Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Uk holidays

Hybrid View

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc

Uk holidays

Looking to book up for Blackpool as a non driver what’s the best options to get there and back , anyone any ideas

I stayed in Blackpool when I went to the Grand National a few years back. Got the TransPenine Express to Preston then the train from there to Blackpool.

Thanks for the reply looks decent price mate 👍

Quote Originally Posted by Squealing pig View Post
    Just a heads up in case you haven't been to the train station in Preston. Many changes for different routes, and they can change the platform of approaching trains at very short notice meaning you have to leg it to the updated platform. Keep your eye on the arrivals board. That was my experience.

Quote Originally Posted by Santa Cruz View Post
    Just a heads up in case you haven't been to the train station in Preston. Many changes for different routes, and they can change the platform of approaching trains at very short notice meaning you have to leg it to the updated platform. Keep your eye on the arrivals board. That was my experience.
    Far easier to change at Wigan for Blackpool, Preston is a pain in the erse.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Far easier to change at Wigan for Blackpool, Preston is a pain in the erse.
    Would that not add an hour to the journey?
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Book your return tickets in 2 parts, Edinburgh-Preston then Preston-Blackpool, usually works out cheaper.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Book your return tickets in 2 parts, Edinburgh-Preston then Preston-Blackpool, usually works out cheaper.

I have heard about this and was sceptical but just compared fare and the difference is amazing.

£111 Edi to Blackpool but only £82 when split into two tickets.

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    I have heard about this and was sceptical but just compared fare and the difference is amazing.

£111 Edi to Blackpool but only £82 when split into two tickets.
    Incredible prices really. A lot of folk going to realise just how expensive a "staycation" is in the UK.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    There are specialist split ticket sites that my wife uses for Sandwell (West Bromwich way) to Perth. She regularly gets over £100 off the direct price.

It can mean changing twice between here and Haymarket, but as the changes are only seat changes on the same train she doesn't usually bother to move.

Quote Originally Posted by AltheHibby View Post
    There are specialist split ticket sites that my wife uses for Sandwell (West Bromwich way) to Perth. She regularly gets over £100 off the direct price.

It can mean changing twice between here and Haymarket, but as the changes are only seat changes on the same train she doesn't usually bother to move.
    Aye, I use splitticketing.com

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    Never had an issue going via Preston. However coming back I'd advise getting an earlier train to Preston as I've had too many a close shave getting my connection due to slow running trains/cancellation from Blackpool

Looking to book up for Blackpool as a non driver what’s the best options to get there and back , anyone any ideas
    I have to say m8, I think of Blackpool as the typical sea-side resort that people used to go to before cheap flights, it's very run down nowadays, lots of stag and hen party's, it might be ok for a weekend but I personally wouldn't want to be there for any longer than that.
    Last edited by 147lothian; 18-06-2021 at 12:49 PM.

Just come down to London, cheap flights and/or trains and there are really good deals with hotels (check Premier Inn prices at the moment). There so much to do that's better than a rundown seaside resort.

Quote Originally Posted by 147lothian View Post
    I have to say m8, I think of Blackpool as the typical sea-side that resort people used to go to before cheap flights, it's very run down nowadays, lots of stag and hen party's, it might be ok for a weekend but I personally wouldn't want to be there for any longer than that.
    It is rundown and a bit sad looking but with a bairn it still does the job.

We took our daughter there last year during the illumimations for a couple of days and she had a ball. Things that go up and down and spin, sugary food and bright colours. You can't really go wrong.

The day we arrived we were on one of the piers when the lights came on. As we walked along the front and she saw the Tower lit up like a rainbow she told us it was 'the best place in the world'. She'll learn but I'd have no hesitation in taking her back.

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 147lothian View Post
    I have to say m8, I think of Blackpool as the typical sea-side resort that people used to go to before cheap flights, it's very run down nowadays, lots of stag and hen party's, it might be ok for a weekend but I personally wouldn't want to be there for any longer than that.
    If you think Blackpool is bad, you should see Morecambe.

Used to go to the punk weekenders which alternated between the two and Blackpool is positively upmarket compared to Morecambe.

Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk

We had a few days away at Callander during the week. Boy is it expensive now, compared to the last couple of times we've been.

Dunno if it was just my mood* but it looks a bit more rundown and miserable than I remember as well.

* Grumpy? Moi?

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    We had a few days away at Callander during the week. Boy is it expensive now, compared to the last couple of times we've been.

Dunno if it was just my mood* but it looks a bit more rundown and miserable than I remember as well.

* Grumpy? Moi?

Great. We are supposed to be going on Wednesday 😆

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Great. We are supposed to be going on Wednesday 😆
    Hopefully, by the time you go, Keith will be in a better mood and it won't look as run down and miserable.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar

* Grumpy? Moi?
    There is a very good beer shop just outside of Callander, besides the Lade Inn.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft

* Grumpy? Moi?
    Haha I've just booked a lodge up there for the end of August
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

I'm going to be spending 4 nights in Pluckton, followed by a week in Glencoe, I have never been to Pluckton before would be great to hear from anyone that's been there before about places to visit, things to do etc

* Grumpy? Moi?
    We came back through Glencoe so stopped in Callander for some lunch, your right looks a bit run down lots of shops haven’t survived covid by the looks of it not even the Greggs! We did find a lovely place just off the high street think it was called Deli Ecosse food was lovely and nice place.

Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    We came back through Glencoe so stopped in Callander for some lunch, your right looks a bit run down lots of shops haven’t survived covid by the looks of it not even the Greggs! We did find a lovely place just off the high street think it was called Deli Ecosse food was lovely and nice place.

Been and there and you're right, it's very nice.

On PB's point about the cost of simply going out for dinner in the UK versus elsewhere, me and Mrs M were actually just discussing that this morning.

We went for a meal yesterday at an Italian restaurant in Glasgow and we were comparing the costs to what we used to pay in Munich... which is not especially renowned for being cheap... and we reckon it costs us between 30-50% more to eat out now than when we stayed over there.
    Last edited by Keith_M; 10-07-2021 at 09:15 AM.

Thanks for all the replies yeh it’s just for the weekend 👌

Check this out on YouTube m8, it gives you a good idea of the lay of the land that your heading to; 5am in Blackpool

Good old days the September weekend in Blackpool.

Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    Good old days the September weekend in Blackpool.
    I used to do this in the early 80’s
    There was a pub near the Pleasure beach, that we used to get dropped off at. Folk would be absolutely steaming at 1pm on the Friday afternoon
    Think it was called something like Diamond Lils?
    Presume it’s long gone

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    I used to do this in the early 80’s
    There was a pub near the Pleasure beach, that we used to get dropped off at. Folk would be absolutely steaming at 1pm on the Friday afternoon
    Think it was called something like Diamond Lils?
    Presume it’s long gone
    Aye long gone, it's now the passage de terror where you walk through a lot of scary scenes from films, and at the end you get chased by a guy with a pretend chainsaw and run out to a bar where everyone laughs at you for being scared.

Not sure what that bar is called these days.

Aye long gone, it's now the passage de terror where you walk through a lot of scary scenes from films, and at the end you get chased by a guy with a pretend chainsaw and run out to a bar where everyone laughs at you for being scared.

Not sure what that bar is called these days.
    Ha ha, that place is a real blast from the past