Huddersfield B team vs Hibs B team

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/report-huddersfield-town-2-4-hibs-b

Never even knew about this game. Gullan with a hat-trick.

Quote Originally Posted by Tambo View Post

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/articl...own-2-4-hibs-b

Quote Originally Posted by Tambo View Post

Sending a wee message to management, yes only the B sides but you still have to perform, laddies never been given a chance.

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Sending a wee message to management, yes only the B sides but you still have to perform, laddies never been given a chance.
    you'd think with doidge being out he should be getting his chance

Quote Originally Posted by CraigHibee View Post
    you'd think with doidge being out he should be getting his chance
    You'd think but the fact he was almost away to Kilmarnock at the end of the window suggests Ross doesn't rate him.

Why he didn’t let him go to Killie was poor from Hibs, particularly as we don’t play him, really disappointing. Poor lad just wants to play

Interesting that there are a couple of trialists in there.

Also interesting that Josh Campbell often appears to be fairly prominent during pre-season then disappears completely when the competitive games come around.

Good on Gullan for staking a claim with a few goals. Not sure Jack Ross appears to the type to change his mind based on any of these games though, which makes you wonder what exactly the point in them is.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Interesting that there are a couple of trialists in there.

Also interesting that Josh Campbell often appears to be fairly prominent during pre-season then disappears completely when the competitive games come around.

Good on Gullan for staking a claim with a few goals. Not sure Jack Ross appears to the type to change his mind based on any of these games though, which makes you wonder what exactly the point in them is.
    Keeping players match fit.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Why he didn’t let him go to Killie was poor from Hibs, particularly as we don’t play him, really disappointing. Poor lad just wants to play
    I like Gullan, can play off the left and considering we're playing 4231 you'd think the system was perfect for him to get some game time.

Does he offer less than Scott? I don’t think so

Keeping players match fit.
    For what?

They're never going to be used in the first team.

I only found out about the game at 11am or would have gone.

Shame as quite fancied it.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    For what?

They're never going to be used in the first team.
    Who knows maybe Huddersfield ask us, not that important in the grand scheme of things.

If Gullan was showing enough often enough he’d be in the team. Managers need results to keep their job, they’re not going to cut their nose off to spite their face.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    If Gullan was showing enough often enough he’d be in the team. Managers need results to keep their job, they’re not going to cut their nose off to spite their face.
    He’s not really had much game time mind you ….Ross doesn’t change his players too often ….and tbf the team has largely done well

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Do you think he’s making a transfer window type statement playing Scott ahead of Gullan?

I notice Innes Murray was playing, does anyone know what the club think/feel about him? 24 by the end of the season and by and large has been absolutely nowhere near our first team at all.

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar
    I like Gullan, can play off the left and considering we're playing 4231 you'd think the system was perfect for him to get some game time.
    He’s predominantly a CF. Cannae do any worse than Nisbet.

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Does he offer less than Scott? I don’t think so

Quote Originally Posted by Winston Ingram View Post
    He pretty much never played as a CF at Raith and rarely has for us under Ross

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Do you think he’s making a transfer window type statement playing Scott ahead of Gullan?
    I don’t think so, I just don’t think he sees Gullan at the level he’s wanting. I don’t think it’s any more complex than that.

Quote Originally Posted by Winston Ingram View Post
    He can, yes.

Nisbet league goals in the last 2 weeks = 1

Gullan league goals for Hibs in 23 appearances = 0

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    He can, yes.

Nisbet league goals in the last 2 weeks = 1

Gullan league goals for Hibs in 23 appearances = 0
    Not really comparing like for like though …

I know. But the idea that Gullan couldn't possibly be worse is rubbish. He could be much worse.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    Gullan managed 4 goals in 12 appearances for Raith last season, despite niggling injuries. Split between the wing and centre forward he managed a goal every 163 minutes.

We were clearly lacking legs on Saturday, and I was disappointed he wasn't given an opportunity to inject some energy into the team when we were chasing a goal. Overall he has 18 goals in 94 appearances on loan and at hibs.
    Last edited by 500miles; 19-10-2021 at 05:57 PM.

Huddersfield B team vs Hibs B team

I know. But the idea that Gullan couldn't possibly be worse is rubbish. He could be much worse.
    Yeah. Agree on that. I was wondering if he could add more than Scott …obviously JR doesn’t feel so.
    Last edited by bigwheel; 19-10-2021 at 06:09 PM.

Yeah. Agree on that. I was wondering if he could add more than Scott …obviously JR doesn’t feel so. M
    I think as a forward, he certainly would. Scott is out of his depth up front.

He might be better though.

Nisbet had a very promising first few months but if we're being honest with ourselves he's been terrible 90+% of the time throughout 2021.

Gullan hasn't had much of an opportunity to show whether or not he'd be better or worse.

He might be pish, but for less money, which would still be an improvement.

Thanks for fixing Billy also nice to see Josh score again.

Bit of a 50/50 as you don't want to rush them in at early but they also need some first team experience. Is Josh playing better than Ethan so far Billy?

Quote Originally Posted by CL0762 View Post
    I notice Innes Murray was playing, does anyone know what the club think/feel about him? 24 by the end of the season and by and large has been absolutely nowhere near our first team at all.
    I think this is a mental one - he must’ve been highly rated and given a fairly lengthy contract to still be here at 24 and not even have played a minute* for the first team.

*I don’t know this is definitely the case but it won’t be much more than 0.