Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by basehibby View Post
    That's not how I remember it - I remember being in Broomloan stand 100% packed to the rafters with Hibees. If there were any huns in that stand then I cannot remember even noticing them - and they almost certainly would not have been there at the end lols.

The Broomloan Stand is split into ten sections, five upper - five lower, and for some strange reason, Rangers were allocated two of the lower sections, nearest the Main Stand.

There weren't many of them in there and they disappeared long before the end.

I was in the lower section nearest to their area and some of their 'fans' spent the whole game giving the Hibs support evil looks and trying to look hard.

Quote Originally Posted by seanshow View Post
    Not old enough to go back to the b&w days or even the George Best games,
    but late 80s away to Clydebank I remember we took a fair rabble through to that game, a cup tie and got beat 1nil. :(
    They had the all seater stadium (well benches you could stand on) lol
    Remember that one well unfortunately. Walking back to the bus afterwards to hear a boy telling us hertz had just scored a late winner to knock Celtic out as well. The week before we put 5 past the Bankies in the league.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Well done to Since452 on starting this thread, all sorts of memories here.

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    The Masters at Manchester Gmex 😂. Ok wasn't the biggest away crowd but the organisers probably only expected about 200 Hibs fans.
    That was a brilliant day out. We had our own end 😂

Quote Originally Posted by seanshow View Post
    Not old enough to go back to the b&w days or even the George Best games,
    but late 80s away to Clydebank I remember we took a fair rabble through to that game, a cup tie and got beat 1nil. :(
    They had the all seater stadium (well benches you could stand on) lol
    I was on the Hawkhill bus for that game, pretty sure a scaffolding pole got put through one of the bus windows that day.

Quote Originally Posted by Bearders View Post
    Videoton - we took more than Man Utd who were there the previous season.
    Fantastic trip, I remember the fence bending towards us with the fans climbing on it after one of our goals

Quote Originally Posted by Earlydelivery View Post
    Biggest travelling support I’ve ever seen in my 59 years supporting Hibs was Dundee away Scottish cup replay 73/74 ... 34k at the game Dundee’s 6th largest crowd ... went up with the excursion buses from St Andrews Sq must have been at least 15000 Hibs fans with thousands locked out .
    I would agree, there were allegedly 5k Hibernian fans locked outside

Any game at tincastle from 1965 to 1975 would have around half the crowd (35,000 to 40,000) Hibs supporters, and that plucky wee team that played at Airdrie the ground wi the house in the corner would usually see a very large Hibs support going through to do battle on and off the pitch, good days now long gone and perhaps for the better when I look back, some ugly things happened at the fitba back then.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Remember a League Cup Quarter Final at Brockville early 1970s

It was so busy as a school boy I had to sit on the track round the pitch

HIBS were expected to win we lost 0-2
    Yes Billy and could only win the second game at E.R. 1-0 (Think Johnny Graham got the goal) another game we were meant to win but did not, we had a very good team as well. Although game may have been late 1960's old grey matter is not what it used to be with the facts and figures.
    Last edited by A Hi-Bee; 10-01-2021 at 02:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    Any game at tincastle from 1965 to 1975 would have around half the crowd (35,000 to 40,000) Hibs supporters, and that plucky wee team that played at Airdrie the ground wi the house in the corner would usually see a very large Hibs support going through to do battle on and off the pitch, good days now long gone and perhaps for the better when I look back, some ugly things happened at the fitba back then.
    One of our visits to Broomfield in the early 90s there was actually a flute band came into the ground and they were at the forefront of the post-match afters too. Interesting times 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Earlydelivery View Post
    Biggest travelling support I’ve ever seen in my 59 years supporting Hibs was Dundee away Scottish cup replay 73/74 ... 34k at the game Dundee’s 6th largest crowd ... went up with the excursion buses from St Andrews Sq must have been at least 15000 Hibs fans with thousands locked out .
    Think that may have been the game when we took a taxi to Dundee from Leith, we got in the taxi going to St Andrew Sq to get the bus, talking to the driver as you do, turns out he is a Hibee and says **** it, turns the meter off and we agreed a price to cover the petrol and off we went, felt like royalty driving around Dundee in an Edinburgh black cab to get to a pub before the game.
    Big crowd as said although we got in, dont remember the score.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    And against so called lesser opposition. Midweek away replays are not our favourite exceptICT away of course.
    c Inverness Replay cup game 2016 just after getting beat in final from Ross County
    Great away support and atmosphere.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Picture here gives an idea of the Hibs support at Dunfermilne.
    From memory as a young lad......Opening game of the season, finished 3-3. Dunfermline had risen through the league in consecutive years. Sure the crowd was circa 18,000 that day. How the mighty (Pars) have fallen.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I was on the Hawkhill bus for that game, pretty sure a scaffolding pole got put through one of the bus windows that day.
    Me too but I’m not recalling that! Could’ve been too many bevvies in The Atlantis.

As mentioned earlier, we used to take a great support to Parkhead. Half the terrace behind the goal, 7k capacity IIRC. Regularly at least half full and sometimes packed. Compare that to the horrible wee section we get these days and often don’t sell out.

Won’t be one of the biggest but another that comes to mind is at Dundee Utd around Christmas time. Under Mowbray I think, Sam Morrow scored, we sold the full stand along the side (both parts of it, as it’s split) plus their shed behind the goals. I want to say we won 4-0/4-1 - 2006 perhaps?

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Would that have been Murdo Mcleod’s debut? Do remember a very big travelling support on that day on the steepest of any terracing I’ve been on.
    What I remember most from that match was Mixu repeatedly conning the ref. Every time he jumped for a high ball he made it look like whatever Hibs defender was with him was climbing on him. He must have got about 10 free kicks around the box.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Me too but I’m not recalling that! Could’ve been too many bevvies in The Atlantis.
    Pretty sure it was that game.

Could’ve been too many bevvies in The Atlantis.
    I was too young at the time for that. 😊

You and your peers in the Royston / Granton contingent were early starters don’t kid yerself!

I was 15 at the time, hadnae discovered bevvy yet!

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    Quote Originally Posted by Ringothedog View Post
    That was a brilliant day out. We had our own end 😂
    We arrived quite early and the steward told us to sit in this tiny wee section as that's where they wanted the Hibs fans!! 10 minutes later we'd filled that whole end. About 90% leaving and going to the pub when we got put out after the first game.

Great day out indeed.

Very decent turnout in Dnipro for such a long way away.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Stirling Albion away in a cup replay, sold out the seated stand and both terraces behind the goals that night. Beat 2-1. Latapy scored for us iirc
    Lovell missed an open goal from five yards out . I remember walking out and seeing the elation and joy on the Stirling Albion older fans in the stand and kinda felt a wee bit better . Might have been smoking a Rasta roll up tho 🤨😁
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    It was heaving at that Dunfermline game, I remember even the aisles were full of people as there just wasn’t enough room on the terraces. Whatever they gave as the attendance was wrong as the away end was so overcrowded.
    Up until then it was Dunfermlines biggest attendance of the season, not bad considering Rangers and Celtic had already been there. However, Celtic had to go there again the week after and you can guess they took a bigger support but only just. Typical of them have to outdo us at everything otherwise they r not worthy.

Very decent turnout in Dnipro for such a long way away.
    Looked big but I was seeing double 🤣

Quote Originally Posted by Frazerbob View Post
    Looked big but I was seeing double 🤣
    Aye, there were 1 or 2 consumed in the town square pre-match! ☺

I recall Mickey Weir's first game back after returning from Luton in 1988 - Celtic in the SC at Parkhead. Sure we got the whole of that end behind the goals, must've been about 8000 Hibbies?

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    I recall Mickey Weir's first game back after returning from Luton in 1988 - Celtic in the SC at Parkhead. Sure we got the whole of that end behind the goals, must've been about 8000 Hibbies?
    Only time we got the entire terrace behind the goal was the League Cup Final. The away end (half that terrace) held about 7-8k though.

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    I don't remember us taking anything like that to Parkhead apart from the LC final against the huns.