Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Maggenis

Maggenis

He’s almost become the forgotten man. Does anyone think he’ll have any impact during the run in or would he be better writing this season off and be fit and ready for the start of next season? He’s had a really bad run of things so far with us, hopefully he’ll come good.

United we stand here....

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    He’s almost become the forgotten man. Does anyone think he’ll have any impact during the run in or would he be better writing this season off and be fit and ready for the start of next season? He’s had a really bad run of things so far with us, hopefully he’ll come good.
    I can’t see him offering anything of note this season.

He’s been a huge disappointment so far. Even when he’s been available he’s looked nothing to write home about.

Hopefully a good pre season and he can offer something next season as he really needs to bring more to the table - like you said, I’d actually forgot he even played for us recently.

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    I can’t see him offering anything of note this season.

He’s been a huge disappointment so far. Even when he’s been available he’s looked nothing to write home about.
    Aye, I wouldn’t say he’s done anything wrong, but he’s not stood out either. I think that’s probably down to fitness more than any lack of ability or desire.

United we stand here....

I hold out hope for the guy as a player. Clearly has something about him to be St Mirren captain so young and be chased by Hibs to be worth paying for.

But at this point in time I'd almost be happy to say to him the season is finished for him and we're going to focus on getting his body in a shape that won't break down every 2nd or 3rd week with a niggle connected to X or Y. If that requires a wee surgery or seeing a specialist etc then so be it. But whatever is happening at the moment is clearly not setting him up for a long spell in the side.

@hibs.net private member Dalianwanda's Avatar
    I think we are being patient with him after his injury & hope to see him coming into the team properly next year. Seen little flashes of what he can do but I dont think its fair to put any sort of judgment on him yet. Ive high hopes for him.

This season is definitely a write off for him.

Been a bit unlucky to pick up some niggles but there was always going to be a risk of that when you’re signing someone coming back from a cruciate injury. A proper pre season and, hopefully, he’s good to go next season.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Aye, I wouldn’t say he’s done anything wrong, but he’s not stood out either. I think that’s probably down to fitness more than any lack of ability or desire.
    Unfortunately there's no reserve league for him to get games, just the very odd behind doors games, he missed all of pre season and it's shown.

I think he'll be glad to see the back of this season, but I'd like to see him get a couple of games under his belt before the season's out. He's an excellent prospect, one that we were absolutely right to sign on a long contract. Get a full pre-season into him and I think we'll be impressed next season when he's up and running properly.

I'm yet to see any of these flashes of what he might be. I think back to players like McGeouch who broke down every 2nd game but is was clear as day what he brought to the team when he was in it, not seen that with Magennis yet unfortunately.

I'm holding out hope that next season we will see him shine but he probably doesn't have too long next season to prove himself before he starts too look like a duff signing to most Hibs fans I'd say.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Unfortunately there's no reserve league for him to get games, just the very odd behind doors games, he missed all of pre season and it's shown.
    That’s definitely a problem for him, it’s the same for Allan.

United we stand here....

Everytime i have seen him hes been out wide, i thought he had been signed as a centre mid.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Some players take a while to get going after injuries, definitely wouldn't write him off yet although he's shown nothing so far.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Some players take a while to get going after injuries, definitely wouldn't write him off yet although he's shown nothing so far.
    Just highlights the risk of signing injured players. His wage this season could have been put to better use as it turns out by signing another striker.

Quote Originally Posted by 1620 View Post
    Just highlights the risk of signing injured players. His wage this season could have been put to better use as it turns out by signing another striker.
    Think he'll come good. Very, very highly rated at St. Mirren. Saints pal always raving about him.

I’m not hugely optimistic about him tbh.

We’ve got quite a few of these players who are coming back from very serious injuries and illnesses. It’s hard because we don’t know what he was like pre-injury but I’ve not seen anything at all from him to suggest he’ll ever be more than a squad filler who gives you 10 minutes or so every third week.

Our recruitment has been very good of late and it’s probably being picky but I think you have to take issue with us signing Magennis, Wright and Murphy all in quick succession off the back of serious injuries and expecting them all to work out.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Poor signing.

We, as a club, cannae afford to spend money on a player who isn’t contributing. That money could, and probably should, have been spent elsewhere this season.

He’s clearly a talented young player, from how he’s performed before he came to Hibs, and he might well kick on, but I really don’t think we’ve got the kind of budget that can afford to take these risks.

Quote Originally Posted by Cat Stanton View Post
    Think he'll come good. Very, very highly rated at St. Mirren. Saints pal always raving about him.
    I hope he comes good next year but that won’t help us secure third place this season and perhaps another striker brought in with his wage would. I also agree with the comments above about Wright and Murphy. Taking a risk on one injured player is questionable but three is ludicrous.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I’m not hugely optimistic about him tbh.

We’ve got quite a few of these players who are coming back from very serious injuries and illnesses. It’s hard because we don’t know what he was like pre-injury but I’ve not seen anything at all from him to suggest he’ll ever be more than a squad filler who gives you 10 minutes or so every third week.

Our recruitment has been very good of late and it’s probably being picky but I think you have to take issue with us signing Magennis, Wright and Murphy all in quick succession off the back of serious injuries and expecting them all to work out.
    Likewise. I hope he comes good but I don’t hold out the same amount of hope that others have for him based on what we’ve seen for Hibs. We keep hearing about his injury but he’s been back for about 5 months now.

Has he? Missed the whole of November, missed a whole month January-February. Having made his debut four and a half months ago, he’s then missed a further two months. Coming back from a lengthy layoff takes a while to get up to speed, then missing out due to niggles likewise halts progress on the fitness front. He’s now missing due to
    Covid, again not something he or the club can control.

Folk saying his wages could’ve been better spent elsewhere, if he goes on to be a real success with us we won’t be complaining about a few lost grand in wages for his first season when the club would’ve known about this risk.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbysam View Post
    Has he? Missed the whole of November, missed a whole month January-February. Having made his debut four and a half months ago, he’s then missed a further two months. Coming back from a lengthy layoff takes a while to get up to speed, then missing out due to niggles likewise halts progress on the fitness front. He’s now missing due to

Folk saying his wages could’ve been better spent elsewhere, if he goes on to be a real success with us we won’t be complaining about a few lost grand in wages for his first season when the club would’ve known about this risk.
    Obviously if things turn out well people won’t be complaining.

Things aren’t going well for him...that’s the problem.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Obviously if things turn out well people won’t be complaining.

Things aren’t going well for him...that’s the problem.
    He signed with a very bad injury on a 4 year contract. He was never going to hit the ground running.

I’d be amazed if when we signed him, we were thinking that by March we’d still be waiting for him to contribute anything significant to the team.

I hope he gets back to being the player he was, and improves, but as things stand, his signings not been a success.

@hibs.net private member Johnny_Leith's Avatar

I'd agree with this, I'd have thought this was the outlook generally, but it was absolutely baffling he started in the semi v hearts. Missed a huge chance at 0-0 too.

I've hope he'll work out, I'd be surprised if he makes himself a fixture in the starting team by the end of the season. All about getting a good pre-season and building from there.

He’s played more minutes this year than Drey Wright who has 56 minutes to his name.

Murphy / Wright / Magennis really haven’t done enough between them this season.

All have had previous injuries but we need can’t turn into a rehab club for players to spend months getting ready to be fit.

I like Magennis and think he still has more to give. Murphy has shown he has talent but we need more. Wright - unless something drastically changes he should probably move on in summer.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I’d be amazed if when we signed him, we were thinking that by March we’d still be waiting for him to contribute anything significant to the team.

I hope he gets back to being the player he was, and improves, but as things stand, his signings not been a success.
    No, but he never had a pre season, had a very serious injury that muscle injuries are common after, and he’s now got Covid. I’d be mightily surprised if the club had huge hopes for him and a big reason why he was signed on a very long contract.

I have every sympathy for Magennis himself and hope to goodness he recovers quickly from Covid for his own sake and that of his family. Nothing would give me greater pleasure than to see him being our midfielder who would play forward passes to our front men and then run past them to take a return pass and score - something we sadly lack.
    However Hibs didn’t sign him on a four year contract thinking we will need to write off year one because of his recovery from injury and subsequent niggles and hope he plays well for the last three years! There is no doubt they hoped he would make a significant contribution to at least the second half of this season (why would they play him when they have had the chance if this is not the case).
    My original comment was that his signing was risky and unfortunately hasn’t paid off for this season and perhaps his wage could have been spent strengthening another area of the team in order to help the team achieve third place this season and I stand by that.

Quote Originally Posted by 1620 View Post
    I have every sympathy for Magennis himself and hope to goodness he recovers quickly from Covid for his own sake and that of his family. Nothing would give me greater pleasure than to see him being our midfielder who would play forward passes to our front men and then run past them to take a return pass and score - something we sadly lack.
    However Hibs didn’t sign him on a four year contract thinking we will need to write off year one because of his recovery from injury and subsequent niggles and hope he plays well for the last three years! There is no doubt they hoped he would make a significant contribution to at least the second half of this season (why would they play him when they have had the chance if this is not the case).
    My original comment was that his signing was risky and unfortunately hasn’t paid off for this season and perhaps his wage could have been spent strengthening another area of the team in order to help the team achieve third place this season and I stand by that.
    Of course they’d have hoped he’d play, but they’d have known the risk after his injury and lack of pre season plus the fact there is no reserve games to get up to speed in. Every signing is a risk but we are clear in third place with him signed.

He’s been back 4 and a half months. He made his first appearance on 17/10/20. It’s now 4 and a half months on and he’s still contributed next to nothing over 14 games - not an insignificant amount of opportunities.

He’s been a disappointing signing so far that hasn’t worked out. Hopefully he’ll come good in future but there’s been little so far to suggest he will.
    Last edited by calumhibee1; 28-02-2021 at 07:28 PM.

He’s been back 4 and a half months. He made his first appearance on 17/10/20. It’s now 4 and a half months on and he’s still contributed next to nothing over 14 games - not an insignificant amount of opportunities
    But then missed another two months in amongst that (two single full months). He’s never been fully match fit due to the injuries and lack of opportunity in amongst that.

He has played >45 minutes on 3 occasions and never played 90 once. Hardly a big opportunity.

Have I been majorly impressed by him? No.

But he’s had a horrible time of it and his confidence has completely gone since he joined so I’m not close to writing him off as he needs a run in the team, even a run of sub appearances where nothing happens to find his feet.

When he first came in is when he looked his most impressive, just back from the injury but he looked sharp to get shots away with a drop of the shoulder and try get into the box.

He then got injured, then injured again and now Covid. I’ve been back from a knee injury before and you wouldn’t believe the niggles you’d get and how hard it is to be confident when that keeps happening.

Getting used to the speed of games especially on the pitches at this time of year is another thing to consider.

I just hope he gets fit before the end of the season and finishes it on a high.

Hopefully we can finish 3rd, get European football and he’s raring to go for next season.

He’s very highly rated by a lot of people, he’ll come good.