Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    Talking of punk did anyones see the valves. Saw them supporting the Skids way back when. I think they were an Edinburgh band??
    Almost every time I went to see a band in Edinburgh in 77' and 78' The Valves were the support band.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Ain’t no surf in Portobello !
    That has been jammed in my heid since 77'. Still appeals to my pop sensibilities.

Had a picture sleeved copy of their "For Adolfs Only" single which was predictably half inched at a party. Suppose that's what happens when you get in such a state you don't know if your going for a ***** or a haircut!

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    Almost every time I went to see a band in Edinburgh in 77' and 78' The Valves were the support band.
    Rest of the time it might’ve been The Monos or Twisted Nerve

Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    Talking of punk did anyones see the valves. Saw them supporting the Skids way back when. I think they were an Edinburgh band??
    They are indeed from Edinburgh

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar

Classic power punk pop Lancs. An all time favourite of mine.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cSMKc6KmC18
    There was an album released late last year with the singles, demos and some live stuff, called "better late...." iirc.

I'm of a slightly younger vintage so my favourite Edinburgh band would be the Threats

https://youtu.be/dehG2IKKHxE

Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk

Rest of the time it might’ve been The Monos or Twisted Nerve
    In my mind Twisted Nerve were doing their thang a few years after The Valves but I could be wrang.

I still have a Valves pin or badge as we Scots call them.
    Wonder what will happen to all my "stuff" when I croke.
    Last edited by CMurdoch; 27-06-2021 at 11:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    There was an album released late last year with the singles, demos and some live stuff, called "better late...." iirc.

I'm of a slightly younger vintage so my favourite Edinburgh band would be the Threats

https://youtu.be/dehG2IKKHxE

Aye to this. The Threats, both incarnations. A couple of the Valves and Gary McCormack of the Exploited also turned up in FUN CITY.
    They were great. If you can get your hands on the MINT SAUCE FOR THE MASSES compilation ep you’ll hear them. I’ve a few of their demos I could maybe (attempt to) MP3 for you if you PM me.

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    Aye to this. The Threats, both incarnations. A couple of the Valves and Gary McCormack of the Exploited also turned up in FUN CITY.
    They were great. If you can get your hands on the MINT SAUCE FOR THE MASSES compilation ep you’ll hear them. I’ve a few of their demos I could maybe (attempt to) MP3 for you if you PM me.
    Went for a bit of oi-ish day whilst working. Wee trip down memory lane.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Issue two goes on presale tonight.

On sale now

Hey Reagan Youth Degenerated guy. You have got mail....(if it’s worked).....

New one got delivered yesterday, going to have a proper look through it later.

Still has the amazing smell and also has a great feature from Fenners of Soccer AM game talking about his mental health struggle

It looks a great read. First glance at the punk and oi! articles seem to centre around a photographer. The Fenners feature also looks hugely interesting as does the Jam / Weller stuff.

Mine arrived yesterday, had a quick flick through looks good, will get more into it on tomorrows day of leisure. Paninaro, the Tour ending, Open final round, T20, and Silverstone. Wont be straying far from the couch tomorrow.

Meh, not really impressed with edition 002. Nowhere near as good as the first. To me, it's very quickly ventured away from the meaning of Paninaro. I'll remember Paninaro for what it REALLY was. Not Paul Weller, Louis Tomlinson etc. WTF?

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Read most of it over the last couple days. Not as good as the first but probably because the first had tonnes of Hibs content. Still really liked it. 003 should be more Scotland scene orientated as it’ll include Motherwell.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Paninaro (the real Paninaro) was all about very different music and cultures to what the magazine delivers. I thought it'd have some European flavour to it, at the very least least some Italian content.

They've stumbled off track imo. I'll wait to see what no 003 brings...

However, I do like the shop down Easter Road. Proper little shop punting, what was, gear worn by Paninaro.

Quote Originally Posted by EI255 View Post
    Meh, not really impressed with edition 002. Nowhere near as good as the first. To me, it's very quickly ventured away from the meaning of Paninaro. I'll remember Paninaro for what it REALLY was. Not Paul Weller, Louis Tomlinson etc. WTF?

Should they publish it in Italian you think?

Was a decent read although not as good as issue one even taking out the Hibs content from the first issue.Will be interesting where they take this.