Thread: Leigh

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar

Leigh

Just been thrown under the bus again. We should move heaven and earth to bring him in, even on loan. He’s wasted there and still has lots to offer.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Just been thrown under the bus again. We should move heaven and earth to bring him in, even on loan. He’s wasted there and still has lots to offer.
    What was said?

United we stand here....

By Lennon? What did he say?

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    What was said?
    He was a player picked out by Lennon for not contributing and when asked if he’d been let down NL agreed with the interviewer.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    By Lennon? What did he say?
    Heavily paraphrasing, but he (Leigh) has personal reasons as to why he might not be performing to the best of his abilities.

He was a player picked out by Lennon for not contributing and when asked if he’d let the manager down NL agreed with the interviewer.
    Why would Hibs want a player who’s downed tools on quite a few occasions

@hibs.net private member Mikey_1875's Avatar
    Think Griff will be confident enough he will outlast Lennon at the club.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    I couldn’t see that issue arising here.

He also has the best minutes per goal ratio for Celtic in the league this season .
    Last edited by Northernhibee; 30-01-2021 at 04:41 PM.

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    Imagine McGregor Irvine and leigh what a spine

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Lennon did similar pre-match, talking about his fitness levels.

Quote Originally Posted by Frazerbob View Post
    And yet he picks him. It’s like someone’s cat has walked over a laptop keyboard whilst Football Manager is on.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Yet he still started him today

Is it not up to Lennon to make sure he's fit? Why play him if he isn't?

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Has he?

Would be great box office for Hibs I think when STs are looking like a challenge. I’d add a fiver on my monthly HSL as well.

Unless Griffifths scored two own goals I would think there are other players more to blame for Celtic's defeat today. Celtic have been a disaster this season.

Lennon used him as a scapegoat because the interviewer was questioning his dud signings. Instead of answering the question regarding signings he picked out leigh and used him as an example of a player who is letting him down. Take him back in a heartbeat

Time for the wee man to come home to where he'll feel wanted.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    Yet he still started him today
    Did he have a choice though ? His other Strikers havent exactly been banging them in, is the West Ham Striker permanent or is he on loan with an option to buy ?

We just cant afford him. He would need to take a massive paycut to get anywhere near Easter Road

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Did he have a choice though ? His other Strikers havent exactly been banging them in, is the West Ham Striker permanent or is he on loan with an option to buy ?
    Precisely, the strikers he’s spent good money on have been pish but rather than blame them and in turn his recruitment, it’s Leigh who gets it. It’s pathetic.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Has he?

Would be great box office for Hibs I think when STs are looking like a challenge. I’d add a fiver on my monthly HSL as well.
    Iggy, I think Leigh has said himself he’s let Celtic/Lennon down this season

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.g...e-19600078.amp

I didn’t think he particularly slaughtered him. Was the interviewer that asked about taking him off and he said he hadn’t contributed enough. Nothing earth shattering I didn’t think .

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Iggy, I think Leigh has said himself he’s let Celtic/Lennon down this season

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.g...e-19600078.amp
    Downing tools though? Something different to my mind.

It's like the end of Lennon's time with is all over again.

Has a pop at a player before the game, plays him then singles him out again after the game. It will be somebody else who gets it next week.

I wouldn't normally care about Celtic but having LG fit, focused and happy would be huge for Scotland this summer. Sooner he's out of that environment the better. I suspect the 'environment' may be removed before he is though.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    I didn’t think he particularly slaughtered him. Was the interviewer that asked about taking him off and he said he hadn’t contributed enough. Nothing earth shattering I didn’t think .
    The interviewer did ask about taking him off, but I heard the he hadn’t contributed enough in the context of the season, not just today. Of course, it may be accurate 'irregardless' of the time context.

n.b. I do not claim rights to Irregardless. New Hibs.net word from today's match thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Downing tools though? Something different to my mind.
    The Griffiths of 3/4 years ago, I’d take in a heartbeat
    Something not right with him, would love to see him get it back though

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Lennon is a particular unlucky manager with all these disruptive players to manage. First Kamberi, and now Griffiths....

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    The question was around his recruitment and why he never put any of his huge money strikers on in his place, lennon to save his own face then turns it into a criticism of Griffiths when there was no need. Same before the game bringing up what’s happened previously and saying he hasn’t looked after himself enough when all he was asked was how happy he was to have him back regularly and scoring goals.

The Griffiths of 3/4 years ago, I’d take in a heartbeat
    Something not right with him, would love to see him get it back though
    Still a goal scorer though. Might have his failings personally but not seen him stop trying when on the park, unlike his big money partners.

Quote Originally Posted by SanFranHibs View Post
    The interviewer did ask about taking him off, but I heard the he hadn’t contributed enough in the context of the season, not just today. Of course, it may be accurate 'irregardless' of the time context.

n.b. I do not claim rights to Irregardless. New Hibs.net word from today's match thread.
    Aye I think it was in regards to the season, but I think it was just on the back of the interviewer referencing Griffiths and questioning the new signings. He then just said it wasn’t just the new signings hadn’t done enough and mentioned Griffiths as he’d formed part of the question. I didn’t think it was really that bad to be fair. Or in accurate. But amusing that they’re pish, nonetheless.