Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    @hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Went up there late sixties hibs winning 6-3. Memory a tad cloudy but mind Alex scott scoring top corner and Peter cormack as well.

Boxing day winning 2-1 round about 88-89

I don't really have any good memories of trips to Pittodrie to see Hibs . I've probable been a couple of dozen times and have seen a few draws but never a win.

I remember going up on new year's day, 6 of us in a mk 3 escort estate, rough as a badger's bum. I think we got humped as per.

There was also a freezing cold midweek game where somebody was stabbed/knifed. At the end of the match (probably a defeat) the police were searching folk at the bottom of the steps as we left the beach end - as if anyone was going to keep a knife in their pocket as we waited half an hour to get out.

Definitely not my favourite Hibs memories.

The 0-0 draw when Jamie Mac missed a penalty a few seasons back. My wife’s first away match, the guy next to us seemed perfectly normal to chat to but developed some sort of Tourette’s when it came to anything to do with John Beaton. As soon as any whistle blew he launched into some weird tirade against him but would chat away to us quite normally in between.

That and the amount of coke being taken in the toilets was the most memorable moments.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Pizzagate. game under Calderwood where fans lost the plot that the players had pizzas delivered after the game.

Think we beat ICT & Aberdeen at pittodrie in same season, maybe one game after the other.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I don't really have any good memories of trips to Pittodrie to see Hibs . I've probable been a couple of dozen times and have seen a few draws but never a win.

I remember going up on new year's day, 6 of us in a mk 3 escort estate, rough as a badger's bum. I think we got humped as per.

There was also a freezing cold midweek game where somebody was stabbed/knifed. At the end of the match (probably a defeat) the police were searching folk at the bottom of the steps as we left the beach end - as if anyone was going to keep a knife in their pocket as we waited half an hour to get out.

Definitely not my favourite Hibs memories.
    I was at new year game . About 1983 . 2 v 0 defeat I think .

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Another game I remember we lost 3-0 and were chased along union street by the mental crew towards the train station . Got on the train but it wasn’t going for about 5 mins and there must have been about a thousand of them in the station with us on the train ( well it seemed like a thousand) .

Game under Hecky when we absolutely battered them and ended up drawing. Was probably the beginning of the end for him.

Mid nineties, mid winter and I was a very young looking 16 (I think) year old. Having never been to Aberdeen I thought I would go to this one.
    I grew up in Ayr and it was at Ayr train station that Saturday morning that I walked into and asked for a return to Aberdeen. I still remember the look of disbelief on the lady at the ticket counter and then the third degree i got from the staff.
    I think they thought I was running away from home or something (I did ask for a return ticket!) I can understand where they were comming from as i looked about 12 and Ayr is a long way from Aberdeen.
    It all worked out well in the end. I enjoyed the scenic journey, found my way to Pittodrie by following some fans and oh aye Michael O'Neill bagged the winner at a venue we very rarely got anything from back then.
    Last edited by Renfrew_Hibby; 22-10-2021 at 09:09 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Renfrew_Hibby View Post
    Mid nineties, mid winter and I was a very young looking 16 (I think) year old. Having never been to Aberdeen I thought I would go to this one.
    I grew up in Ayr and it was at Ayr train station that Saturday morning that I walked into and asked for a return to Aberdeen. I still remember the look of disbelief on the lady at the ticket counter and then the third degree i got from the staff.
    I think they thought I was running away from home or something (I did ask for a return ticket!) I can understand where they were comming from as i looked about 12 and Ayr is a long way from Aberdeen.
    It all worked out well in the end. I enjoyed the scenic journey, found my way to Pittodrie by following some fans and oh aye Michael O'Neill bagged the winner at a venue we very rarely got anything from back then.
    4th November 1995, same game I posted a YouTube link to

The game just before Christmas in the 09/10 season. Stokesy scored 2.

Quote Originally Posted by Puddocky View Post
    Feb 1992. Only goal of the game from Mickey Weir in the last minute - with a header!
    IIRC Aberdeen sacked their manager (Alex Smith?) a few days later, so presumably that result triggered his exit.
    Yep- Mickey Weir header at the Beach End bedlam!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    The game just before Christmas in the 09/10 season. Stokesy scored 2.
    That’s not a good memory for me. I was in the back row and the snow was still hitting me. The coldest I’ve ever been at a game of football.

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Suburban Hibby View Post
    Yep- Mickey Weir header at the Beach End bedlam!!!!
    Does anyone remember a game in the mid/late eighties when Micky Weir equalised or scored the winner in the away/beach end? Or am I imagining?

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Been up several times and think I’ve seen us win twice.

Two that come to mind, one being Riordans second game back when he scored a double with a late pen, the week after he’d scored the peach away at Hamilton, and a win around about Christmas in the snow under yogi which I think put us top of the league
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by stevenson View Post
    Aberdeen 2 Hibs 3 Autumn 1974

Hibs were 2-1 down and down to ten men after using their substitutes. Fog was descending on Pittodrie. Some Hibs fans were leaving early.

Alex Cropley broke through on goal and was cynically chopped down. Joe Harper smashed in the free kick.

In the dying seconds, Harper turned Willie Young on the edge of the box and crossed for Crops who stabbed the ball over the line.

Yes, a post with a positive memory of Harper!
    That’s the game for me ‘ fabulous team ..and we had opposite end from the beach end .

2-0 win under Yogi think Stokes got both of them. Snowing and Baltic but a great day out, my last visit to Pittodrie actually.

I remember being at college in Aberdeen for 4 years during the Ferguson years - saw 8 league games during which we got one draw and 7 defeats.

Not really any good memories of that. I remember being in the Beach End when Gordon Durie got sent off and there was a surge of people going down to clap him down the tunnel - why would fans applaud a player getting sent off? I was also at the game when Aberdeen paraded the Cup Winners Cup.

I stayed for a few years afterwards though and things did pick up - I remember a good win in a big Hibs crowd on a midweek night when I'm sure Steven Tweed scored the winner - early 1990s?

Quote Originally Posted by zitelli62 View Post
    Can't remember his name auld age I suppose but a kiwi striker we had scored a cracker in a win and I'm sure als got a bad injury that more or less ended his hibs career he went on to sign for celtis.
    That was a cup gamę that ended in a draw. Michael Stewart scored a belter in the replay at ER which we won.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnMcM View Post
    March 1968 at Pittodrie we got thumped 5-0. Two of us, 15 & 16 year olds missed our original train and had to get a later one. Turns out it was the same train for the Hibs team coming back to Edinburgh.

We were on the train waiting to leave when the team started boarding, they were going to their reserved seats further down the coach. As they passed us I said to Thompson Allan “Well played Thompson”, he stared at me for a second, said thanks and moved on. About 20 minutes after the train started moving some of the players, led by Thompson Allan came to our seats and placed crisps, sandwiches, chocolate biscuits and wee cartons of juice, (presumably from their food supply?) on our little table thing. We were stunned when one of them who we think was Alan McGraw said “Thanks for coming”.

We always wondered if they ever thought of us at anytime or even remembered the two wee wringing-wet boys with no jackets who giggled as they wolfed down the goodies they gave us.
    We got beat 3-0 in the Scottish cup in 68, that must be the game your remembering. In 69 we won 6-2 there, we had already won at Parkhead, Ibrox & Tynie that season. My worst result around that time was 0-3, they got early revenge in September that year for Hibs topping the league cup section and Hibs being 4-0 up in the at half time in the last section game [and also decider, they were ahead on goal difference going into the game]. There were very few good memories that season, another involved certain white boots, a debut winning goal from a returning Joe Baker, "Rangers are Rubbish" comments and and an outrageous assist from the emerging Alex Cropley in the semi replay.

@hibs.net private member allmodcons's Avatar
    I seem to recall another Micky Weir goal up there when he played a tidy one two with A N Other around the half way line before running through towards the Beach End goal and clipping a finish beyond their keeper.

Midweek, I think we won 1v2 but could be wrong. Also remember a glorious rendition of ***** ***** that night.

Also attended the game up there the weekend after Gothenburg. Not such a happy day out got hammered 5v0 and (aged 16) got filled in by what I later learned was the early Aberdeen casuals

The midweek cup game that we won on penalties. I think hibs put on busses for the game, but I’m not 100% sure about that. Me and my mate were absolutely hammered by the time we got up there and as we were paying in I looked back and saw him on his hands and knees picking up his money that he’d dropped, the police then told him he wasn’t getting in. I shouted back that I’d see him on the bus. He wasn’t having that though and he returned and got in this time, after about 5 minutes the police recognised him and threw him out, undeterred he returned again and paid in, he lasted a bit longer before being recognised again and the police grabbed him and took him to the cells for the night.

United we stand here....

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    A 2-1 win, unexpected, around about 1977. McLeod winner followed by absolute carnage on the hill afterwards going back to the buses.

Quote Originally Posted by steelendhibs View Post
    Matty Jack scoring a late equaliser up there for a 2-2 draw. 1999/2000 season i think. we had the luminous away strip with black pattern on it at the time
    October 99? With my dons supporting pal in the home end possibly the dons first points that season IIRC...