Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Never thought I'd say this but i genuinely hope Hearts win their next couple of games convincingly so he solidifies his position there. He is an atrocious manager and I'd be gutted if he was punted.
    Didn't they spend £200k on a manager who had previously been driven out of the same club by their fans?

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

I wonder if he does get replaced he will be asked to hang around and show the new boy around, he may even be asked to oversee the medical department but he'd have to work the back shift 🤔

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    I wonder if he does get replaced he will be asked to hang around and show the new boy around, he may even be asked to oversee the medical department but he'd have to work the back shift 🤔
    PR department, shirley?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Kay-Yay View Post
    “There’s going to be bumps in the road. If you look at the teams that have come down, very few have come straight back up. It took Rangers two years to get up, Hibs were down for three and Dundee United were down for four years.”

Nice of him to try and paint a more glorious picture of the position Hearts are in this year by making it sound they are so much better than the teams above who took multiple years getting back into the SPL.

Comparing Apples and Pears in my opinion.
    Wouldn’t expect anything less of them tbh!

Always looking at the subliminal dig at their rivals.

You do know they will finish top 4 next season. Robbie said!

Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    Wouldn’t expect anything less of them tbh!

Always looking at the subliminal dig at their rivals.

You do know they will finish top 4 next season. Robbie said!

In fairness, he meant their Betfred Cup group

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    What did Budge say?

Chucked the players under a bus, backed Robbie Replay, took zero personal accountability.

It was a gem.

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    In fairness, he meant their Betfred Cup group
    Ah right. He could have been a bit clearer!

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    It also wasn’t made whilst he was at Hibs but it does seem to get attributed to his time here. I think it may have been after a game at Easter Road but he was Kilmarnock manager when he said it.
    Exactly, Andy. In fact he was misquoted but the leaving out of one key word changed the whole context. He actually said “If you want guaranteed entertainment you should go to the pictures.”
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    It also wasn’t made whilst he was at Hibs but it does seem to get attributed to his time here. I think it may have been after a game at Easter Road but he was Kilmarnock manager when he said it.
    I didn’t know that.

I missed a lot of Williamson’s time as I worked in retail at that time and worked Saturdays so most of it passed me by. I always assumed that quote was a genuine one from his time at Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Exactly, Andy. In fact he was misquoted but the leaving out of one key word changed the whole context. He actually said “If you want guaranteed entertainment you should go to the pictures.”
    ...an activity I often wished I had taken his advice on during his era at Hibs JB

In fairness to BW, he did give many of the young players their first chance. The 4-4 derby was made worse given I stayed at the time with an ex (a Jambo) who lived opposite Tynecastle and at 4-2, and when she said 'well done' I came out with the immortal words 'it's Hibs, there's always time to **** it up'

His time was up for me when we were soundly beaten by Dunfermline at ER and we made Craig (Brewster) and Crawford look like Toshack and Keegan and my mate Lee Bullen look like Cannevaro

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Notice how the cockwomble manages to mention Hibs again in his interview. Rent free in his caveman heid.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I didn’t know that.

I missed a lot of Williamson’s time as I worked in retail at that time and worked Saturdays so most of it passed me by. I always assumed that quote was a genuine one from his time at Hibs.
    He must have said it more than once, it was directed at Hibs fans.

I met him when in Europe watching a Scotland game once. He was with 6 or 7 other SPL managers in a bar at the time and said he wished the fans at ER could cheer his team on as much as the Scotland fans did.

We all boo’d him!

He should have been emptied for those words alone never mind after a defeat to Highland League butchers, bakers and candlestick makers. Hearts are in the lowest quality Championship in many a year, having started pre season months before the rest so they SHOULD be winning every game. Especially when they have players on 5/6k a week.

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    He must have said it more than once, it was directed at Hibs fans.

I met him when in Europe watching a Scotland game once. He was with 6 or 7 other SPL managers in a bar at the time and said he wished the fans at ER could cheer his team on as much as the Scotland fans did.

We all boo’d him!
    On my phone so not quite sure how to post a link but this is taken from the “Road Less Travelled” thread from 2017

Originally Posted by Jim44:
    ........... which was?
    The reporter was telling Bobby that the Hibs fans were unhappy with the style of football they were watching. An irked Bobby replied "If they want guaranteed entertainment, they should go to the pictures" The reporter removed "guaranteed" from the story and the rest, as they say, is history.

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    They've won the same amount of trophies as Man Utd in the last few seasons.
    Nae need

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Steve View Post
    On my phone so not quite sure how to post a link but this is taken from the “Road Less Travelled” thread from 2017

........... which was?
    The reporter was telling Bobby that the Hibs fans were unhappy with the style of football they were watching. An irked Bobby replied "If they want guaranteed entertainment, they should go to the pictures" The reporter removed "guaranteed" from the story and the rest, as they say, is history.
    Since when did going to the cinema guarantee entertainment?!

I’ve prob watched more crap films than I’ve seen crap Hibs games in my life!

We’re off topic, he was misquoted, and it’s still not as bad as Neilson’s comments, but I just don’t think this is true.

The quote comes from his time as Hibs manager.

Quote Originally Posted by worcesterhibby View Post
    To be honest that as measured and sensible a statement I have ever heard Budge come out with.

I doubt the Hearts players agree with you.

The old adage is keep the criticism behind closed doors and present a united front in public.

Not Budge though. Blaming others is second nature to her, it seems.

Since when did going to the cinema guarantee entertainment?!

I’ve prob watched more crap films than I’ve seen crap Hibs games in my life!
    Maybe so, but you could keep going to see Laurel and Hardy movies.

Or Terminator 1 & 2.

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Steve View Post

........... which was?
    That quote is not right Steve, he was definitely Kilmarnock manager when he said that and there is no way he would say it twice !! Especially as he was misquoted the first time !!

By pure coincidence, there’s an article in today’s Scotsman about it....

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/footb...n-2021-3178917

Maybe so, but you could keep going to see Laurel and Hardy movies.

Or Terminator 1 & 2.

Would love to see some L&H movies again.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    I don't know I have seen some poor films in my time

First Team Breakthrough Tommy75's Avatar
    Why would you go from supporting a massive, famous, trend setting club like Hearts to a wee team from Manchester?

Didn’t realise they were playing QOS at home tomorrow
    Will give Hibs a chance to scout on our next round opponents, for next weeks cup game

From the Herald in 2009...

“If it’s entertainment you want, go to the cinema.” What a kicking Bobby Williamson took when he came out with that one. Here was a manager -- then in charge of Hibernian -- openly divorcing football from the entertainment industry and himself from the obligation to provide supporters with stylish, memorable play. Williamson seemed to be saying “forget style, my livelihood’s at stake, Scottish football is about cold, hard pragmatism and youse lot can like it or lump it.”

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Budge is getting absolute pelters from the twats but as been pointed out by a few, if it hadn’t been for Queen Ann they would have been down the pan altogether.

What did he actually say as find that website unreadable?

From the Herald in 2009...

“If it’s entertainment you want, go to the cinema.” What a kicking Bobby Williamson took when he came out with that one. Here was a manager -- then in charge of Hibernian -- openly divorcing football from the entertainment industry and himself from the obligation to provide supporters with stylish, memorable play. Williamson seemed to be saying “forget style, my livelihood’s at stake, Scottish football is about cold, hard pragmatism and youse lot can like it or lump it.”
    Sorry WTC, but I`m not having that. He was definitely at Killie. No wonder people think he was Hibs manager when the papers also say it at times - but the papers say any old mince a lot of the time.

What did Budge say?
    "They're all laughing now, but just wait until we've finished that stand".