Tonight's "The Chase"

Question to the 3 contestants was " what football team from Edinburgh are known as "The Jam Tarts"?
    Answer "Pass"
    Not as famous as they think eh.

I don’t think the Scottish Championship gets much coverage down south.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Its a bit much really to expect middle England to know the nickname of an obscure minor Scottish football club.

Quote Originally Posted by Franck Stanton View Post
    Question to the 3 contestants was " what football team from Edinburgh are known as "The Jam Tarts"?
    Answer "Pass"
    The chaser shook their head too.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    The contestant said “No, I don’t think so, but I’ve heard of the Mental Hibees”

Should've asked if they knew who the Poppy thieves were.

Answer "Pass"
    That's not fair, on pointless last week one person out of a hundred knew who they were

Anne Hegerty must be a Hibby if she shook her head. She studied at Edinburgh Uni. The contestants have always got the Hibs questions right.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Anne Hegerty must be a Hibby if she shook her head. She studied at Edinburgh Uni. The contestants have always got the Hibs questions right.

Pretty sure there was a question ‘Who plays at Easter Road?’ a few weeks back that was answered correctly

Any Hearts questions normally met by a blank look and the word ‘Pass’

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Pretty sure there was a question ‘Who plays at Easter Road?’ a few weeks back that was answered correctly

There was also a question which Edinburgh football team won the Scottish Cup in 2016.The contestant answered correctly.
    I really need to get out more. 😁😁

An easier question would be..............

Complete the following sequence........ Alloa, Arbroath and ??????

Which is ironic.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Which is ironic.
    Don't think they would accept " Hoooffff... " as an answer. Would be accurate but not acceptable

Answer "Pass"
    Well it is a rather childish name.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    “Pass” was the wrong answer, “Hoof” is what they were looking for.

Which wee club in Edinburgh are known as the mini Huns?

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    That's not fair, on pointless last week one person out of a hundred knew who they were
    I saw that and thought neither famous nor useful for the purposes of the game. Sums them up.
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    mini Huns?
    You like this guy?

On the subject of The Chase I have to say that I never really watched this programme but since Lockdown it has been compulsive viewing and I have to say that Bradley Walsh has a good way with people and is excellent with the contestants and chasers

It also has decent prize money compared to Pointless

On the subject of The Chase I have to say that I never really watched this programme but since Lockdown it has been compulsive viewing and I have to say that Bradley Walsh has a good way with people and is excellent with the contestants and chasers

It also has decent prize money compared to Pointless
    This amount of money thing has had me thinking.

While the money might be decent I'd suggest you've less chance of winning anything.

Without putting pen to paper and being obsessive.

4 people share a prize likely to be around £10k on the Chase. The chances of winning is probably less than half. Its got the most difficult questions and you're competing against the best quiz players in the UK. I'd go for an average win between all contestants of a few hundred pounds.

4 couples compete for a prize likely to be around £2k on Pointless, being £2k in the game thats every other day it usually won. So in my estimation your more likely to win something. Questions are random. Probably the same average winnings.

However Tipping Point has the easiest questions, with 4 punters all things being equal you have as much chance of being in the final as Pointless. Finalists generally build up upto £3k with a decent chance of £10k and an extreme chance of £20k. Only rarely does the contestant walk with nothing - their own fault. Average win just under a grand.

Summary. The stupid quiz is the easiest one to pocket the best cash when the credits are rolling!
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post

While the money might be decent I'd suggest you've less chance of winning anything.

4 people share a prize likely to be around £10k on the Chase. The chances of winning is probably less than half. Its got the most difficult questions and you're competing against the best quiz players in the UK. I'd go for an average win between all contestants of a few hundred pounds.

4 couples compete for a prize likely to be around £2k on Pointless, being £2k in the game thats every other day it usually won. So in my estimation your more likely to win something. Questions are random. Probably the same average winnings.

However Tipping Point has the easiest questions, with 4 punters all things being equal you have as much chance of being in the final as Pointless. Finalists generally build up upto £3k with a decent chance of £10k and an extreme chance of £20k. Only rarely does the contestant walk with nothing - their own fault. Average win just under a grand.

Summary. The stupid quiz is the easiest one to pocket the best cash when the credits are rolling!
    Agree

Reminds me of the case of Darragh ‘The Menace’ Ennis who won 9k for his team and then answered 14 of the 23 correct questions in the successful chase against the Sinnerman resulting in each team member getting £1575 each Jackpot was £6300

The Menace is now a Chaser

I saw the Sinnerman in Stand Up at the Festival and he is one funny guy highly intelligent
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 05-03-2021 at 05:57 AM.

This is the kind of analysis I come on here for. Deserves to be a long read on the Athletic.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    Who wants to be a millionaire is probably the one I'd go for. Even a complete numpty would be able to walk away with a few grand (once passed the fastest round).

I reckon on average I'd get to 32k no problem.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    Who wants to be a millionaire is probably the one I'd go for. Even a complete numpty would be able to walk away with a few grand (once passed the fastest round).

I reckon on average I'd get to 32k no problem.
    Ah! Thats nighttime telly where the prizes are much bigger, and bigger still (on average) at the weekend.

Premier league of quiz shows - prime evening, particularly Saturday.
    Championship - weekday tea time
    Others - league 1

Antique and the like shows are the Sunday league for prizes but I'd still love a Golden Gavel 😆

The ‘Beat the Chasers’ one they occasionally do for a week during prime time is the real money show.