Thread: Forfar Athletic

Forfar Athletic

Couldn't remember us ever playing them, so I googled 'Hibs v Forfar head-to-head' and it turns out we've only ever played 4 competitive matches against them, 2 in 1931/32 and 2 in 1932/33. Strange we haven't crossed paths more often. Anyway, cracking little ground, terracing behind goal looks ace. If fans are allowed, I'm defo there, but can't see it.

Away trip on a Tuesday night with 7:45 kick off.....
    Lunch time train? 😂😉🍺

Quote Originally Posted by King Arthur View Post
    Couldn't remember us ever playing them, so I googled 'Hibs v Forfar head-to-head' and it turns out we've only ever played 4 competitive matches against them, 2 in 1931/32 and 2 in 1932/33. Strange we haven't crossed paths more often. Anyway, cracking little ground, terracing behind goal looks ace. If fans are allowed, I'm defo there, but can't see it.
    We played them at ER in the Scottish Cup in 1970 or 71. 8-1 win, if I remember correctly.

Thought it was the first club to go down the tubes through lack of the maroon pound for a second

Quote Originally Posted by Saturday Boy View Post
    We played them at ER in the Scottish Cup in 1970 or 71. 8-1 win, if I remember correctly.
    Dodgy source, thought it sounded strange. SC 1970/71, 2-0 at ER.

Quote Originally Posted by sauzee=legend View Post
    Lunch time train? 😂😉🍺
    Do you think you’ll get in

Dodgy source, thought it sounded strange. SC 1970/71, 2-0 at ER.
    According to fitbastats it was 8-1, and we've played them 11 times so far

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/team_...&update=Update

@hibs.net private member StevieT's Avatar
    10 minutes door to door for me, ya dancer. Yet another artificial surface though. I have refereed on this many times and always have sore calfs the next day.

Quote Originally Posted by StevieT View Post
    10 minutes door to door for me, ya dancer. Yet another artificial surface though. I have refereed on this many times and always have sore calfs the next day.
    And the bridies ?????

Lunch time train? 😂😉🍺
    The good old days

Quote Originally Posted by 1van Sprou7e View Post
    According to fitbastats it was 8-1, and we've played them 11 times so far

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/team_...&update=Update
    Must just be league games I saw listed. 1970/71 Hibernian F.C. season - Wikipedia have got it down as 2-0. I'm having 8-1.

I was there, was 8 1.

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    I was there, was 8 1.
    Definitely 8-1 👍

I thought we had played them in the Scottish Cup in the 1980s but it was Brechin City - the pitch wi the Hedge roond it

Celtic played at Forfar that day - the only way the local bizzies could differentiate between the two sets of supporters in green and white was down to our good looks, posh Leith accents and our superior personal hygiene

Never been to Station park.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Not competitive but I seen wee Lewis score a belter at Station Park in a midweek friendly.
    I remember also that 8-1 game as a very young boy.

@hibs.net private member StevieT's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    And the bridies ?????
    Well worth the visit. Word of warning though, there is only one pie stand so get there early

Left by mutual consent! KingPat4's Avatar
    8-1

I was there.

Well worth the visit. Word of warning though, there is only one pie stand so get there early
    The best bridies you can buy . It’s worth visiting for them alone. And the mascot is a bridie too.

Didn’t Ross Campbell score for Forfar against Rangers at Ibrox?

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Station Park was the only old skool ground that I have never attended, only because Hibs had never played them since I started going regular circa '74. I had seen Hibs play at every other ground in Scotland. Now that we do get a chance to play them, I'll not be allowed to attend. 🙈

Quote Originally Posted by KingPat4 View Post
    8-1

I was there.
    we beat hertz at tinycastle in the next round, beat Dundee, then went out in the semi-final replay after Davie Ewings well chosen words against the old ipox team after the 0-0 first game draw at Hampden. "Rangers are rubbish" said Ewing, they scrapped past us again in the replay.

Lunch time train? 😂😉🍺
    I think you'll find Dr Beeching closed that line way back...

Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    It’s an easy mistake for youngsters. Station Park on Station Road. Sadly nearly 60 years too late. You can follow the route of the line if you’re coming into Forfar on the top road.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    That was reported at the time.

Any decent vintage points to watch the game from?

Quote Originally Posted by KingPat4 View Post
    8-1

I was there.
    Aye. My mate played for Forfar that night. Scored for Hibs. He said that they couldn’t get near the Hibs players.

8 v 1 game was week after Joe Baker`s famous return in 2 v 1 win against Aberdeen . Think Joe scored a hattrick against Forfar . Forfar had a good spell in late 70s ( ? ) . Got to cup semis one year at least . Won at Tynecastle the day we drew at Tannadice on day of bus crash . Was goalie Stuart Kennedy who became famous after Wembley humiliation not Forfar`s big star ?

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    we beat hertz at tinycastle in the next round, beat Dundee, then went out in the semi-final replay after Davie Ewings well chosen words against the old ipox team after the 0-0 first game draw at Hampden. "Rangers are rubbish" said Ewing, they scrapped past us again in the replay.

Great cup run where we were so unlucky in the semi replay with Alex Cropley's magnificent cross almost on the bye line for Jimmy O'Rourke to nod it in, although I thought it was going in anyway.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTQmqaCg5uQ

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=77316
    Last edited by Ray_; 18-08-2020 at 09:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ray_ View Post
    Great cup run where we were so unlucky in the semi replay with Alex Cropley's magnificent cross almost on the bye line for Jimmy O'Rourke to nod it in, although I thought it was going in anyway.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTQmqaCg5uQ
    Was a strange season with 3 cup runs (losing to Liverpool in 3rd round of Fairs Cup and to Rangers in LC QF and SC SF ) but finished about 11th in 18 - club league . Lots of big matches but terrible league position . That cup Derby was my first match at Tynecastle and I thought it was just normal to win there - apart from 1 v 4 freak result in late 1973 don`t think I saw us lose there again that decade and I only missed 7 v 0 game .