Page 41 of 64 FirstFirst ... 31394041424351 ... LastLast
Results 1,201 to 1,230 of 1894
    Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Hope he accepts the harsh reality of never being the Hibs manager either.
    TBH Hibs barely got a mention, on the other hand he was quite happy to talk about Rangers and how that's the biggest job. I did agree with what he was saying about Scott Brown though. I'd like to see Brown as Hibs manager someday, but that's just my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Cat Stanton View Post
    Strange interview with everyone's favourite, Kevin Thomson: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/60104756.

Confirms that he was interviewed for the Kilmarnock job and that, again, he dreams of being Sevco manager. Strange comment that "The harsh reality is I'm never going to be the Celtic manager, so the top for me would be the Rangers manager".

I think the harsh reality is you're unlikely to be either, Kev. But it's a slightly curious comment.

I honestly don’t know what goes through his head when he does these interviews.

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    Guys a total weapon. If he was chocolate he'd eat himself. He also constantly refers to it as 'footy' and it really annoys me.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    He does appear to be employed by the most understanding club in the world, its one thing to be approached by a bigger club when your in a job....its another to be actively touting yourself. Comments like these also mean it is very unlikely he could ever manage Hibs or Aberdeen as well, the kind of clubs that would provide the type of spring board that could lead to an appointment like Rangers. Can't imagine too many clubs being overly interested if they think he will be looking for the next step after being in the door for 5 mins.
    Kelty are going well this season and the St Johnstone score certainly will have given them a bit more press, even so not too many will be looking at the 4th tier of Scottish football for their next managerial appointment.

Hodgson about to take over at Watford. Guy must be about 80 by now - has been around forever 😂 more fool him, can’t be needing the payday at his age.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbysam View Post
    Hodgson about to take over at Watford. Guy must be about 80 by now - has been around forever 😂 more fool him, can’t be needing the payday at his age.
    It’s Watford. Sign a 2 year deal, get paid off after a few months…

Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    Exactly right.

Just checked, he’s 74. He doesn’t need that ‘stress’ and pay off surely. I’d 100% understand a younger manager cracking on, but not someone who should’ve retired yonks ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Dr What If? View Post
    He does appear to be employed by the most understanding club in the world, its one thing to be approached by a bigger club when your in a job....its another to be actively touting yourself. Comments like these also mean it is very unlikely he could ever manage Hibs or Aberdeen as well, the kind of clubs that would provide the type of spring board that could lead to an appointment like Rangers. Can't imagine too many clubs being overly interested if they think he will be looking for the next step after being in the door for 5 mins.
    Kelty are going well this season and the St Johnstone score certainly will have given them a bit more press, even so not too many will be looking at the 4th tier of Scottish football for their next managerial appointment.

If other clubs are looking at him, they will be thinking ‘can he make the step up?’

One thing he could do is behave like a top manager, show that he’s got the nous for it. And an important part of that is not talking about managing other clubs.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbysam View Post
    Looking forward to Watford sacking him in April.

Woy Hodgson? For crying out loud!
    Talk about building for the future!

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Woy Hodgson? For crying out loud!
    Talk about building for the future!
    Could be to steady the club till the summer, Roy knows his stuff and how to bring players together.

Grant McCann sacked by Hull - now that is outrageous.

Quote Originally Posted by The 90+2 View Post
    Changed ownership last week
    Shota Arveladze favourite to take over

They not got new rich owners?

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Changed ownership last week
    Shota Arveladze favourite to take over

these sort of clubs never ever learn.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    They not got new rich owners?

New owners or not McCann has done a fantastic job. Shockingly treated.

Don't see how, when a new owner comes in, there's always a good chance they'll want their own man on place, McCann will know that.

It's not very good for the stability of a football club at this stage of the season. Unless they spend millions in the next 7 days Hull have a pretty ***** squad that could easily now find themelves in relegation bother.

End of the season, fair enough I would kind of see their point but now, having had a good season and performing well above themselves, not as much.

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Looking forward to Watford sacking him in April.
    Have to say, after seein he’s signed till the end of the season, you gotta admire that he is up for this! Me bein nearer his age than most previously discoursin on what & when, that’s a subjective one, some spend they’re best young energetic time railing away unnecessarily, & mebbes tire, others due to genetics or fate or whatever are up for it at 50/60/70 who knows, but just as kids develop at different levels as they grow up, aulder yins go to pasture at different stages tae! One thing I know, having never been 60 or 70 or subjected to the retirement caper yet, I am no in any rush to embrace it. Wasn’t in my 20/30s either cos I knew nothing about it. But that’s just me.

It's not very good for the stability of a football club at this stage of the season. Unless they spend millions in the next 7 days Hull have a pretty ***** squad that could easily now find themelves in relegation bother.

End of the season, fair enough I would kind of see their point but now, having had a good season and performing well above themselves, not as much.
    Or perhaps the owner feels it’s important to get a new manager in and settle himself in over the next few months before pre season to have a better chance next season? They aren’t going to get promoted this season but I doubt they will get relegated either. It’s fair enough if they have aspirations of going to the Premier League and want to replace the manager who has them sitting 19th in the Championship.

Quote Originally Posted by majorhibs View Post
    Have to say, after seein he’s signed till the end of the season, you gotta admire that he is up for this! Me bein nearer his age than most previously discoursin on what & when, that’s a subjective one, some spend they’re best young energetic time railing away unnecessarily, & mebbes tire, others due to genetics or fate or whatever are up for it at 50/60/70 who knows, but just as kids develop at different levels as they grow up, aulder yins go to pasture at different stages tae! One thing I know, having never been 60 or 70 or subjected to the retirement caper yet, I am no in any rush to embrace it. Wasn’t in my 20/30s either cos I knew nothing about it. But that’s just me.
    It's a bit like the Still Game episode where they mind Navids shop for him while he's away.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Lampard and Redknapp in at Everton doing the rounds.

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Harry or Jamie?

Quote Originally Posted by JohnM1875 View Post
    Harry or Jamie?
    'Arry (until end of season).

Both of them?

Seemingly Harry is going in until the end of the season with Frank who will be permanent manager.

Lampard's his nephew, maybe Harry giving him a wee helping hand.

That plus his experience of getting out of trouble, can't be a bad thing. Could actually be a very clever move.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    That plus his experience of getting out of trouble, can't be a bad thing. Could actually be a very clever move.
    Will Harry’s dog be on the payroll ?