Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by The dalmeny View Post
    I mind I was in Rome the day after Boro had played Roma and had a couple of guys stabbed. We were in the pub in kilts etc, some English boys started talking to us they were across for the football but scared ****less to go out in colours as groups of Roma fans were going about looking for boro fans to give a doing to.
    That was mental, to be honest. Boro had a great couple of seasons in Europe, but the Rome fans were just out for trouble and anyone was fair game including women and families.

I'm not sure whether alcohol necessarily played a part with the Rome fans though, as I believe Italians have a different relationship to alcohol than us Brits 🍻.

I believe other English fans had problems there the next year, can't remember if it was Liverpool or Spurs.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Rugby fans turn up twice a year, both sides clap eachother and they all get pished. Thats a wedding, not a sporting event. Of course they are well behaved.
    Eh no, it is a sporting event, it's a rugby event. You are correct that the atmosphere is completely different which is exactly what the discussion is about.

Football has a lot more bams and drunken ********s who think they are Mike Tyson after a few drinks than rugby. It's not even up for debate.

Quote Originally Posted by AngloHibs;[URL="tel:6581015"
    6581015[/URL]]That was mental, to be honest. Boro had a great couple of seasons in Europe, but the Rome fans were just out for trouble and anyone was fair game including women and families.

I'm not sure whether alcohol necessarily played a part with the Rome fans though, as I believe Italians have a different relationship to alcohol than us Brits 🍻.

I believe other English fans had problems there the next year, can't remember if it was Liverpool or Spurs.
    you’re right their fans like a pagger.

in Ciampo di Fiori outside the boozer. Roma fans in one corner, lazio in another, police in a third. Massive charge and pile on, police arrest whos left, hilarious to watch, not to get caught up in.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    The reason it doesnt escalate into a "reputation" is the police tend to stand back and smile at their "antics".

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
    I went to a match when the fans were herded to the game with a row of police officers on either side and a helicopter above. This wasn't so much to stop the fans being escorted from misbehaving, but to stop them being attacked.

I'll give you one guess as to the sport.

Edit: I'm for alcohol at grounds, by the way. The behaviour of fans at the 2 sports is a different issue.
    Last edited by Hibbyradge; 26-05-2021 at 05:59 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Rugby fans turn up twice a year, both sides clap eachother and they all get pished. Thats a wedding, not a sporting event. Of course they are well behaved.
    I thought you could drink at league matches at Murrafield.

What a terrible idea Ron, please don’t

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    What a terrible idea Ron, please don’t
    I agree. Don't fancy getting soaked with beer these days.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I went to a match when the fans were herded to the game with a row of police officers on either side and a helicopter above. This wasn't so much to stop the fans being escorted from misbehaving, but to stop them being attacked.

I'll give you one guess as to the sport.

Edit: I'm for alcohol at grounds, by the way. The behaviour of fans at the 2 sports is a different issue.
    That be Association Football.

I'm not saying that football fans are angels or that the amount of trouble caused is reflected by rugby fans, but I've also seen some absolute ****baggery from rugby fans in town and some incidents directed towards women that was just way out of order. What I will say is that there is one attitude from police towards football fans and another whole set of rules for rugby fans.

I'm ambivalent about alcohol at the football, if it made Hibs money and could be done without affecting crowd behaviour then I would be for it.

These debates are always circular and it's highly unlikely anyone is going to change their mind.

Fwiw I think a £6 pint of Carling is unlikely to turn Hibs v Ross County on a Wednesday night into a raging street battle. I always find it a bit baffling that you can essentially drink in the stadium at ER just now, you just have to go back out then in another door when you do. Equally though recent evidence has shown that some football fans still can't be trusted not to believe a pint and the presence of a football context means anything goes. The fact that they can bevvy to their hearts contents in pubs or the street 2 minutes from the stadium will be of little consequence. The message about alcohol at football, no matter how contradictory it may seem, will remain as is.

These debates are always circular and it's highly unlikely anyone is going to change their mind.

Fwiw I think a £6 pint of Carling is unlikely to turn Hibs v Ross County on a Wednesday night into a raging street battle. I always find it a bit baffling that you can essentially drink in the stadium at ER just now, you just have to go back out then in another door when you do. Equally though recent evidence has shown that some football fans still can't be trusted not to believe a pint and the presence of a football context means anything goes. The fact that they can bevvy to their hearts contents in pubs or the street 2 minutes from the stadium will be of little consequence. The message about alcohol at football, no matter how contradictory it may seem, will remain as is.
    The thing is PB, I can choose whether I want to go these places pre match or not
    Someone has to tell Ron, that it’s not as warm and sunny in Scotland, as it is in the states
    They can gather hours before and eat hot dogs and Coca Cola, and watch pre match entertainment. That’s not our culture, as it can be so cold at games that fans will turn up hits before Ko
    If he wants to encourage the matchday experience and get us in sooner, a must is a roof over ER😀

Quote Originally Posted by Crunchie View Post
    Only my experience with Scots and alcohol in general, we're a breed apart when it comes to the demon drink.
    Having been to numerous former Eastern Bloc countries for football I really don't think that's true.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    It's a waste of time anyway. A tenner for a room temperature can of Budweiser. Just have a proper pint in a pub nearby.
    A tenner for a can of beer, who would charge or pay that? 🤔

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    The thing is PB, I can choose whether I want to go these places pre match or not
    Someone has to tell Ron, that it’s not as warm and sunny in Scotland, as it is in the states
    They can gather hours before and eat hot dogs and Coca Cola, and watch pre match entertainment. That’s not our culture, as it can be so cold at games that fans will turn up hits before Ko
    If he wants to encourage the matchday experience and get us in sooner, a must is a roof over ER😀
    So we need a decent Porter or Stout on tap then, is that what you are saying? 😁

Hopefully it’s a goer . Open the bar at 2 -3 , 10 mins at half time then 1/2 hour full time . Hardly going to get folk drunk

We should team up with a local Edinburgh brewer and punt their stuff at ER. Everyone a winner.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Thish tread ish 'hic' riliculous ... why, why why 'hic' shouldnt drink be 'hic' alloud in shdadiumsh 'hic'

Quote Originally Posted by EI255 View Post
    We should team up with a local Edinburgh brewer and punt their stuff at ER. Everyone a winner.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
    Said that a page or three back, and there are lovely leith breweries that would be ideal.

I think it's a no brainer. Reintroducing the sale of alcohol at football stadia is an ideal revenue stream that would be welcomed by so many clubs across the land especially in these austere times.

I’ve seen comments about raging battles and other such sensationalist remarks around selling alcohol in football stadiums. Does anyone seriously think selling alcohol in the stadium is going to turn a hibs v Livingston game into a powderkeg atmosphere? It’s just not going to happen, the most likely outcome would be people trying to get away from watching the game. Category A games could be exempt from the beginning.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I’ve seen comments about raging battles and other such sensationalist remarks around selling alcohol in football stadiums. Does anyone seriously think selling alcohol in the stadium is going to turn a hibs v Livingston game into a powderkeg atmosphere? It’s just not going to happen, the most likely outcome would be people trying to get away from watching the game. Category A games could be exempt from the beginning.
    If it were to happen I'd imagine it would be the same as in England where alcohol is not available during the game. Only beforehand and halftime.

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    If it were to happen I'd imagine it would be the same as in England where alcohol is not available during the game. Only beforehand and halftime.
    You struggle to buy anything at ht at ER, unless you leave your seat early, you won’t see the start of the 2nd half

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    I’d think that’s definitely what would happen. The idea that somehow doing that will lead to trouble at category b games is ridiculous.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    The only difference being half time then, as we can already use behind the goals before the game.

Half time is a non starter though. Most normal people don’t drink a pint in under 15 mins let alone queue with hundreds of others to buy it in the first place.

It has to be about being able to take your beer to your seat whilst watching the game.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    To be fair, last time i was at Livi the folk tanning lines of coke in the toilets at half time would be more likely to cause bother than folk having a half time pint.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    To be fair, last time i was at Livi the folk tanning lines of coke in the toilets at half time would be more likely to cause bother than folk having a half time pint.
    Have you seen the profit margins on that stuff? Start selling that at half time and watch us leave Aberdeen in the, er, dust.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    Have you seen the profit margins on that stuff? Start selling that at half time and watch us leave Aberdeen in the, er, dust.
    Hibs Class (A)

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Hibs Class (A)

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I thought you could drink at league matches at Murrafield.
    - all Edinburgh games are open for buying beers before and during the match, in addition to International test matches.

As for drink being widely available at the football, I'm torn. Most football clubs would be fine selling alcohol in their stadia, and I doubt it would result in any additional trouble/risk of trouble than folk going to a pub beforehand. I just can't see, given the scenes we've seen this year from The Rangers and Celtc fans, how such a move could garner support from a positively presbyterian Government that are already as anti-alcohol and anti-football as they can possibly be.

Yet, clearly it's a 'class' thing, because drinking at hospitality is fine if you can afford it...
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

The biggest limitations on this are:
    1. The concourses unlike a boozer are absolutely baltic for most of the season. No heating or even hot water and open to the wind and cold.
    2. Before Category A games would be a non starter
    3. Half time concourse drinking is tough without missing parts of the game which is just sad behaviour and alcohol beyond the concourse won't happen as a starting point.

So what you could have that would be attractive is an hour serving alcohol before and an hour after the game in the less baltic months.

Downsides are folk would be late in, early out and more of them probably up for a piss and then returning during the game than currently happens to the annoyance of their fellow supporters. If alcohol was allowed beyond the concourse involuntary beer showers would also be an unwelcome addition.

Ron like all businessmen is all about the money but still has much to learn about our football culture and climate.
    Last edited by CMurdoch; 27-05-2021 at 02:11 PM.

Really don’t see it being an issue and would bring more money into the coffers (liked his chat about improving kiosks and the food on offer as well!)

Few points folk seem to have missed.

we’re no huns, not sure how the recent weegie rampages are being compared to us.

As Ron said in his interview, we’d put controls in place. E.g. wee tent that was out the back of the east the other year, gotta beep in with your season book. Can’t handle a few beers n got to be the big man...well see you later, no welcome back, that’s 400+ quid doon the toilet. Which segways nicely to comments about said idiot throwing a bottle..as a result we now have excellent cctv in the stadium, so if your being an idiot in your seat, then we’ll horse you out too. Id actually encourage not only this, but naming and shaming said individuals on the hibs website afterwards, put it in the Ts&Cs of your entry.

The concourses are quite busy, why not just have some little pop up stalls at opposite side where bookies used to be and/or people with coolers/card readers to handle any half time rush and keep the food traffic flowing..?

Think a fanzone type thing would be good, try amalgamate with the entertainment for the bairns...some outdoor type heaters for when it’s cold (or actually build, between north n east?) Couple of beers before the game would be nice, specially when weather good. Or a wee sing song n some highlights of the game/goals if been a good performance/result. Sounds good to me 🍻 and more importantly and what he’s trying to achieve, is more money for Hibs.