If you could pick one club

Just a bit of fun, but

If you could pick one club in Scotland to receive a Newcastle Utd/ Man City style investment from a billionaire ( outside of Hibs) that would lead to this club noising up the old firm and winning the league/ cups a few times, who would it be?

Id personally pick someone like Patrick Thistle or Morton. I have a begrudging admiration for weegies that don’t follow the old firm.

I also have respect for folk who support Partick, Morton, St Mirren etc .... but I would hate to see another west coast club up there with the two we already have to contend with.

I would prefer it to be someone like Dunfermline or Dundee, two clubs with decent latent support and in Dundee's case it's long past time they won something.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Brechin City. Really sad to see them languishing in the Highland league, have family from
    there who support them so got a soft spot for them.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

It wasn't Saudi-style investment but Brooks Mileson threw money at Gretna and they just became annoying IMHO (albeit they did almost beat the yams in a cup final).

Someone on the North East coast to trump Aberdeen would be quite interesting.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    I also have respect for folk who support Partick, Morton, St Mirren etc .... but I would hate to see another west coast club up there with the two we already have to contend with.

I would prefer it to be someone like Dunfermline or Dundee, two clubs with decent latent support and in Dundee's case it's long past time they won something.
    I fondly remember Dundee’s season 2000-2001 when they signed loads. Bonetti., caballerro, Sara, Canniggia. Was an exciting time as Hibs had a great team. We thumped them 5-1 at Easter road with Agathe scoring a stunner.

But Dundee eventually became annoying and succumbed to poor finances and administration

@hibs.net private member mutley's Avatar

PSN ID: mutley074
    Loch Ness Fc.................... because that have nice tops with a monster on it ( I have last years one , pretty smart)

Cove...just because it would put the arrogant self entitled sheepies in their place

Certainly not Patrick after their wee love in with Hearts after the relegation.

I dislike pretty much every club in Scotland but probably go for…..Brora Rangers

FC Edinburgh

Arbroath

On the basis that it could lead to them usurping their namesakes it would have to be Berwick Rangers. Imagine if they became the dominant "Rangers" in Scottish football leaving the Glasgow version forevermore always to be referenced as The Glasgow Rangers to distinguish them from the more dominant Rangers.

Quote Originally Posted by H18 SFR View Post
    FC Edinburgh
    Agree, but maybe too close to home.

Thornton Hibs. Local team.

St mirren

St.Mirren
    Jambos seem to hate them ( they still think the Buddies laid down to Celtic in '86, ignoring the fact Herts jambottled it as usual) and any team that starts with 'Saint..' is bound to be viewed with suspicion by the Huns.

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    Yeh St.Mirren or Dunfermline

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    St.Mirren
    Jambos seem to hate them ( they still think the Buddies laid down to Celtic in '86, ignoring the fact Herts jambottled it as usual) and any team that starts with 'Saint..' is bound to be viewed with suspicion by the Huns.
    We have a winner I think - for me anyway, on the grounds that it would piss off the Yams in extremis I choose St Mirren. That's enough isn't it? Oh aye - and in case of doubt there is always the fruits of Mrs McGinn's womb which we benefited from via the Paisley Buddies.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Ach, just give to to Rangers or Celtic.

We'd all end up hating whichever club it was anyways.

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Ach, just give to to Rangers or Celtic.

We'd all end up hating whichever club it was anyways.
    That's my view too, nae point putting mythical obstructions to success in Hibs way when we already have those 2 on the go.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 28-07-2022 at 05:54 PM.

Elgin City.

Morton? They aint weegies. Falkirk and Stirling are just as close to Glasgow city centre as what Greenock is.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbydog View Post
    Just a bit of fun, but

If you could pick one club in Scotland to receive a Newcastle Utd/ Man City style investment from a billionaire ( outside of Hibs) that would lead to this club noising up the old firm and winning the league/ cups a few times, who would it be?

Id personally pick someone like Patrick Thistle or Morton. I have a begrudging admiration for weegies that don’t follow the old firm.
    Plastic Whistle without a doubt.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Queens Park

They can build a newer better Hampden

Let’s see what Leeann can do with some real dosh

She can talk the talk can she walk the walk ?
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 28-07-2022 at 06:16 PM.

Stenhousemuir

Newtongrange Star

Hearts. For Edinburgh.

Joking

Forfar Athletic

Ayr United as they turned down David Murray
    He would have driven them out of business

Only one answer

Gretna part 2

Only this time they’d be Hearts in the final and wouldn’t have to play their football in the disgrace that was Fir Park that season.