Thread: US Masters 2020

US Masters 2020

Who you fancying? Tiger at 30/1 always worth a punt at Augusta. Dechambeau favourite but fancy Justin Thomas myself 👍

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    Who you fancying? Tiger at 30/1 always worth a punt at Augusta. Dechambeau favourite but fancy Justin Thomas myself 👍
    Matt Wolff

Jon Rahm

Quote Originally Posted by davy67 + View Post
    Jon Rahm
    Did you see his skimmed hole in one today? Beautiful.

Koepka, Schauffle, Fleetwood

Justin Thomas has to be right up there in contention. If he's in the mood he'll take some stopping as would big Dustin Johnson. Plenty of young guns vying for the coveted green jacket like Matthew Wolff, Colin Morikawa and Tyrell Hatton, even Matthew Fitzpatrick, but I'm going to put my money on Rory Mcillroy finally triumphing at Augusta. Plenty of live contenders though and its not unknown for a huge price candidate to emerge as winner. Looking forward to it no matter who wins.

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    Did you see his skimmed hole in one today? Beautiful.
    One of the best shots, if not the best, i've ever seen. Madness.

Koepka Johnston McIlroy or Reed. For the first time in years I won’t be having a punt.

DJ for me, he’s been in unbelievable form.

United we stand here....

Play resuming at 3:30pm.

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Matt Wolff
    Collin Morikawa
    Scottie Scheffler are my e/w winning bets.

Got a lucky 15 on the 3 ball scores to keep today interesting:

Matt wallace
    Rickie Fowler
    Molinari
    Dylan Frittelli

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Dustin Johnston (nap) , Patrick Reid, Louis Oosthuizen, Jason Day.

Cameron Champ -------- outsider, a wee daft £2 each way bet.

Bryson having an absolute stinker.

Quote Originally Posted by Dazzling Doidge View Post

Bryson having an absolute stinker.
    I quite like what Bryson is doing, but it is beautiful to see an iconic hole on a wonderful golf course bite a huge chunk back out of him.

His approach worked at Winged Foot but I just think there are still places where you can't just batter your way around and play your way back in when you find yourself out of position.

I fancy a more solid all-rounder - someone who can hit it a distance, keep it in play a lot, solid enough around the greens and likely to have the composure to close it out on Sunday.

Bryson will get loads of birdies, probably a few eagles but he'll have a few blobs that will count him out.
    Last edited by Smartie; 12-11-2020 at 05:16 PM.

Every chance the course record at the Masters of 18 under 270 will be bettered this year. Albeit the auld saying still stands - You can't win a tournament on the Thursday but you can certainly lose it. After a bad start Jon Rahm just eagled the 11th to get right back into strong contention, some player.

Is it my Sky or is the picture quality of the coverage a bit off? A bit juddery, particularly on the ball flights.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Is it my Sky or is the picture quality of the coverage a bit off? A bit juddery, particularly on the ball flights.
    The Sky coverage has been ok with me Andy.

DJ and Zander for me. Tommy Fleetwood for European interest

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    It got better. Think it was some of the featured groups stuff was a bit iffy.

Mcilroy... is it a mental problem witt him? It seems like now more than ever he makes rash decisions

Quote Originally Posted by DiscoDoidge View Post
    Mcilroy... is it a mental problem witt him? It seems like now more than ever he makes rash decisions
    I hope I was one of few who've lost money on that non-trier. Ponced his way around from the start and played like an amateur. Didn't look interested unlike the rest of the field. He'd do well to work on his body posture. Instead of gamboling/prancing around like a no mark he should work on getting a bit of poise and purpose. He's a complete ponce. Probably do better in the next round but he's already well and truly out of the running. Good luck to those who backed a trier!

I’m watching it on Sky Go, visually ok, but the sound is about 7 seconds behind and it’s bloody annoying for both the strike sound and the commentary timing. I assume it’s fine on regular telly broadcast.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I’m watching it on Sky Go, visually ok, but the sound is about 7 seconds behind and it’s bloody annoying for both the strike sound and the commentary timing. I assume it’s fine on regular telly broadcast.
    Sound is fine on TV.

I’m maybe over analysing the picture now but to me the ball in the air is flickering more than usual particularly when it is coming down past the trees. It might always be like that though and I’m just noticing it more.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Sound is fine on TV.

I’m maybe over analysing the picture now but to me the ball in the air is flickering more than usual particularly when it is coming down past the trees. It might always be like that though and I’m just noticing it more.
    It’s been like that all day, but, amazingly, just after posting about it here, picture and sound suddenly came into sync. Creepy

Quote Originally Posted by DiscoDoidge View Post
    I think his biggest problems were a few years ago. He was at the top of his game and did a few silly things - messed about with his equipment, silly injury playing football, relationship issues etc. He's never quite got it back together again.

There's a resilience that used to be there that just doesn't seem to be there any more. When he gets a bit of momentum he can still look unstoppable at times but when his head goes down or things aren't going for him - he just can't recover. The best players make mistakes but don't dwell, he looks mentally weaker than when he was a very young man.

This week should have been set up for him and a few of the pundits were backing him.

Loads of good players around these days though and he's just been overtaken by other players who hit it about as far, straighter and make less silly mistakes.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    I'm watching the live Amen Corner coverage on YouTube.

Way better than the Sky crap. Actually get to see the whole field instead of the 'featured groups'.

Oh aye and no adverts
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Rory should spend more time on the golf course and less time in the gym imo. He's not the first golfer to get the balance all wrong. David Duval springs to mind for a start

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    I'm watching the live Amen Corner coverage on YouTube.

Way better than the Sky crap. Actually get to see the whole field instead of the 'featured groups'.

Oh aye and no adverts
    The adverts aren't bad these days, I think the breaks are limited to a minute each time and only so many are permitted per hour.

Rory should spend more time on the golf course and less time in the gym imo. He's not the first golfer to get the balance all wrong. David Duval springs to mind for a start
    Yep. Its got nothing to do with what happened umpteen years ago. He won the Players Championship a year and a half ago when applying seriousness and purpose to his game. This time around he came out with that lazy casualness that cost him umpteen opportunities when younger. Head rocking around, body gamboling like a hippy drugged out their brains at Glastonbury. If he could consistently approach tournaments like he did at the Players Championship he'd constantly find himself in position to win. A non-trier this time around. As said in a another post you can't win tournaments in the first round but you can surely lose them as Rory did. Played like an amateur and cost folk like me money who backed him.

https://twitter.com/JustinRayGolf/st...07097124007936

Interesting stat that re Rory.

Would definitely suggest something psychological.