Who Wants to be a Millionaire

Retired taxi driver from Musselburgh did brilliantly last night to pocket a cool £125,000. Would have got the £250,000 question right too had he risked it.
    Sported an emerald green jumper. Ok, not everyone who wears emerald green is a Hibbie, but I wondered if he is. Anyone on here know him?
    EDIT: I stand corrected on his bail out question which he would have got wrong, like most of us.
    Last edited by Greenbeard; 22-02-2021 at 09:38 AM.

I know him well, Ray Mann ex Central driver, retired about 5 years ago

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    Retired taxi driver from Musselburgh did brilliantly last night to pocket a cool £125,000. Would have got the £250,000 question right too had he risked it.
    Sported an emerald green jumper. Ok, not everyone who wears emerald green is a Hibbie, but I wondered if he is. Anyone on here know him?
    He would have got the 250k wrong no?

The answer was Austria and he would have said Poland?

He was great though

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    But is he a Hibee

Done really well was a good watch though in saying that getting a question on someone he had in his cab is a little fortuitous

PSN ID: hibeeg
    He definitely would have got the £250k question wrong so made the right decision to pass on that one.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Spill the beans then 😉Hibby or not 🤷🏻*♂️
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Yes he's a big Hibby 😁

So what was the question for £250k?

Who Wants to be a Millionaire

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    So what was the question for £250k?
    Which country shares the longest land border with Germany?

He would have said Poland but the answer was Austria.

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    He would have got the 250k wrong no?

The answer was Austria and he would have said Poland?

He was great though
    Ah yes. It was the boy before him who would have got his last question right.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee View Post

Austria longest, then The Netherlands! The two he thought it was between, as would most - France and Poland - are shorter. Very tricky question.

I wish I'd been his phone a friend. I could have told him that

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    I wish I'd been his phone a friend. I could have told him that

He’d used the lifelines by then but his reaction to his sister knowing the answer to an earlier question when he called her was fantastic, he was convinced she wouldn’t have a clue but she knew it right away.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    He’d used the lifelines by then but his reaction to his sister knowing the answer to an earlier question when he called her was fantastic, he was convinced she wouldn’t have a clue but she knew it right away.
    I really felt for him when he made an erse of reading out the question to his other phone a friend. Just obviously lost it for a bit and couldn’t get his composure again.

Must be so easy done in that environment, surprised you don’t see it more.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I really felt for him when he made an erse of reading out the question to his other phone a friend. Just obviously lost it for a bit and couldn’t get his composure again.

Most of us would be a nervous wreck.

I can confirm he is a lifelong Hibby. Been going to ER since 1962 and took me to my first game when I was 4 years old.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post

I'm surprised it doesn't happen more often as well but I think that's the first time I remember seeing someone not read out the full question to their phone a friend.

The guy was great.

@hibs.net private member Monktonhall 7's Avatar
    He’s been a member at the same golf club as me for a good while. Always let on to him and when the bar was open have had a blether with him now and again. Never until this morning did I know his name!

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar

There's a border between Germany and Austria?

Wonder if he always wanted big screens in the corners at Easter Road...

@hibs.net private member HiBremian's Avatar
    Reckon I'd have answered Czech Republic. But maybe that wisnae an option?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    There's a border between Germany and Austria?

Aye, both sides want to keep the Neo Nazis out

Quote Originally Posted by HiBremian View Post
    Reckon I'd have answered Czech Republic. But maybe that wisnae an option?
    It was not one of the options but look at a map and you'll see how hard a question it was. Lots of the borders look a similar length. And there are as many as nine countries with German borders! Taught me how bad my own geography knowledge is. Clockwise from the north - Denmark, Poland, Czech Republic, Austria, Switzerland, France, Luxembourg, Belgium, Netherlands.
    But at least we've got them surrounded.

Quote Originally Posted by Lee Marvin View Post
    I can confirm he is a lifelong Hibby. Been going to ER since 1962 and took me to my first game when I was 4 years old.
    Aye, but how much are you getting, K 😉

He came over and had a word in the afternoon to tell us he was on. Adam and his pal cheering when they seen him. He looked a bit upset when he missed the fastest finger the first time round.

No doubt the garden lawn will be getting an upgrade. 😂
    Last edited by ronaldo7; 22-02-2021 at 05:39 PM.

@hibs.net private member HiBremian's Avatar
    It was not one of the options but look at a map and you'll see how hard a question it was. Lots of the borders look a similar length. And there are as many as nine countries with German borders! Taught me how bad my own geography knowledge is. Clockwise from the north - Denmark, Poland, Czech Republic, Austria, Switzerland, France, Luxembourg, Belgium, Netherlands.
    But at least we've got them surrounded.
    Careful now, you're talking to a (thanx Brexit) German national here

Quote Originally Posted by Lee Marvin View Post
    Sue him. There’s a lot of emotional trauma in there.

EDIT: I stand corrected on his bail out question which he would have got wrong, like most of us.
    My little boys teacher was on before him and he won £1£5k as well. No need to worry about his orange jumper as he is s Wrexham fan 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Monktonhall 7 View Post
    He’s been a member at the same golf club as me for a good while. Always let on to him and when the bar was open have had a blether with him now and again. Never until this morning did I know his name!
    I got several messages from friends saying we all worked together with Raymond more than 40 years ago! I'm sure he'll remember me!! 😁

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar

I'm sorry.

Mash from the leith bus posted a photo of him with ray earlier.

United we stand here....