Thread: Yogi Hughes

@hibs.net private member HFC_NYC's Avatar

Yogi Hughes

I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea but I’m really enjoying his input and could listen to him talk about football all day long.

Seems like a really nice down to earth guy. Used to see him in the Persevere having lunch with his family often.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Think he’s a top man and hope to see him back in a decent job soon.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Think he’s a top man and hope to see him back in a decent job soon.
    He's an arse whose traducing of Martin Boyle last season should have meant he'd never again be an honoured guest of the club. Hope we're not paying him for these appearances.
    Gtf Yogi.

He has endless enthusiasm, but I can't be the only one who is always left wondering if he is playing with a full deck?

Quote Originally Posted by Blurry Face View Post
    I think what you are trying to say is, if you can’t say something nice about someone, don’t say anything at all.
    No, what I'm trying to say is, he's an arse.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    He's an arse whose traducing of Martin Boyle last season should have meant he'd never again be an honoured guest of the club. Hope we're not paying him for these appearances.
    Gtf Yogi.
    It’s almost as if he was the manager of another club at the time.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Yogi folk ken whit’s gaun oan.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Gtf Yogi.
    He’d not have a clue what this excellent use of the verb meant. I like him mind you.

No, what I'm trying to say is, he's an arse.
    And a slaver!

Gtf Yogi.
    Clear dive to be fair.

Deek01 is right. I personally found his assessment of Martin going down easily was given in a jocular way and so came across less embittered.

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    And a slaver!
    Now that he undeniably is, regardless of anyone’s opinion on him 😁

Quote Originally Posted by HFC_NYC View Post
    I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea but I’m really enjoying his input and could listen to him talk about football all day long.
    Shocking that folk on this rip him the way he speaks , he ain’t a professor of at a uni , he’s a leither who has had a great career and most we would all envy .
    He’s excellent in the studio and knows the game inside out.

I remain a fan of Yogi the man but my respect for him did take a wee dent for his remarks about Boyle and they did rather open the door for the Sportsound brigade and the rest of the anti Hibs mob to put the boot in on Scotlands most fouled player.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    It’s almost as if he was the manager of another club at the time.
    Got to be said his verbal attack on Boyle last season was totally out of order imo and a wee bit surprised he still got back on to Hibs tv quite so easily.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    I remain a fan of Yogi the man but my respect for him did take a wee dent for his remarks about Boyle and they did rather open the door for the Sportsound brigade and the rest of the anti Hibs mob to put the boot in on Scotlands most fouled player.

Agree with that completely

Quote Originally Posted by pundy man View Post
    Shocking that folk on this rip him the way he speaks , he ain’t a professor of at a uni , he’s a leither who has had a great career and most we would all envy .
    He’s excellent in the studio and knows the game inside out.
    Lochender, surely.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

We're a sensitive lot, no? Boyle tumbled easily and Yogi made a quip about needing speedos..

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    I thought that he would have been a decent candidate for the Dunfermline job. Might have reinvented himself as a temporary fixer rather than a long term option.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Lochender, surely.

Us Lochenders can speak properly.

He was supposedly getting the Celtic colts job not sure what happened.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    I thought that he would have been a decent candidate for the Dunfermline job. Might have reinvented himself as a temporary fixer rather than a long term option.

That seems to be exactly what he’s become these days.

Still plenty of Scottish clubs he’s not worked at mind so I imagine he will be back in the dug out sooner or later.

I've met him and been in his company a few times. He's a cracking guy and don't have a bad word to say about him.

Martin Boyle is prone to the odd dive and going down rather easily. My words and opinion for what it's worth. Better ban me from Easter Rd.

@hibs.net private member JohnMcM's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    I've met him and been in his company a few times. He's a cracking guy and don't have a bad word to say about him.

Martin Boyle is prone to the odd dive and going down rather easily. My words and opinion for what it's worth. Better ban me from Easter Rd.

As you desire sir.

Banned

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnMcM View Post
    As you desire sir.

Banned
    He's OUR diver tho! Lol.

To be fair, it does feel like he goes down 'easy' sometimes... I've watched the replays and quite often he was definitely brought down, unfortunately the refs now lean on the 'totally, 1 million percent definitely was impeded' before they'll give the benefit of the doubt. Flip side if its not one million % they'll book him... I end up raging half the time!

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Not sure I worded that previous post right, hopefully you know what I mean .

Yip. I agree. He's really good on Hibs TV. Keep it up son

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Lochender, surely.

I thought he was from the Banana flats. Maybe it’s just the banana bit.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    I thought he was from the Banana flats. Maybe it’s just the banana bit.
    Growing up I had a cousin living in Lochend. Played football on the corner greens more than a few times and Yogi was there on occasion. I might be wrong, maybe he was visiting his cousin too.