Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Diego Maradona

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    There is an iconic picture of him with six Belgian players in front of him, some going left, some going right, but I can't get it to upload.
    The story behind that photo is interesting as well: https://www.theguardian.com/football...m-famous-photo

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Lots of reports but as yet no exact news, sad if true though, genius of a player who like many geniuses had his flaws in his personal life with drugs and alcohol, his keepy uppy warm up routine is a thing that makes legends.

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    If you have Netflix this is a great watch, Maradona in Mexico

https://www.netflix.com/title/810349...=13747225&t=cp

I'm too young to have remembered watching him play but he was one of these people who comes along every so often and everyone knows their name, even if they have no interest in the person's profession.

He lead a wild lifestyle and today's news won't come as a huge shock to many who studied his life but still it's one of those moments you just know will be spoken about around the world.

This will be huge news in Argentina, there will be an outpouring of grief for days that will possibly be unlike anything we have ever seen before - I don't think that what he meant to the Argentinian people can really be overstated.

Goodbye to a genius.

Rip Diego, thee icon of my childhood.

The film/documentary of his time with Napoli was absolutely mesmerising, just like he was at Mexico 86.

Biggest thing in Argentina since the Falklands war, way bigger than an Argy pope. The streets will be flowing with tears today and for a while after.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    Nice one.

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    How he was adored in Napoli, hero of the San Paulo. Truly a god in that city and everywhere he played.

Rest in Peace Diego Maradona, El Pibe de Ora

R.i.p

Very sad to hear this, imho he was the 2nd best in my lifetime of watching games for close to 60 years.
    I seen him play in the Eufa cup final in Germany for Napoli against Stuttgart, what a performance safe to say that he won the game on his own.
    So he was also human, with human flaws, makes him all the better to this auld football supporter.
    His hand of god goal over-shadowed his best ever goal (only in England right enough, the rest of the world did not give a monkeys) that was the 2nd goal against England, sheer brilliance.

@hibs.net private member semaj64's Avatar
    A truly very talented player, watched the recent documentary which showed how he transformed the teams he played for especially Napoli, was a shame those out with football ruined him.

Farewell to the Icon.

The Argentinians will be distraught. Surely there will be millions on the street grieving, a national declaration of at least a days mourning, and a monument built for him.

I wish I had seen him at his best. First experience was 94 World Cup. It didn’t end well.

Quote Originally Posted by Hakim Sar View Post
    Farewell to the Icon.

The Argentinians will be distraught. Surely there will be millions on the street grieving, a national declaration of at least a days mourning, and a monument built for him.

I wish I had seen him at his best. First experience was 94 World Cup. It didn’t end well.
    Three days of national mourning......

Quote Originally Posted by Hakim Sar View Post
    Farewell to the Icon.

Closest thing to the Brazilians when Senna died

What he did at Napoli was amazing. A truly brilliant footballer

RIP Diego The Best of the Best a true Superstar

Was at the Scotland v Argentina in 1979 he was unbelievable that day. He ran the show the best player I have seen in the flesh in my opinion the best of all time. Watch some of the highlights of the 1979 game on YouTube and remember he was still in his teens.

An absolute genius with a football, the best I’ve ever seen. RIP legend.

United we stand here....

R.I.P Diego , best ever.

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Shaken to the core by this. He’s the reason I fell in love with football.

What a player and character. RIP Diego

The best player of my generation.. I’m genuinely upset at his passing.. obviously a troubled soul.. RIP to a true legend

Quote Originally Posted by PeeJay View Post
    Sorry to hear of a football legend's passing - gifted footballer, troubled personality - only 60!
    I remember seeing footage of him when he was only in his 40s and it was alarming to witness the damage he'd done to himself. He was struggling to walk. In that respect I'm glad he ended up living as long as he did.

Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    I was born the same year as the great man and finally I am a better player than him.
    It's taken 60 years but I got there in the end .
    I was born the same day as him. ! RIP Diego, a special footballing talent. 😥

sad loss , i never could decide the greatest ever striker, diego or pele, i think the former just shades it

RIP :(

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Was at the Scotland v Argentina in 1979 he was unbelievable that day. He ran the show the best player I have seen in the flesh in my opinion the best of all time. Watch some of the highlights of the 1979 game on YouTube and remember he was still in his teens.
    Was about to post the same

Every time he got the ball the crowd fell silent and there was a collective sharp intake of breath

I remember one run when he appeared to glide across the grass with the ball at his feet effortlessly leaving three Scotland defenders trailing in his wake

What a life, what a player. RIP Diego

RIP Diego. One of the all time greats and will never forget watching Mexico 86 as a wee boy growing up.

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    I’ll raise a glass of Argentinian Malbec tonight to the icon.

not getting into another tireless and pointless greatest ever debate. He was, quite simply, the player that excited me more than anyone else I’ve seen.

RIP Diego - 86 was the first World Cup I remember watching. Genius

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    That’s the one. Good work Matt
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Nobody will ever tell me that he's not the greatest player ever and although he's not led a conventional life I'm pretty sure he's had an absolute blast. He could not be any more loved by his own people than he is and was. There are many players that have won more than him but nobody will ever be as iconic.