Players Hibs Missed Out On

The David Platt post on the transfer thread got me thinking about players we've had the chance to sign but passed up over the years. John Robertson immediately springs to mind. Any others?

PSN ID: shamo9
    Andy McLaren in 2003. Played a few pre-season games that year.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...an/3158779.stm

Cantona. The younger brother.

Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    Its a joke. Talking about us raising 500k for his transfer. 5 months later, Mercer and we were almost gone.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Gordon Strachan and Alan Hansen. Both trained with Hibs as boys and ended up signing elsewhere.

Gordon Strachan

Eddie Turnbull refused to buy him a pair of Adidas

Gordon Strachan, a childhood Hibs supporter rejected by Eddie Turnbull for being too small.

Billy Bremner, Hibs offered 25k, Leeds wanted 30K.

Peter Lorimer, Leeds offered him and 150k for Peter Cormack, he eventually left for 80k to Forest.

John Toshack, he joined Swansea instead as player manager, moved Swansea from the bottom division [forth] to the top [first, where they hit top spot briefly] in successive seasons, before resigning when they started to go in the other direction.

Leigh Griffiths for£150k

Didier Agathe to an extent

Did a young Darren Fletcher not have links with Hibs?

Riyad Mahrez

Naw that was St Mirren

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Didier Agathe to an extent
    Still rankles with me that one.

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Still rankles with me that one.
    It does, but did we not just offer him a short term deal?

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Did a young Darren Fletcher not have links with Hibs?
    Trained with us , but was never signing despite some attempts from McLeish (I think) at the time ….was always just using us as a local training option as he prepared for life at Man U

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Way back in the day, I was a member of Club 86.
    During the Duff and Gray years, Jim Gray told me at a function that a very young Emilio Butragueño had been over to us for a trial when Eddie Turnbull was our manager. According to Jim, ET had said Butragueno was too thin and not likely to make it with us.

I've often wondered if Jim Gray was havering or has anyone else ever heard this story.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    It does, but did we not just offer him a short term deal?
    3 months. Left ourselves totally exposed. The boy started on fire and the rest is history.

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    3 months. Left ourselves totally exposed. The boy started on fire and the rest is history.
    That Dundee game, one of the best ever at Easter Rd

Quote Originally Posted by Eaststand View Post
    During the Duff and Gray years, Jim Gray told me at a function that a very young Emilio Butragueño had been over to us for a trial when Eddie Turnbull was our manager. According to Jim, ET had said Butragueno was too thin and not likely to make it with us.

I've often wondered if Jim Gray was havering or has anyone else ever heard this story.

Sure it wasn’t Emilio Bottiglieri? 😁

Can think of quite a few players who chose Hearts over us. We dodged a lot of bullets

Pretty sure Didier Agathe missed an absolute sitter on his debut at Tiny in a 0-0

After that he was oan fire

Defo one that got away

Stephane Adam?

I’ve heard he had trials at both Hibs and Hearts before signing for that lot?

Kyle Lafferty

Quote Originally Posted by Eaststand View Post

The thought of those 2 charlatans - Duff & Gray - running our club still makes me shiver...

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Leigh Griffiths for£150k
    I love the old urban myths!

Or should I sat Hibs-net facts?

John Robertson aka wee fat Robbo

Dylan Bikey

Ross McCrorie