Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Ricky Gervais.

Absolutely amazing writer, good actor but a truly terrible stand up.
    It’s funny as I used to have pretty much the same opinion. Warmed to him as a stand-up, got offered a free ticket for his show and came away sold that he could do that brilliantly as well!

Someone mentioned earlier that Dara O’Brien is a really nice guy and I can really believe that, I reckon he would be. Makes me feel worse about the fact I nearly need to turn it over when he starts trying to get involved in the gags during mock the week.

Michael macintyre and Alan carr,

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Toryism
    Golf
    Marks and Spencers knitwear
    The entire back catalogue of Phil Collins
    Red wine collection
    Regularly using phrases like "it's political correctness gone mad" and "they have it too cushy on welfare".
    Brexit supporters
    Have The Daily Mail/Telegraph delivered

Dead giveaways
    That's just Jambo gammons, where they school their kids has nothing to do with it. Yes, I went to a private school and I'm happy to say my parents couldn't be further from your guff stereotype.

First Team Regular StevesFamau5's Avatar

PSN ID: ImFamau5nStuff
    James Corden - annoying voice, forced attempts to seek validation and a truly dreadful actor as well.

Russell Brand - the voice of the sanctimonious self absorbed 'intelligent' numpties. Grade A prick.

Amy Schumer - just can't believe someone that annoying gets so many gigs. Same jokes regurgitated time and time again.

Jim Davidson and Roy Chubby Brown - tools of the highest order. Chubby especially is a vile peice of sh*t.

Comedians I do like.. Romesh Ranganathan, David Mitchell, Bill Bailey and Peter Kay. Female wise. Katherine Ryan, Aisling Bea and Jo Caulfield (who is a Hibby as well now).

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    That's just Jambo gammons, where they school their kids has nothing to do with it. Yes, I went to a private school and I'm happy to say my parents couldn't be further from your guff stereotype.
    Margo and Jerry from the Good Life are how I imagine all parents of private school kids

Toryism
    Golf
    Red wine collection
    Regularly using phrases like "it's political correctness gone mad" and "they have it too cushy on welfare".
    Brexit supporters

Dead giveaways
    **** off with your golf comment.

Golf is a working person's game,

I'm pure dead raging, so I'm are.

Margo and Jerry from the Good Life are how I imagine all parents of private school kids
    Margo had something about her, by the way...

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Felicity Kendal got most of the attention but I reckon Penelope Keith would have been more "interesting".

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Felicity Kendal got most of the attention but I reckon Penelope Keith would have been more "interesting".
    Oh yes, maybe after a few dry sherry's 😀

Craig Levein

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Toryism
    Golf
    Red wine collection
    Brexit supporters

Dead giveaways
    My daughter is at private school. I do play the odd round of golf and I’ve a couple bottles of red on the house.

The rest is a no I was brought up in the banana flats😂

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Billy Connolly for me, never found him in the least bit funny. Went to see John Bishop live, he was absolute ******.
    Your just saying that about Connolly because the opening post didn't like Stan Boardman

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    Lenny Henry
    Agree absolute torture. Not a great fan of Gervais as stand up though do like the office stuff.

Do like Bridges and Billy Connolly seen him a couple of times absolutely superb. Enjoyed his older stuff which was on a documentary a year or so back.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Your just saying that about Connolly because the opening post didn't like Stan Boardman
    Nah I’m just saying because he’s crap.😁

I always find Billy Connolly an odd one.

His older stuff, from before my time but obviously readily available, is genius. There's a reason so many comedians across generations and genres cite him as an influence. He then had a spell when he reinvented himself brilliantly. He knew the Glasgow patter and shipyard stuff wouldn't fly anymore so picked holes in the absurdity of his celebrity life and reminisced about where he came from with a touching fondness and weaved the 2 together well. Then he just lost it. I saw him in Edinburgh in 2004ish and he was good but not great, certainly not close to his pomp. The last I saw of him as a stand up was a DVD he released sometime in the early 10s and it was awful.

His TV work is still consistently good and his back catalogue is such that I can forgive the latter stuff.

His older stuff, from before my time but obviously readily available, is genius. There's a reason so many comedians across generations and genres cite him as an influence. He then had a spell when he reinvented himself brilliantly. He knew the Glasgow patter and shipyard stuff wouldn't fly anymore so picked holes in the absurdity of his celebrity life and reminisced about where he came from with a touching fondness and weaved the 2 together well. Then he just lost it. I saw him in Edinburgh in 2004ish and he was good but not great, certainly not close to his pomp. The last I saw of him as a stand up was a DVD he released sometime in the early 10s and it was awful.

His TV work is still consistently good and his back catalogue is such that I can forgive the latter stuff.

agree very much PB, there’s a slide starting very late 90s-early 2000s, where he just starts to deteriorate, his early stuff through the 80s and and 90s is fantastic.

I still love the world tour of Scotland

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Alan Carr!!
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Alan Carr!!
    David Walliams

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    Oh yes, maybe after a few dry sherry's 😀
    Filthy bassas. I'm appalled

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Nah I’m just saying because he’s crap.😁

I think that is fair his best stuff is always the older stuff. Saw him late 80s and was brilliant but agree think he struggled at times not doing the West of Scotland working class stuff when he obviously moved on in life and up the social ladder. Still find his travel documentaries very good though. Wonder if his current condition had anything to do with his apparent decline maybe completely unrelated maybe not.

I've always liked Billy Connolly although I found the whole period when he was knocking about with Andrew, Fergie & co. a bit weird - I suspect the women were the link.

I saw him live at the Playhouse in 1982. Alan Rough made his Hibs debut against Celtic at ER that afternoon - we lost 3-2 in a very entertaining match (Gary Murray scored our goals). Connolly had been at the match and mentioned it in his routine.

Funny how clearly you remember some things almost 40 years down the line.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Eddie Izzard.

I win. 👍
    I was about to say Eddie Izzard, but thought I’d check through the thread first. Very good marathon enthusiast, but comedian?

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I was about to say Eddie Izzard, but thought I’d check through the thread first. Very good marathon enthusiast, but comedian?
    Snickers now surely? 😉

I find Aisling Bea quite good too. Same with Katherine Ryan.

Not British though.

True

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    I've always liked Billy Connolly although I found the whole period when he was knocking about with Andrew, Fergie & co. a bit weird - I suspect the women were the link.

I saw him live at the Playhouse in 1982. Alan Rough made his Hibs debut against Celtic at ER that afternoon - we lost 3-2 in a very entertaining match (Gary Murray scored our goals). Connolly had been at the match and mentioned it in his routine.

Funny how clearly you remember some things almost 40 years down the line.
    That would be around the time Viz ripped him a few times about his royal toadying. I mind one being done like an oor Wullie cartoon with him sitting on a bucket and heading off to tell a wee joke about a jobby to the queen.

Can only find this picture on net though. billy.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    That would be around the time Viz ripped him a few times about his royal toadying. I mind one being done like an oor Wullie cartoon with him sitting on a bucket and heading off to tell a wee joke about a jobby to the queen.

Can only find this picture on net though. billy.jpg
    The Viz is class.

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    The Viz is class.
    On my desk in the office I still have a copy of Rogers Profanisaurus "the magna farta" with over 10,000 rude words and phrases. Call me a child if you will

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    On my desk in the office I still have a copy of Rogers Profanisaurus "the magna farta" with over 10,000 rude words and phrases. Call me a child if you will
    Amazing.

I've got a huge pile of Viz comics in the house, I don't want to be let down by looking at them again. Got that profanasaurus too.