Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Diego Maradona

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    That’s a quite incredible front page. How on earth can that be considered appropriate?
    Are you sure this is not a mock up ?

It's not on the front page of the newspaper itself

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post

Might be the English edition?

Was there not a problem of some kind that meant there was no TV coverage?
    Sounds about right

Definitely a hot Saturday afternoon Old Hampden wi punters pissing doon the back of your leg

Highlights on YouTube

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Sounds about right

Definitely a hot Saturday afternoon Old Hampden wi punters pissing doon the back of your leg

Highlights on YouTube
    Thanks mate

It must be the English edition, it's definitely genuine.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc...apers-55080928

Just watched ITV news what an embarrassment .
    Shilton on moaning about hand of God ,how he cheated , bumpy pitch , 1st goal important , crap referee etc, Maradona never apologised .
    About 1 sentence about how good a player Diego was.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post

In other news, The Daily Mail gets its banner headline prioritised.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post

Thanks.

I have a very broad sense of humour but it fails me here. The headline even hints at the Falklands.

Shameful.

Peter Shilton was on TV earlier. What a complete and utter *****. Get over it.

3 days national morning in Argintina. Laid to rest at the presidential palace, schools in Naples closed for today.

GOD

Thanks.

I have a very broad sense of humour but it fails me here. The headline even hints at the Falklands.

Shameful.
    Yeah I think when you're outdoing The Sun for controversial headlines, you're probably needing to have a rethink.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post

3 days national morning in Argintina. Laid to rest at the presidential palace, schools in Naples closed for today.

GOD
    Of course, no England player would ever try such a thing and even if they did there'd be a national outcry and all the other players, management and pundits would demand the goal be chalked off:

https://youtu.be/cVHnsi2H_3c?t=80

Fantastic and heartfelt tribute by Gary Lineker last night.

https://mobile.twitter.com/btsportfo...80485672706048

RIP Diego

GOD
    He’s a total throbber. Diego getting it right up cretins like that even in death. Legend.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    They won a world cup by cheating.

They have Harry Kane upfront who spent an entire world cup throwing himself to ground every corner.

They have Sterling and Grealish who are 2 of the biggest divers in the world.

Yeah they can **** off.
    As can you.

RIP Diego, one of the greatest players ever.
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 26-11-2020 at 02:06 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Fantastic and heartfelt tribute by Gary Lineker last night.

https://mobile.twitter.com/btsportfo...80485672706048

RIP Diego
    Great tribute from a thoroughly decent man..

Well done Gary

Peter Shilton's vocabulary on DM not the best... "forget hand of God, forget the cheating"

Did your country not benefit in '66?

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

What a loss for the football. Probably the all time best player in the world.

I think he deserves a huge thank you from all the people who loves football. I suggest to sign a virtual card for him. Pretty sure he can see what we are doing here to show him how much we loved his magic.

https://www.leavingcard.com/gb/thank...8zw5FT5Qio8Xs#

Tragic news, only sixty. What a genius of a player he was. I remember as a wee boy watching the 1986 World Cup and being entranced by Maradona; I'd never seen anything like him. He was a one man team in that tournament. It seems he was on of those players who, like Gazza, lived for football and was lost after he finished playing. That, combined with his personal demons, meant his life degenerated into a circus at times, which was very sad to see. He didn't look after himself. But he will be remembered for his football forever, and rightly so. In my humble opinion, only Messi can match him.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    They won a world cup by cheating.

They have Harry Kane upfront who spent an entire world cup throwing himself to ground every corner.

They have Sterling and Grealish who are 2 of the biggest divers in the world.

Yeah they can **** off.

Oh dear

Quote Originally Posted by EI255 View Post
    Peter Shilton's vocabulary on DM not the best... "forget hand of God, forget the cheating"

Did your country not benefit in '66?

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

England may have had a dodgy decision go their way but how exactly does that compare to cheating?

First Team Breakthrough Kenny1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CockneyRebel View Post
    England may have had a dodgy decision go their way but how exactly does that compare to cheating?
    He was hacked and kicked all game. Got what they deserved.

Quote Originally Posted by Kenny1875 View Post
    Rubbish

We couldnt get close enough to kick him

The best ever for me

RIP Diego

Quote Originally Posted by Kenny1875 View Post

The poster I replied to was talking about 1966 - try to keep up.

@hibs.net private member ACLeith's Avatar

GOD
    When I watched the 86 game live and the ball sliced up in the air with DM going for it, my instant thought was that Shilton was slow to react. And then when the ball was headed (as I thought at the time) into the net I said to myself that the English press would have a go at him for it.

Argentina were really in control for much of the game, after the second (no words can ever adequately describe its quality, the World Cup GOAT) they sat back a bit and let England gain control. Then after it went to 2-1 they upped things again and at no time did I think the result would be anything other than an Argentina win.

But of course that has all been lost in the mists of time and the one incident.

At a time like this, comments made say everything about the person making them.

Nice piece in the Irish Times from Liam Brady on the humility of the man.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinio...LBJ0WevFzaoWb8
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Every Napoli player tonight wearing #10.
    Just beautiful.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Every Napoli player tonight wearing #10.
    Just beautiful.
    Just before the game I think?

Quote Originally Posted by Viva_Palmeiras View Post
    Nice piece in the Irish Times from Liam Brady on the humility of the man.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinio...LBJ0WevFzaoWb8
    That’s lovely. Thanks for sharing.

The Boca Juniors game was postponed last night. They were supposed to play Internacional. For those of you who don't know, their from Brazil (So don't like Argintina) and play in green (So don't like blue). Light their stadium up all night in Argintina blue all night. Nice touch.

Also at the Bombenera last night Boca turned off all the lights in and around the stadium except for Diego's box. Some very touching pictures.