie landed was it not? Would probably get booked for excessive force nowadays, but there was nothing dangerous about it as such.

Loved that game. McGhee was a right moaning ******* after it, even though Aberdeen's two red cards were nailed on.

Nice to hear and great that we gave him a good reception. Unless a player turns up for our pantomime rivals/OF, then they deserve a clap.

Positivity is infectious.

Quote Originally Posted by Broken Gnome View Post
    The Murray tackle was fine at the time - won the ball clean as day, and it was more the way Fyvie landed was it not? Would probably get booked for excessive force nowadays, but there was nothing dangerous about it as such.

Loved that game. McGhee was a right moaning ******* after it, even though Aberdeen's two red cards were nailed on.
    Right on cue,BG

Just unearthed this article on the Moanin' Dons about said game.
    Willie Miller as well.... There is a shock!

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/DON%2...T.-a0211196389

Opinions eh, the way i saw it was a two footed cruncher on the shy line when he was going nowhere. As much as i love Niddrie, felt really for Fraser.

Cheers ,Billy
    Didn't read all the posts,but mixed opinions on Ian's "tackle" on Fraser.

Tough cookie was Ian,right enough.

I recall Celtic fans view years later that the infamous John Hughes tackle on Bobby Duncan was "fair"
    Quite a few posters on that thread, still on here posting😀

Quote Originally Posted by rcarter1 View Post
    Nice to hear and great that we gave him a good reception. Unless a player turns up for our pantomime rivals/OF, then they deserve a clap.

Positivity is infectious.
    Hear ! Hear !

Quote Originally Posted by Liam978 View Post
    Opinions eh, the way i saw it was a two footed cruncher on the shy line when he was going nowhere. As much as i love Niddrie, felt really for Fraser.
    My memory of it was that they were side by side and he swiped with one leg (wee bit like Robertson's red card v Spurs the other week, but winning the ball), rather than steaming in with two feet. Would need to see it again, but seemed a lot of fuss about nothing at the time (bar Fyvie's injury).

That's fair doo's GB, both Hibbee legends. GG2TH.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Quite a few posters on that thread, still on here posting��
    Find this game v Aberdeen fascinating, if only for the controversial incidents involved tackles /red cards and the Magic Moroccans we had then.

Trying to find film of it.
    This Herald report is good,if only for Yogi "threatening" press guys to get "facts" right re. Murray tackle

https://www.heraldscotland.com/defau...ds-hughes-men/
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-01-2022 at 04:53 PM.

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    His controlled run and delayed pass to Stokes led to the corner that delivered the winning goal
    Fraser had a great final.
    Awe the best tae him and Cove.
    His part in the opener is not insignificant either. He was motoring up the middle to offer a pass from Stokes which gave the defender something to think about other than just getting across to Stokes.