Page 16 of 64 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by The Keeper View Post
    "They saw my CV on the football pitch," Grant says. "I don't believe in putting a CV in because, if I did, I would blow everybody else away anyway. I don't mean that disrespectfully." Grant talking to BBC Scotland after getting the DAFC job. He's imbued with the Rantic arrogance. Karma comes calling.
    Wow not at all arrogant. He was at Alloa before that and was he not relegated no wonder he didn't put him cv in. Think he is mixing up playing and coaching career

Quote Originally Posted by GreenNWhiteArmy View Post
    DAFC should never have gotten rid of Crawford imo. Had them challenging against strong Hearts/Dundee sides. Would've had them up there again this season
    .... and losing 5-1 against Raith

That, finishing below them and losing to them in the play-offs, did it for him.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 06-10-2021 at 12:15 PM.

Steve Bruce leaves Newcastle United by mutual consent

BBC Sport

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

BBC Sport
    Thank goodness for that, a woeful manager. Obviously limited by Ashley during his tenure. But ultimately dreadful.

I felt really sorry for Bruce.

Did as much as he could within the constraints working under Mike Ashley brought.

That question he had to field from a journalist the other day was disgraceful and some of the online stuff that he's had to take from Newcastle fans has been awful. He's one of their own as well.

Their local rivals are two leagues below them. That's what mismanagement REALLY looks like.

I've had a soft spot for Sunderland for a while and having no really strong links to the area I've had no real reason to dislike Newcastle, but I'm looking forward to hating the despicable institution they're about to become.

BBC Sport
    I’m sure he’ll be delighted deep down. It was painful to watch a decent guy suffering like that, a lot of Newcastle fans haven’t covered themselves in glory over the last few months. The guy was working with 1 hand tied behind his back and did really well to keep them in the top league.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I’m sure he’ll be delighted deep down. It was painful to watch a decent guy suffering like that, a lot of Newcastle fans haven’t covered themselves in glory over the last few months. The guy was working with 1 hand tied behind his back and did really well to keep them in the top league.

He’s better of out of it they will change managers every 6 months when results aren’t deemed good enough.

Quote Originally Posted by Souter96Mac View Post
    Thank goodness for that, a woeful manager. Obviously limited by Ashley during his tenure. But ultimately dreadful.
    Is the noise that we hear from Ibrox that of Sleazy G clearing his desk and heading tae the Toon.

I should imagine 8 million quid will soften the blow.

Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    Just a bit. It’s not as if he’s loyal anyway so I’m sure he understands and doesn’t care. He’ll hop off the merry go round and jump back on to another “destroy and exit” soon enough.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post

Did as much as he could within the constraints working under Mike Ashley brought.

That question he had to field from a journalist the other day was disgraceful and some of the online stuff that he's had to take from Newcastle fans has been awful. He's one of their own as well.

Their local rivals are two leagues below them. That's what mismanagement REALLY looks like.

I've had a soft spot for Sunderland for a while and having no really strong links to the area I've had no real reason to dislike Newcastle, but I'm looking forward to hating the despicable institution they're about to become.
    In Kevin Keegan style, I would just love it if they got relegated.

That was the pay off figure I heard from a Newcastle fan I know.

Bruce is well known on the managerial carousel and no doubt will be jumping back on soon.

A few managers in the Championship will be warily looking over their shoulders at Bruce’s availability.

Mick McCarthy who’s coat is currently on a shoogly nail at Cardiff City is one that springs to mind.

Quote Originally Posted by theonlywayisup View Post
    In Kevin Keegan style, I would just love it if they got relegated.
    I'd love it too.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Highwayman View Post
    That was the pay off figure I heard from a Newcastle fan I know.

Bruce is well known on the managerial carousel and no doubt will be jumping back on soon.

A few managers in the Championship will be warily looking over their shoulders at Bruce’s availability.

Mick McCarthy who’s coat is currently on a shoogly nail at Cardiff City is one that springs to mind.
    He seems to be suggesting that he’s retiring. No doubt his head will turn as soon as he is offered a decent wedge.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    He seems to be suggesting that he’s retiring. No doubt his head will turn as soon as he is offered a decent wedge.
    Doubt it is about money for him. He will have more than enough to see him through his days.

It depends on whether he can live without football.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post

I wouldn't feel too bad, I heard today that he had an £8m compensation clause if his contract was terminated.

Quote Originally Posted by Lendo View Post
    I wouldn't feel too bad, I heard today that he had an £8m compensation clause if his contract was terminated.
    I don't think that solves all problems. He clearly wasn't up to the job but the abuse he was getting was too much. More than a bad manager deserves certainly.

Read a post on another site saying he couldn't go out for a pint near his house anymore because of the stick he was getting, had to go further afield.

Coupled with him losing both his parents in a very short period a few years ago, he has certainly had a rough time. Hopefully that big payoff allows him to give himself and his family a comfortably life, and forget football.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    No matter what he did he would never be accepted fully by the fans. Sure he would have received a good pay off. Decent manager, remember he signed Andy Robertson and SJM. They need a big name. Gerard must be in with a shout. Maybe too far north for Jose.

The Newcastle fans paint themselves out to be a brilliant support but the way they've treated one of their own in Bruce hasn't been great at all. Hope they get relegated.

Mick McCarthy leaves Cardiff City after today’s 2-0 defeat at home to Middlesbrough

BBC Sport

Mick McCarthy leaves Cardiff City after today’s 2-0 defeat at home to Middlesbrough

BBC Sport

No surprise, another dinosaur gone from football.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    No surprise, another dinosaur gone from football.
    Did Roy Keane no walk oot when he put the jerseys doon at Training ? 😂

Jack Ross might be added to the list if he doesn't turn it around soon

Did Roy Keane no walk oot when he put the jerseys doon at Training ? 😂

Keane criticized the Irish FA's organization getting to their training camp, the standard of training pitches etc, there was a big bust up at a team meeting with Keane sent home afterwards.

BBC Sport
    My post no.463 on this thread last Wednesday suggested that Mick McCarthys coat was on a shoogly mail at Cardiff City.

So bye bye Mick.

Depends what your current point of view is on Jack Ross but don’t think there’s much chance on Cardiff coming after him.

Ronald Koeman sacked by Barcelona.

Quote Originally Posted by Magpie View Post
    Ronald Koeman sacked by Barcelona.
    Koeman in.

Hilarious Ashley put that clause in Steve Bruce’s contract. He’s a one, eh?

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    If we do end up sacking Ross I hope it’s not before Alex Neil finds a new club. He could earn more money in the championship but hopefully still within our reach.