Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Managers saying " we will learn from this ".

Players kissing the ball before a penalty, feee kick etc

A North Macedonia player just done it for a nothing free kick 40 yards out on the touchline. WTF?

Stephen Craigan and Steve McManaman.

Quote Originally Posted by Magpie View Post
    Stephen Craigan and Steve McManaman.
    Why anybody would listen to Craigan is a mystery what has he actually done, as for McMannaman he did play for Real Madrid and Liverpool but opinion wise you'd think he was world player of the year 7 times on the trot in the way he berates players for errors.

Quote Originally Posted by Key West View Post
    Why anybody would listen to Craigan is a mystery what has he actually done, as for McMannaman he did play for Real Madrid and Liverpool but opinion wise you'd think he was world player of the year 7 times on the trot in the way he berates players for errors.
    I get the feeling that Craigan hates Hibs.

"Rolls Royce of a player"

"Never laid a glove on them"

Insert every other flavour of the week / month cliché as you see fit.

@hibs.net private member Jim Herriot's Avatar
    "He made no mistake from the spot" always annoys me, mainly because no-one in history has ever said "He made a mistake from the spot."

Quote Originally Posted by Tommy75 View Post
    When commentators say a goalkeeper 'just about kept it out' when they actually made a save and kept it out.
    The complete corruption of the meaning of "just about" has me almost going through my TV screen.

"he just about got a touch to that" - No, he actually ****ing touched it.

"He just about got his head on it" - No he actually ****ing got his head on it.

"Your Liverpools, Chelseas, Arsenals"

There's more than one of each aye?

Also, "Twitter banter" on clubs' official Twitter accounts which is as funny as being hit by a car.

It's like having a bunch of clones of James Corden but even less funny.
    Last edited by CloudSquall; 13-06-2021 at 05:18 PM.

The fact i need about 8 subscriptions to watch it.

Players kissing the ball before a penalty, feee kick etc

A North Macedonia player just done it for a nothing free kick 40 yards out on the touchline. WTF?
    I saw this too and it made me laugh out loud 😂

First Team Regular Topographic Hibby's Avatar
    Linesmen waiting about 5 minutes to put their flag up after everybody in the stadium/TV-land has shouted "offside"......

Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    The complete corruption of the meaning of "just about" has me almost going through my TV screen.

"he just about got a touch to that" - No, he actually ****ing touched it.

"He just about got his head on it" - No he actually ****ing got his head on it.
    Just about does ma head in

Every John Hughes interview ever, Charlie Nicholas and Davie Provan, moving electronic pitch side advertising in the same colours as the teams playing, Jane Lewis and her constant errors, all the additional wee sponsors on strips, changing both / all 3 strips every year now, jobs for the boys in punditry, Sam Allardyce...

Referees failing to book players for bad tackles because it's early in the game - that's exactly the time that they should be booked.

Players taking the ball into the corner to waste time when they could be crossing it for another attempt at goal - it's an entertainment industry, even if you miss we'd rather see a shot on goal than two or three players fannying about at the corner post.

Robbie Savage.

Referees not giving free kicks unless a player falls over.

Complaints about players going over easily to win a foul when if the refs gave fouls for fouls they wouldn’t have to.

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    Referees failing to book players for bad tackles because it's early in the game - that's exactly the time that they should be booked.

Players taking the ball into the corner to waste time when they could be crossing it for another attempt at goal - it's an entertainment industry, even if you miss we'd rather see a shot on goal than two or three players fannying about at the corner post.
    Your first point annoys me too.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    The majority of footballers haircuts. Or probably more accurately the majority of youngsters’ haircuts.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post

Point 1 = 100%

Point 2 = No way, I have painful memories of Scotland just needing to see out a minute or two, rather than playing canny, we went for it then lost a goal to counter attack at the final whistle.
    Ended up in a playoff with England where we beat them at Wembley (sure it was their last competitive game at the old version) and got beat at Hampden to go out on aggregate.. scarred for life!

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Pished fans who are a liability to themselves and others around them.

Fans who appear to detest their own team.

Bosman.

The idea that I should support a particular team because of what religion I was born into.

Glory hunting fans.

Games on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday or Friday.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    Point 1 = 100%

Point 2 = No way, I have painful memories of Scotland just needing to see out a minute or two, rather than playing canny, we went for it then lost a goal to counter attack at the final whistle.
    Ended up in a playoff with England where we beat them at Wembley (sure it was their last competitive game at the old version) and got beat at Hampden to go out on aggregate.. scarred for life!

They also lost to Germany at Wembley in the previous game. Satisfying that the last two games at the old Wembley were defeats to Germany & Scotland 😀

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Douglas Ross
    A face only a mother could love

Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    Agree. It is habitual with some, Porto and Nisbet being two of the worst offenders. I was amazed there was no sanction brought in for this when play resumed after lockdown. I think pro golfers can get fined.
    I do feel the need to gob occasionally when exercising vigorously, especially if I have a bit of a snivvle or cough, but not twice every minute, and certainly not if I am standing on the touchline watching, as per some managers I've seen.
    The ref runs about as much as the players but when did you last see a ref gob on the pitch during a game? Guessing they have a directive not to gob?
    I suspect that for the most part, referees come from a higher branch on the intellectual tree than most footballers.

@hibs.net private member Newry Hibs's Avatar
    The swooshing noise for every caption on sky sports.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Players talking to each other at full time with their hand over their mouths.
    Racist

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Mealy mouthed pundits who talk in cliches

Time wasting, even more so early in the game

players going down screaming, glance at the ref, and spring back up once the free kick is given or not given

awful use of var technology compared to other sports

referees over exaggerated hand gestures when talking to players

Sam allardyce

socks over knees
    Sam Allardyce

“Tactical fouls” and “taking one for the team” I just think they are blatant cheating. They quicker the are made a straight Red the better the game will flow !
    Last edited by EdinMike; 13-06-2021 at 07:46 PM.

Angry

When a free kick is awarded in shooting distance the time between it being awarded and the taking of it does my head in. When a player has only one defender to beat and turns and passes back

Great players who make awful pundits (Owen, Savage, Shearer, hunners of others).

Robbie Savage

The ****ing god awful adverts that appear around tournaments with players.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Great players who make awful pundits (Owen, Savage, Shearer, hunners of others).

Robbie Savage

The ****ing god awful adverts that appear around tournaments with players.
    Andy Walker is right up there with then in the useless stakes......