Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Regardless of their playing ability are there Hibs players you didn't much like?

He did a decent job for us, but for some reason I always found it hard to warm to Gary Caldwell.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    He did a decent job for us, but for some reason I always found it hard to warm to Gary Caldwell.
    I certainly find him a non event on Sportscene

I could never take to Tony The Hulk Higgins for some reason ?

Legs like tree trunks gangly awkward but weirdly nimble slower than a week in the jail but comes across as a really nice intelligent guy and scored a lot of goals for us

Gary Caldwell on the other hand ended up doing the dirty on Strachan and Celtic pretty sure he dyes his hair

Was not sad to see him go even although we knew he was leaving

That was the thanks we got for progressing his career and looking after him

If he was chocolate.......?
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 07-10-2021 at 04:43 AM.

Jorge Claros. The Pitbull. Not a bad second season but will never forgive him for hiding in the cup final against them. I was done with him after that game.
    Last edited by Since452; 07-10-2021 at 05:33 AM.

@hibs.net private member Libby Hibby's Avatar
    Owain Tudor Jones…just seemed like an arrogant person that I couldn’t take to.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Jorge Claros. The Pitbull. Not a bad second season but will never forgive him for hiding in the cup final against them. I was done with him after that game.
    I think, like 10 others, he just had a nightmare. No hiding. The so called Hibs fans like O'connor and Murray deserve more stick than him.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    I think, like 10 others, he just had a nightmare. No hiding. The so called Hibs fans like O'connor and Murray deserve more stick than him.
    Murray wasn't in the squad for that final assume he was injured. Have vague recollections of him storming up to Thompson on the pitch at the end in his suit.

Paul Kane.

He was a total dick with one of my mates in Gatsby's back in the day, picking a fight with him for nothing. I was there and saw it all.

Never took to him since.

His anti-STF stuff was the icing on the cake.
    Last edited by Peevemor; 07-10-2021 at 06:08 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Murray wasn't in the squad for that final assume he was injured. Have vague recollections of him storming up to Thompson on the pitch at the end in his suit.
    Wasn't he involved in some arguing in the weeks before over bonuses?

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Wasn't he involved in some arguing in the weeks before over bonuses?
    No idea sounds like we were arguing about bonuses the night before the game which probably sums up the club at that time and definitely sums up the non performance on the day.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    No idea sounds like we were arguing about bonuses the night before the game which probably sums up the club at that time and definitely sums up the non performance on the day.
    Agreed. Shambolic stuff.

@hibs.net private member Alex Trager's Avatar
    I’ve met Ian Murray before. We had just beat QotS to go top of the table at around xmas when in the champ with the huns - I’m sure someone will correct that!

Anyway I said to him ‘what about the hibbys ian?’ He totally dismissed it ‘it’s only QotS’ he said. I was surprised at him for saying that to be honest. Never liked him since hahaha.

That said, I do have a very blurry photo with him in Jerimiahs on 21/05/16 so maybe he was back into hibs at that point.

First Team Regular OstKurve Hibs's Avatar
    Kevin Thompson for obvious reasons

Rowan vine aswell

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Doherty

John Rankin, never took to him at all.

Liam Craig during the relegation season. Rubbish captain, moaning at refs constantly rather than actually doing anything...

Joe Harper. Not his fault but replacing the great Jimmy O’Rourke was never going to cause a love fest

We had some dreadful players after Harper and if he had a younger clone I’m pretty sure we’d have had him back in a heartbeat
    Last edited by CentreLine; 07-10-2021 at 07:42 AM.

Agreed with the Claros thing. I really didn’t see his playing ability either.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

GOC. Always thought his attitude was terrible, and I didn't like the way he treated Ivan in the hat trick game.

No surprise there was a rift in the camp in 2012 when he was around either.

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Trager View Post
    I’ve met Ian Murray before. We had just beat QotS to go top of the table at around xmas when in the champ with the huns - I’m sure someone will correct that!

Anyway I said to him ‘what about the hibbys ian?’ He totally dismissed it ‘it’s only QotS’ he said. I was surprised at him for saying that to be honest. Never liked him since hahaha.

That said, I do have a very blurry photo with him in Jerimiahs on 21/05/16 so maybe he was back into hibs at that point.
    Me too, and how he ever received a testimonial is beyond me.

Although it hardly needed any turnstile attendants.

Michael Stewart.

He used to be a Jambo, then he was alright, then he was a Jambo again, then he's supposed to be a pundit we agree with.

Jeez, you just never knew where you were with that guy!

Andy Walker.

WHY did Hibs sign him????

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Michael Stewart.

He used to be a Jambo, then he was alright, then he was a Jambo again, then he's supposed to be a pundit we agree with.

Jeez, you just never knew where you were with that guy!

probably one of the pundits I could go for a pint with.

I’ve never really had an issue with any Hibs player whilst they were here that I can recall - actually no I’ll revise that - KT. Thought he was right to be stripped of the captaincy. But I feel he redeemed himself.

players disrespecting the club post playing is my gripe. Walker for example
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Paul Kane.

He was a total dick with one of my mates in Gatsby's back in the day, picking a fight with him for nothing. I was there and saw it all.

Never took to him since.

His anti-STF stuff was the icing on the cake.
    Kano was a great player for Hibs and gave nothing but 100% when pulling on the jersey. Will never forget his goal and overhead kick to release Archie for that win at Tynie.
    A dyed in the wool Hibby who the fans loved.

Quote Originally Posted by EI255 View Post
    Andy Walker.

Still cannot believe he called us a ‘provincial club’

Surprising from someone who has worn the green

Funnily enough one of his few moments of glory 2-2 at Tiny is currently on Sky Sports

Quote Originally Posted by Crunchie View Post
    Kano was a great player for Hibs and gave nothing but 100% when pulling on the jersey. Will never forget his goal and overhead kick to release Archie for that win at Tynie.
    I never said he was a bad player.

A dyed in the wool Hibby who the fans loved.
    Except myself & a couple of mates.

Quote Originally Posted by EI255 View Post
    Andy Walker.

Quote Originally Posted by Viva_Palmeiras View Post
    probably one of the pundits I could go for a pint with.

I’ve never really had an issue with any Hibs player whilst they were here that I can recall - actually no I’ll revise that - KT. Thought he was right to be stripped of the captaincy. But I feel he redeemed himself.

players disrespecting the club post playing is my gripe. Walker for example
    Most supporters were delighted that we managed to sign Walker (albeit on loan, which wasn't very common at the time) but my memory is of him being pretty mediocre for us.

I was surprised to see that he scored 3 goals in 9 matches which isn't all that bad, but 2 out of the 3 were in his first match, so he only managed 1 in the next 8 - albeit in a derby.

https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/play...?playerid=6386

Fortunately I don't see any of his media work.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    I could never take to Tony The Hulk Higgins for some reason ?

Legs like tree trunks gangly awkward but weirdly nimble slower than a week in the jail but comes across as a really nice intelligent guy and scored a lot of goals for us

Gary Caldwell on the other hand ended up doing the dirty on Strachan and Celtic pretty sure he dyes his hair

Was not sad to see him go even although we knew he was leaving

That was the thanks we got for progressing his career and looking after him

If he was chocolate.......?
    Billy,

I really liked Tony Higgins as a player and kind of think of him as a link between a brilliant Hibs team and a team that proved that Ned had probably lost the plot.

A lot of ours fans try to protect our young players stating "he's only a laddie"

I was at Elland Road in 1973 when Tony Higgins played and he was in a team of Hibs greats up against one of the best club sides in Europe.
    Tony was lambasted for a couple of missed chances (the header over the bar when he was expected to score.)
    The laddie was only 19 that night.

Finally, he will always be part of 21 May 2016.

Could never take to Vine or Tudor Jones and Liam Craig is another who came as someone else's top player and was pish, finger pointing ginger twat.

Quote Originally Posted by DanishJohn View Post
    Billy,

I really liked Tony Higgins as a player and kind of think of him as a link between a brilliant Hibs team and a team that proved that Ned had probably lost the plot.

A lot of ours fans try to protect our young players stating "he's only a laddie"

I was at Elland Road in 1973 when Tony Higgins played and he was in a team of Hibs greats up against one of the best club sides in Europe.
    Tony was lambasted for a couple of missed chances (the header over the bar when he was expected to score.)
    The laddie was only 19 that night.

Finally, he will always be part of 21 May 2016.
    I suppose my issue must be Tony Higgins after Alan Gordon and Jimmy O’Rourke ?

I was spoiled

Big Tony just didnae look like a fitba player- just a big raw laddie - then again neither did Jimmy O’Rourke

I have never blamed him for Leeds away

Shudda scored but HIBS should have gone through over the two legs

Alan Gordon scored a perfectly good goal at Easter Road that was disallowed