Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Thread: 2021 US Open

Fernandez behaviour is poor but I think it can be explained if not excused. A bit of momentum, a huge moment and something totally outwith her control kills it dead. It's poor but in the heat of the moment I get it.

Anyway great achievement by both players to get to this final and particularly by Radacanu for winning it. I doubt this will be the last time we seem them face off in a Grand Slam final.
    I kind of get her complaining at the time even although it was extremely obvious why there was a stoppage.

Continuing to complain at the end of the match was really poor.

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    Continuing to complain at the end of the match was really poor.
    Come on man, she's 19 and her emotions got the better of her. None of us can possibly imagine how it was for her out there.

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    How is Raducanu so calm in her interview? She's impressive in so many ways!

Quote Originally Posted by McSwanky View Post
    18. In front of 20,000 people.
    I’d be ****ting my pants.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Just what I was saying. 18 years old... incredible!

For their ages both really impressive, even Fernandez getting her composure back following a massive disappointment. Both great ambassadors for the sport.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    18. In front of 20,000 people.
    I’d be ****ting my pants.
    Give me a cheque for $2.5m at 41 never mind 18 and there is no interview, I'm away getting melted

Ps so glad she's rammed it down the throats of the likes of Piers Morgan etc, well done

Come on man, she's 19 and her emotions got the better of her. None of us can possibly imagine how it was for her out there.
    Correct.

@hibs.net private member EH6 Hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Actually I think Henman is related in some way to the Raducanu crowd so he's part of it!
    I thought Henman came across brilliantly. He’s clearly going to have no voice tomorrow and as the commentator said, he was the first person she looked for when she won. Every time the commentator tried to make it about him he diverted it right back to Emma.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Well done both an outstanding match and thought they were both brilliant post match considering how young they are and even more so for Fernandez who must be so bitterly disappointed.

Brilliant Emma.

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Give me a cheque for $2.5m at 41 never mind 18 and there is no interview, I'm away getting melted

Ps so glad she's rammed it down the throats of the likes of Piers Morgan etc, well done
    You’re a better man than me, if I have to do a zoom call for more than six people I need a drink before or after

I was thinking about Piers Morgans comments as well. He should open his mouth more IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by J.S View Post
    And she was .
    She was fine.

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post

Just what I was thinking. I bet Piers Morgan is getting hammered on Twitter. 😀

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    I think it also goes to show how much Andy Murray winning a major does for British tennis too, the pressure put on him to win a major (and Henman before that, Rudeski too) must have been unbearable. Not saying that Emma won't have been under huge pressure, but there's no longer that massive monkey on the back and the ridicule that even Andy Murray was getting every time he came close to winning a major but not quite.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Raducanu was born the day after my daughter. For her to do what she’s done is amazing for someone so young. Oh and by the way, Piers Morgan can get it right up him.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    You’re a better man than me, if I have to do a zoom call for more than six people I need a drink before or after

I was thinking about Piers Morgans comments as well. He should open his mouth more IMO.
    Piers Morgan will probably try and take some credit for her win by claiming his comments motivated her to prove him wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    Just what I was thinking. I bet Piers Morgan is getting hammered on Twitter. 😀
    What did the erse Morgan say this time?

Edit - just seen it.
    Last edited by tamig; 11-09-2021 at 10:54 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Scorrie View Post
    Raducanu was born the day after my daughter. For her to do what she’s done is amazing for someone so young. Oh and by the way, Piers Morgan can get it right up him.
    The fact that both finalists weren't even born when 9/11 happened is incredible.

Disagree, think the commentators were correct in highlighting that she also seemed to be deliberately making her point to the referee right in front of Raducanu which makes it worse for me.

Having said that I have just heard her post match interview and she's redeemed herself there.

Raducanu could very easily dominate women’s tennis for a long time. She was so powerful in the big points and that will stand her in good stead.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    What did the erse Morgan say this time?
    Don't know if he has said anything tonight, it was his comments after her Wimbledon exit that will get folk giving him a big GIRFUY just now I'd imagine.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Raducanu could very easily dominate women’s tennis for a long time. She was so powerful in the big points and that will stand her in good stead.
    She looks so strong just now and is only going to get stronger over time. The women’s game usually bores me but that was a fantastic match tonight.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar

2021 US Open

Well that was quality!!!

Just an unbelievable achievement for someone so young…writing tennis history at 18.

I hope she handles the fame well and goes on to have a great career.

The mental fortitude to get over the line there with an opponent who was not giving way was beyond description. Superb.

Don't know if he has said anything tonight, it was his comments after her Wimbledon exit that will get folk giving him a big GIRFUY just now I'd imagine.
    He tweeted again just before the start tonight talking about her recovery from her “Wimbledon choke”.

He’s a bellend of huge proportions.

She Hibsed it.

Phenomenal stuff. I loved watching that. The standard of tennis was insane and for Emma to hold her nerve like that was extraordinary.

A truly brilliant sporting moment, not just for British sport but one of the best I've been privileged to witness.

Called her “Wimbledon Choker” in his congratulatory tweet. Just can’t help himself, absolute moron.

I find it staggering how much he knows about the physical and psychological aspects of sport where all he seems to do is sit on his fat @rse tweeting crap all day.

Even in his RIP tweet about Sean Lock he included a joke he’d made about him..yes rest in peace but look at the bad thing he said about me.

Tumaini Carayol
    @tumcarayol
    ·
    11m
    Emma Raducanu has won the US Open. Things she hasn't done as a professional:

- Won a WTA tour match
    - Played a tour level three set match(!!)
    - Played on clay
    - Directly entered a slam main draw
    - Played five tour level events

One of the craziest breakout runs ever.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Phenomenal stuff. I loved watching that. The standard of tennis was insane and for Emma to hold her nerve like that was extraordinary.

A truly brilliant sporting moment, not just for British sport but one of the best I've been privileged to witness.
    Aye, what's great is it really spurs kids on to take the sport up. I know a few teens who play and they're really committed. Only downside is the families do spend a fair amount of cash. I'm not sure if the National Lottery provide grants for kids who's families can't spare that level of cash, I hope it does.