Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Harry Cochrane

Haha

Was it not claimed by the weirdos at the time he was better than McGinn.

Shameful refereeing by Dallas not to send him off though think it was the only thing he kicked that night

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    Yup. He’s absolutely jobbies. He’ll end up at an Edinburgh City or something soon enough, not get much game time there either and then drop down to a Spartans/Linlithgow Rose or something along those lines.
    I actually heard that he was City bound...

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Some of them claimed that tackle on McGinn was the moment of their season and that it showed "who was better".

I don't think those particular Hearts fans care much for football.
    Last edited by Kato; 16-04-2021 at 04:18 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    If he's refused a contract from Hearts he won't be City bound, I'd say more likely to end up at Hamilton or similar. Found him to be an arrogant wee so and so anyway, wouldn't make it into our development side........a typical Levein over estimation of a player who ranks amongst the 'Darren Mackie is the Scottish Wayne Rooney' category for managerial hyperbole

As others have said, he'll slip down the leagues quickly.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post

Shameful refereeing by Dallas not to send him off though think it was the only thing he kicked that night
    I happened across an article advising Leeds to go for Cochrane over McGinn. The idea being that he'd bossed McGinn in two derbies and would cost half as much! Seems ridiculous now!

Hearts due a development fee for him, which could scupper his chances

Brechin, Embra or the mighty Elgin?

I wonder just how good the lad Hickey would have been if he was at a proper club like Hibs and not that rudderless ship in Gorgie. Not often young players come to anything over there. Actually Hearts League Cup wins are more regular.

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Lever tried so hard to big him up in the hope that they could get big money for him. The fact that the got no interest says it all.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Brechin, Embra or the mighty Elgin?
    Here you, nae knocking ma hame toon........

Quote Originally Posted by Dalianwanda View Post
    I wouldnt take him at Hibs but thought he was very harshly treated by Hearts. Well when I say Hearts I mean Levein. Thrown in the deep end when he was struggling for players then turfed aside when older players returned.
    Symptomatic of Levin's outdated view of the game. Bring them into the team and they either sink or swim. Drop them and if they can't handle it they don't have the right "character" for professional football. No awareness whatsoever that the game's changed since his career began.

I don't think he got enough affection as a child.

In fairness I did think he looked a talent when he came through.

Showed a lot of composure and quality on the ball for being 16/17.

Doesn’t seem to have kicked on at all, even out on loan. Still plenty time for him to develop physically though as he’s young.

Part of me thinks hearts just offered him a new contract on rubbish terms, knowing he’d reject it and they’d be due a development fee.

Edinburgh City of course

He must have a club lined up or he’s taking a risk. In this financial climate the kind of clubs liable to be interested aren’t going to pay up to 6 figures on potential. Certainly not his potential. Having been in and around the first team and a couple of loan spells, even accounting for Levein arsing it up, if he was going to improve I think it would be showing now.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    He must have a club lined up or he’s taking a risk. In this financial climate the kind of clubs liable to be interested aren’t going to pay up to 6 figures on potential. Certainly not his potential. Having been in and around the first team and a couple of loan spells, even accounting for Levein arsing it up, if he was going to improve I think it would be showing now.
    If it is Edin City, think they are trying to run with a mixture and full and part timers next season
    Wonder where they are getting the money from?

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    If it is Edin City, think they are trying to run with a mixture and full and part timers next season
    To refuse a contract at Hearts would lead me to think he's got something lined up with a club who will match what he is on which outwith the SPFL, would leave only a few clubs who have backers Billy. The likes of Cove and Queens Park are throwing money around, maybe dropping down leagues and getting something with them. Can't see any clubs down south or abroad wanting him - his CV is really poor.

Hearts due a development fee for him, which could scupper his chances
    Are they definitely due a development fee for him? I know they’ve offered him a new contract, but if it’s on lower terms than he’s on now I don’t think a development fee applies. I can’t see him knocking back a new deal if it means other clubs would have to pay a fee to sign him. He could have something lined up down south as I don’t think the development fee applies then.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post

In that context, a development fee seems like a restraint of trade.

I’m all for protecting clubs who have invested in developing a young player, but if it’s all gone sour the club is holding something over the player by demanding a fee or that they sign a new contract.

Best young prospect in Craig Levein's head, media lapped it up, career now on a similar trajectory to Craig Levein's.

Could he do a job at Hibs? aye very similar to the job we'd be offering Craig Levein, mind the gap.

@hibs.net private member JohnMcM's Avatar
    People prepared to back them?

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    In that context, a development fee seems like a restraint of trade.

I’m all for protecting clubs who have invested in developing a young player, but if it’s all gone sour the club is holding something over the player by demanding a fee or that they sign a new contract.
    It’s just a clubs way of protecting the investment they have spent on the player
    He’s probably on a low contract at Hearts, and they probably didn’t want him, but they’ve played the game to get something for him

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Best young prospect in Craig Levein's head, media lapped it up, career now on a similar trajectory to Craig Levein's.

Could he do a job at Hibs? aye very similar to the job we'd be offering Craig Levein, mind the gap.

Can see Levein going to Dunfermline after they boost Crawford.

Quote Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
    I happened across an article advising Leeds to go for Cochrane over McGinn. The idea being that he'd bossed McGinn in two derbies and would cost half as much! Seems ridiculous now!
    It was ridiculous then.

Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post
    In fairness I did think he looked a talent when he came through.

Showed a lot of composure and quality on the ball for being 16/17.

Doesn’t seem to have kicked on at all, even out on loan. Still plenty time for him to develop physically though as he’s young.

Part of me thinks hearts just offered him a new contract on rubbish terms, knowing he’d reject it and they’d be due a development fee.
    Apparently he has a "big time" attitude problem. Hope for his sake it doesn't ruin his career

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    Nah, he’s pish

Quote Originally Posted by Is It On.... View Post
    Apparently he has a "big time" attitude problem. Hope for his sake it doesn't ruin his career
    Cant possibly be true or he’d sign the extension. They don’t come bigger than the famous.

First Team Breakthrough Badabing's Avatar
    Apart from talent, development fees etc I can’t stand the bawbag so no thanks.

No thanks. Never got the hype about him.

I wouldn’t even let him have a job at the new and improved kiosk facilities at Easter road. Over hyped, as usual with any young player at hearts.