Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    Another fabricated tale put about by John Robertson around nine years after the fact.

There wasn't a chance that either Riordan or Whittakar would be involved in any swap deal for Bobbie Mann.
    Naw it must be true besides I read it on here and it is on the list of ‘ Dotnet facts ‘

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?...nn-tale-again)

Adam Le Fondre
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Cillian Sheridan 😳

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Chris Hackett.

Me ☹️

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Sure I read something about Hibs trying to sign Pele when he was in the MLS for a one off game. Is that an urban myth or were we trying a PR stunt?

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffers View Post
    Not what my mate told me Fenlon had said to him. Though it’s not to say what you heard happened afterwards.
    That came from Rod himself and in all the times I met him was the only time I heard him swear.

The Didier Agatha affair was a strange one.
    That Alex. McLeish thought he was only worth a 3 month deal and although he scored 4 goals in 6 games McLeish didn’t want to extend it.
    Martin O Neill saw something he could use in Agathe signed him and Agathe then went on to collect
    a fair amount of honours with Celtic.
    What else I. didn’t quite understand was the level of abuse Agathe
    got from the Hibs fans when he came back to ER with Celtic.
    Even those so called “one of our own” e.g.Ian Murray and Kevin Thomson didn’t get the same of level of abuse even although they’d defected to Rangers.
    Anyone know the reason for the amount of abused Agathe was subjected to ?

Quote Originally Posted by Highwayman View Post
    The Didier Agatha affair was a strange one.
    That Alex. McLeish thought he was only worth a 3 month deal and although he scored 4 goals in 6 games McLeish didn’t want to extend it.
    Martin O Neill saw something he could use in Agathe signed him and Agathe then went on to collect
    a fair amount of honours with Celtic.
    What else I. didn’t quite understand was the level of abuse Agathe
    got from the Hibs fans when he came back to ER with Celtic.
    Even those so called “one of our own” e.g.Ian Murray and Kevin Thomson didn’t get the same of level of abuse even although they’d defected to Rangers.
    Anyone know the reason for the amount of abused Agathe was subjected to ?
    I thought that we did want to extend the deal but it was Agathe that wanted to go elsewhere (Celtic), thus the stick.

Can anyone recall the name of the lad we allegedly tried to sign from Sweden who was a winger/forward and had a top rap 20 single or album in Sweden? Think it was John Collins era, but I remember there being several posts on here that were quite excited at the prospect of him joining. Would've been one of the most obscure signings in Hibs history I think too.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I thought that we did want to extend the deal but it was Agathe that wanted to go elsewhere (Celtic), thus the stick.
    Yes once he showed his form Celtic tapped him up. Can remember ONeill was in the stand for the Dundee game

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    he famously came out and said he wasn't on trial with Hibs but Hibs were on trial with him, made me despise the guy

That’s how I remember it.

We were desperate to extend his deal, but actually did quite well to get a few buttons out of Celtic given he only had a few weeks of contract left.

Did we no miss out on the greatest of them all to play for Hibs, when we let Gordon Smith go, he went on to win another 2 league winners medals after Hibs, so pretty much far from finished.

Kyle Lafferty

Thank the ducks.

Can anyone recall the two Norwegian players,who came to Hibs IIRC towards the end of Eddie Turnbulls reign.One was definetly a forward,but can’t recall whether the other one was a midfielder or defender.There was an initial delay in getting their clearance.Can recall seeing the forward who looked a decent player but have no recollection of the other one.
    Then this is where I am probably getting mixed up again,I recall Ned saying the forward was too good for Scottish football and soon after both their short stays were ended and they were moved on.

Quote Originally Posted by Highwayman View Post
    Can anyone recall the two Norwegian players,who came to Hibs IIRC towards the end of Eddie Turnbulls reign.One was definetly a forward,but can’t recall whether the other one was a midfielder or defender.There was an initial delay in getting their clearance.Can recall seeing the forward who looked a decent player but have no recollection of the other one.
    Then this is where I am probably getting mixed up again,I recall Ned saying the forward was too good for Scottish football and soon after both their short stays were ended and they were moved on.
    Isaak Refvik and Sven Mathiesen. Both looked good players, Refvik especially. Sadly we didn't have enough clout at the time to get visas for them. Surprisingly der hun got one for Robert Prytz (spelling?) No trouble at all

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    Another fabricated tale put about by John Robertson around nine years after the fact.

There wasn't a chance that either Riordan or Whittakar would be involved in any swap deal for Bobbie Mann.
    Even Williamson said the story was nonsense, Deek was never going to Inverness and had told the club that, s**t stirring from folk.

Jonny Hayes
    Adam Rooney

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    Did we no miss out on the greatest of them all to play for Hibs, when we let Gordon Smith go, he went on to win another 2 league winners medals after Hibs, so pretty much far from finished.
    And a League Cup

Might have been the last time the wee team won it

Cannae be arsed checking

Matters not a jot 😃

The Stephan Adam one, did we have him on trial and Alex Miller said no🤷*♂️

Willie Pettigrew

Darren Barr
    Andy Webster
    Jason Holt
    Naill Mcginn
    Paddy McCourt
    Ian Black, fs.

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Isaak Refvik and Sven Mathiesen. Both looked good players, Refvik especially. Sadly we didn't have enough clout at the time to get visas for them. Surprisingly der hun got one for Robert Prytz (spelling?) No trouble at all

Hats off to you sir for pulling those two out of the bag.

I seem to remember apoplexy on here when we couldn't get Cillian Sheridan.

Remember David Gray was rumoured to be signing a few times before he actually did.

We could have won the cup years before we did. Petrie!!!!

Gms
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 31-07-2021 at 05:46 AM.

John Toshack............yawn....

James McFadden, before he signed for St Johnstone I think.
    Jermaine Pennant, scored as a trialist but not offered a deal.
    Jim Goodwin, the January before we were relegated as we were missing a bit of steal in midfield, apparently.

Paulo Sergio? I'm sure he trialed at Hibs?