Favourite Scottish band / artist

For a daft country wee have produced some great signers/bands AWB
    Gallagher & Lyle Gerry Raffety Big country Part of AC/DC and many others and of course The Proclaimers . Any others

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    All those you mentioned plus off the top of my head..

Nazareth
    SAHB
    The Skids
    The Rezillos
    Orange Juice
    Hue and Cry
    Aztec Camera

Thats up to the early 90s, hunners more 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    The Beltanes
    Jesus and Mary Chain
    The Associates

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Scotland does indeed punch above its weight in terms of bands. Some bands I like not yet been mentioned.

Teenage Fanclub
    Belle & Sebastian
    Camera Obscura
    Sons & Daughters
    Mull Historical Society
    Franz Ferdinand
    Travis
    Del Amitri
    Texas
    Neon Waltz

Should also shout out to We Were Promised Jet Packs as they’re decent and I play football with them.

Just a few from me

70’s Pilot
    80’s Hipsway/Blue Nile/Hue and Cry

And let’s not forget Rod😀

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Scotland does indeed punch above its weight in terms of bands. Some bands I like not yet been mentioned.

Teenage Fanclub
    Belle & Sebastian
    Camera Obscura
    Sons & Daughters
    Mull Historical Society
    Franz Ferdinand
    Travis
    Del Amitri
    Texas
    Neon Waltz

Should also shout out to We Were Promised Jet Packs as they’re decent and I play football with them.
    And not forgetting The Delgados.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Just a few from me

70’s Pilot
    80’s Hipsway/Blue Nile/Hue and Cry

And let’s not forget Rod😀
    oj

Gun
    Teenage Fanclub
    The Jesus & Mary Chain
    The Vaselines

Primal Scream
    The Cinematics
    Buffy Clyro
    Hue and Cry
    Annie Lennox
    Simple Minds
    Big Country
    The Skids
    Ultravox

Wet Wet Wet
    TTF
    Horse
    Callum Beattie
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 06-08-2021 at 09:02 PM.

idlewild

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Bay City Rollers, obviously.

Classic from Jim Diamond.

Belter fae the Corries.

Edinburgh born genius

https://youtu.be/dmSZ4gdv4KA

I remember watching this.

https://youtu.be/FGT0A2Hz-uk

Andy Chung singing a well known scots folk tune.

Anyone but Biffy f***ing Clyro for me 😁

Plenty already mentioned but:
    The snuts
    Deacon blue
    Runrig
    Emilie Sande

I won’t count Rod Stewart 😉

Dick Gaughan
    Kevin Gore
    Rabbie Burns
    Kris Drever

Not in any order.

If you're old enough you might remember the Incredible String Band, Donovan, Maggie Bell, Marmalade, Maggie Riley. More recent favourite Love and Money.

All these posts and no David Byrne? 😮

Personal favourites would be James Grant, Roddy Frame, the Cocteau Twins, Goodbye Mr Mackenzie . More to follow....

In terms of influence, Bert Jansch (without whom there might not have been Led Zeppelin) and Ian Stewart (ditto for the Stones)

Forgot Michael Marra.

No particular order

Deacon Blue
    Gerry Rafferty
    Goodbye Mr Mackenzie
    Marti Pellow
    Annie Lennox
    Texas

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Fags n Matches

Quote Originally Posted by Key West View Post
    Forgot Michael Marra.
    I have to lump in Rod Paterson & the late Davy Steele & Andy M Stewart (RIP the pair of them).

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I have to lump in Rod Paterson & the late Davy Steele & Andy M Stewart (RIP the pair of them).
    I plead ignorance, I’ll give them a listen.

Kevin Gore, a friend and an excellent Edinburgh singer/songwriter and a good Hibby, very talented and extremely underrated.

Quote Originally Posted by Key West View Post
    I plead ignorance, I’ll give them a listen.
    Rod

https://youtu.be/5EjdptVBFdE

Davy

https://youtu.be/-5NQX9KvMT4

Andy M. Stewart

https://youtu.be/Pu2pz1qc1uc

Dougie McLean merits a mention too.

The View

Quote Originally Posted by CmoantheHibs View Post
    The View
    The view the view the view are on fire. Unbelievable band

A fair amount of guff above, I think we've underperformed as a nation, compare us to London or Liverpool or Manchester and its a massacre. Sensational Alex Harvey were great tbf and obvious class like procs primal scream but nothing earth shattering. Our intentions and literature make it not matter though