Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast

Thread: Taking the knee

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post
    Just devalues doing it fir one game when everyone now knows they don’t agree with it and won’t be doing it for other games
    Has there been an official reason given for the change for this one game ?

To demonstrate solidarity with England and their decision to take the knee.

It’s the correct decision, IMHO. Happy enough if we “take a stand” in the other games but i think the fact that morons will boo the English players taking the knee, the opportunity to show solidarity and metaphorically stand beside them in solidarity is there.

It’s a great decision, and the Scotland team deserve immense credit for their reading of the situation and the bravery to change their position for these specific circumstances.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post

It’s the correct decision, IMHO. Happy enough if we “take a stand” in the other games but i think the fact that morons will boo the English players taking the knee, the opportunity to show solidarity and metaphorically stand beside them in solidarity is there.

It’s a great decision, and the Scotland team deserve immense credit for their reading of the situation and the bravery to change their position for these specific circumstances.
    It saddens me that so many will boo taking the knee but that seems to be the undercurrent in England (and Eastern Europe) for a sizable minority. As an Englishman I'm proud that Scotlands team will kneel alongside our own players in a sign of solidarity.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    So footballers are saying that by standing they are also taking a stand against racism.

Will one gesture end racism more quickly than another one?

We are well into poppy style tick boxing territory here. What actions everyone is taking is important not squabbling about what type of gesture should be imposed.

Player dares to refuse to wear a poppy? Right wing media tear them apart and ***** send them vile abuse on social media.

Player dares to take the knee? Right wing media tear them apart and ***** send them vile abuse on social media.

I guess there is a similarity there after all.

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post
    Just devalues doing it fir one game when everyone now knows they don’t agree with it and won’t be doing it for other games
    Has there been an official reason given for the change for this one game ?

There’s a statement from Clarke and Robertson.

ensure the racists have nothing to cling onto - leave them with the spurious nonsense about the politics of BLM.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    ensure the racists have nothing to cling onto - leave them with the spurious nonsense about the politics of BLM.
    We all want solidarity and a level playing field. I don't know anything much about the BLM and their politics? What are their politics?

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Why would anyone boo players protesting against racism?

Don't bother answering, I think I know the answer.

Quote Originally Posted by northstandhibby View Post
    We all want solidarity and a level playing field. I don't know anything much about the BLM and their politics? What are their politics?
    Lots of people clearly DON’T want either of those things.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Lots of people clearly DON’T want either of those things.
    Aye, fair do's. Cheers, God Bless and all who sails in the good ship Hibernian.
    Last edited by northstandhibby; 11-06-2021 at 10:17 PM.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar

https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/...lly-stands-for

Here is one summary of BLM’s politics. Don’t know how accurate it is, I’m sure there are other opinions out there.

@hibs.net private member AgentDaleCooper's Avatar
    BLM isn't a monolithic entity with specific politics other than standing up to racism. There are people from all parts of the political spectrum involved, though generally it's from the centre to the left.

I agree with standing up to racism in football, because football is a domain in which racism often manifests itself. Personally, i think BLM sometimes provides cover for otherwise reactionary elements in society to appear progressive, but i think opposition to it has also revealed that racism and ignorance is still a problem and that these gestures still have a role to play in provoking debate and conversation.

Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post

Here is one summary of BLM’s politics. Don’t know how accurate it is, I’m sure there are other opinions out there.
    BLM isn’t a single entity. That article is a pile of pish frankly.

Certainly don't represent my frontline politics.

They sound as if they're against any kind of real Workers Solidarity.

Frightening stuff.

We All Matter.

The spectator is a right wing outlet, so i would take their interpretation with a pinch of salt and wouldn't expect them to explain BLM's position properly.

How about we make it that taking the knee before games is just a way of highlighting that racism is unacceptable? If there is baggage associated with BLM, and to be honest I don't know enough about that, why don't we just move it on from that? Make it a constant reminder that we need to sort things out.

The thing is, taking the knee or standing against racism has opened up the debate again.
    Keeping the dialogue/debate open keeps the message at the forefront of a lot of people’s minds.
    Probably more so than going with the flow where it may become part of the game, like pre match handshakes, as opposed to a message being sent.

Certainly don't represent my frontline politics.

They sound as if they're against any kind of real Workers Solidarity.

Frightening stuff.

We All Matter.

That's exactly what the spectator wants you to think. Devide and conquer.

Quote Originally Posted by AgentDaleCooper View Post
    That's exactly what the spectator wants you to think. Devide and conquer.
    The exact opposite. I've never read the Spectator. Please get real. Mon the Hibs.

Did you not read the article that you based your previous post on?

I’ve never read The Spectator either. Or Hibs net.

I’ve not read your post.

That's exactly what the spectator wants you to think.

Quote Originally Posted by AgentDaleCooper View Post
    That's exactly what the spectator wants you to think.
    Well more fool them, i don’t ever think.

Quote Originally Posted by 660 View Post
    Why did they change from kneeling to standing anyway? Daft
    Probably the same reason Hibs changed

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    Probably the same reason Hibs changed
    Which is?

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Which is?
    It was immediately after the Kamara incident, after taking the knee had been a thing for months.

On the decision to now stand, Club captain David Gray added: “We’ve seen lots of Scottish teams come together on this issue in the past few days, and we think that by our clubs demonstrating our unity we can send a message to Uefa, the justice system and others that they need to take strong action against those who perpetuate hatred.

"No-one, including footballers, should have to endure this kind of abuse. Enough is enough.”

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Yeah, it's a clever decision. Well done to whoever in the Scotland camp thought that out.

Interestingly re the gesture itself, the booers keep it relevant.
    Without booing and opposition it is done as an anti racism vehicle.

Wish folk could just look for the good and positive.
    Football has a high profile in most of our lives and the knee, stand etc is simply using it to highlight and educate that racism exists and is unacceptable.
    Similarly the poppy is an annual reminder that millions of people like you and me lost their lives in wars and that we must all ensure it never happens again. Like racism it means ensuring we are always aware of and disrupt those on the far right.

If adults struggle with moral issues they should consult a child. The kid will tell them racism is wrong, the kid will them war is wrong etc etc etc.
    All the various online publications like The Spectator do is intellectualise, emotionalise, distort and scare to manipulate us on what should be simple issues.
    Last edited by CMurdoch; 12-06-2021 at 12:16 PM.

@hibs.net private member Green_one's Avatar

Yeah I agree. I think moving away from knelling was a sensible decision but altering it to support their team mates on the other side was amazing. Shows too that it’s not a war out there, it’s a game of football and supporting their pals is still the key to them. Important message there.

Can we just play football now please.

It was immediately after the Kamara incident, after taking the knee had been a thing for months.

On the decision to now stand, Club captain David Gray added: “We’ve seen lots of Scottish teams come together on this issue in the past few days, and we think that by our clubs demonstrating our unity we can send a message to Uefa, the justice system and others that they need to take strong action against those who perpetuate hatred.

"No-one, including footballers, should have to endure this kind of abuse. Enough is enough.”
    I’m totally behind that as well, and the reason for doing it.

Whether it’s taking a stand or taking a knee, it’s keeping it on the agenda. It’ll not be long before people are booing taking a stand for some spurious reason that’s definitely not a smokescreen for their racism.

I’m totally behind that as well, and the reason for doing it.

Whether it’s taking a stand or taking a knee, it’s keeping it on the agenda. It’ll not be long before people are booing taking a stand for some spurious reason that’s definitely not a smokescreen for their racism.
    Get on with the Fitba !