Terry Christie (SHC)

Like many I have been listening to a load of podcasts.

This Nutmeg interview with TerryChristie who I guess is known to many on here has a lot of Hibs content, particularly at the very end where he tells the story of being offered theHibs manager job three times

https://open.spotify.com/episode/1U0...RaumyE032VktWg

The interview with Andy Ritchie in the same series is incredible. (Next to NHC.)

My old chemistry teacher, good guy, will definitely give it a listen

My old Headmaster, good guy and let those of us who played in the school football team away with murder 😂 glad to hear he’s still kicking about

Quote Originally Posted by Keyser Sauzee View Post
    My old Headmaster, good guy and let those of us who played in the school football team away with murder 😂 glad to hear he’s still kicking about
    Mine also...

Is he still knocking off sweet Marie?

Quote Originally Posted by King Arthur View Post
    Is he still knocking off sweet Marie?
    That was his brother Tony, he got into some serious trouble for it

The Dufflecoat Master.

Not sure Hibs fans would have accepted him as manager. No offence to the geezer, but I certainly wouldn't have at the time.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Brightside View Post
    Mine also...
    My memory is hazy, cant mind if he was my head or deputy head.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Was Deputy Head at Porty. Very first assembly at the High School he gave me a gentle punch in the stomach for acting up as 400 first years waited outside the school to be told how to get in. I'm not sure he ever spoke to me in my time there.
    First game I ever attended was Bo'ness vs East Stirling in a pre season friendly. TC was in the ES team.
    Xmas dance my mate Malcolm git very drunk and was driven home by TC. Malcolm threw up in his car...

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Was Deputy Head at Porty. Very first assembly at the High School he gave me a gentle punch in the stomach for acting up as 400 first years waited outside the school to be told how to get in. I'm not sure he ever spoke to me in my time there.
    First game I ever attended was Bo'ness vs East Stirling in a pre season friendly. TC was in the ES team.
    Xmas dance my mate Malcolm git very drunk and was driven home by TC. Malcolm threw up in his car...

Ah, thats it. Deputy. I was at porty, Jim Telfer was my chemistry teacher.
    I mind TC taking a pen against Paddy Main im sure in goals at PE.
    Paddy saved it and TC demanded a retake

Was he not a teacher at Craigmount too?

There were some posts a while back about the Holy X team that featured Jimmy O, Pat Stanton, Davie Hogg etc. Terry was in or around that team also. IIRC he went to Dundee originally.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by kaimendhibs View Post
    Ah, thats it. Deputy. I was at porty, Jim Telfer was my chemistry teacher.
    I mind TC taking a pen against Paddy Main im sure in goals at PE.
    Paddy saved it and TC demanded a retake

Jim Telfer... I remember two of us jumping on the lift without a janny trying to get to the 8th floor. Jim got on at the first and put the fear of God into us about repeating the offense. We both knew he could have given us the belt so the 7 flight walk was a doddle...

He was my headmaster at Musselburgh grammar late eighties/ early nineties

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Was he not a teacher at Craigmount too?
    Done a bit of singing too.

Jim Telfer... I remember two of us jumping on the lift without a janny trying to get to the 8th floor. Jim got on at the first and put the fear of God into us about repeating the offense. We both knew he could have given us the belt so the 7 flight walk was a doddle...

He was a scary but nice guy ha

His book is worth the head teacher of football is worth a read.

Quote Originally Posted by kaimendhibs View Post
    My memory is hazy, cant mind if he was my head or deputy head.

I’m sure he was head at some point at Musselburgh. There was a woman and I’m sure he took her place.

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar

After failing miserably all my higher prelims in 5th year at Porty he called me and my folks into see him.

His opening gambit in front of my mum and dad was are you going to be an arse all your life son?

It went downhill from there!

To be fair to him he was right at the time, after O grades I had been more interested in drinking and arsing around, thanks to him and that approach I got all my highers

I had no difficulty believing he could motivate Scotland & the lions after the shellacking I got!

@hibs.net private member Dalianwanda's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Brightside View Post
    I’m sure he was head at some point at Musselburgh. There was a woman and I’m sure he took her place.
    Yeah, Mrs MacKintosh....Think he took over when we were in 4th Year...

I do remember (I think we were in 5th year) playing pupils v teachers at fitba..He took no prisoners in defence, very competitive..I still mind him going absolutely radge at me for a deliberate late tackle I did on their goalie (Mr Brown - PE)
    Last edited by Dalianwanda; 17-02-2021 at 08:10 PM.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    i met Terry Christie through a family friend at a party way back. Not sure how he was in the frame three times at Hibs but I know from speaking to him he is a good Hibby with a real love for our idols like the rest of us. He could probably have spoken about Darren Jackson all night if I hadn't asked him about Pat Stanton! Lovely fellah.

Quote Originally Posted by Dalianwanda View Post
    Yeah, Mrs MacKintosh....Think he took over when we were in 4th Year...

I do remember (I think we were in 5th year) playing pupils v teachers at fitba..He took no prisoners in defence, very competitive..I still mind him going absolutely radge at me for a deliberate late tackle I did on their goalie (Mr Brown - PE)
    That’s spot on.

Quote Originally Posted by EI255 View Post
    Not sure Hibs fans would have accepted him as manager. No offence to the geezer, but I certainly wouldn't have at the time.

Not certain of the dates but I reckon we might have had the likes of Jocky Scott, Donald Park and Jim Duffy being responsible for picking the team in the acceptable role during some of that time.
    Worked out well.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Not certain of the dates but I reckon we might have had the likes of Jocky Scott, Donald Park and Jim Duffy being responsible for picking the team in the acceptable role during some of that time.
    Worked out well.
    I suppose we wouldn't have needed a helicopter to fly the teacher in

He'd have flown it himself.

He could hardly have made us much worse during that era if we're talking the early to mid-80s. I remember him bringing Meadowbank to ER for a League Cup tie circa 83/84 and beating us with relative comfort. Humiliating stuff. We got knocked out the Scottish Cup by East Fife around the same time, though we at least managed to take them to a replay!

Christie did an extraordinary job at Meadowbank. IIRC he had them close to promotion to the top flight long before they became Livingston. Also recall him managing Stenhousemuir to a cup win over Aberdeen. IMHO he'd have been a decent appointment for Hibs. I haven't listened to the interview but I'm guessing he didn't want a full-time job in football management if he turned us down three times?

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    He could hardly have made us much worse during that era if we're talking the early to mid-80s. I remember him bringing Meadowbank to ER for a League Cup tie circa 83/84 and beating us with relative comfort. Humiliating stuff. We got knocked out the Scottish Cup by East Fife around the same time, though we at least managed to take them to a replay!

Christie did an extraordinary job at Meadowbank. IIRC he had them close to promotion to the top flight long before they became Livingston. Also recall him managing Stenhousemuir to a cup win over Aberdeen. IMHO he'd have been a decent appointment for Hibs. I haven't listened to the interview but I'm guessing he didn't want a full-time job in football management if he turned us down three times?
    I'd be surprised if it was early 80s and if he had been the man in straight after Turnbull, Auld or even Blackley then it would probably have been met with uproar. Think it's maybe romance that suggests he turned us down three different times.

Hibs knocked Stenny out after that Aberdeen game and our manager then was pretty much in with the bricks.

Its a bit of a licence to say Terry Christie turned Hibs down 3 times but he was very much in running and down to the last two at least twice.

The first time would have been after Blackley was sacked but Hibs went for Alex Miller instead and the second time would have been when Miller left 10 years later and Hibs went for Jim Duffy instead.

The person who would have stopped him getting the job would have been Dougie Crombe, the chairman, not for any personal reason but he just thought the others were better candidates.

Hindsight is a great thing but even Tony Christie couldn't have done any worse than Jim Duffy.
    Last edited by The Baldmans Comb; 18-02-2021 at 05:56 AM.

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    He was my Deputy Head at Trinity Academy at one point.