Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    In the old black and white TV days i followed teams that strips looked the same as Hibs !!! Clyde Best was the first black player outside Brazil that i liked.We do not have any special relationships now you would have to go back to the 1870/80s to find them.

Over the years there have no doubt been times when we've had closer relationships with certain clubs than others which has probably been down to managers and maybe even friendships at boardroom level.

We seem to have had good working relationships with some teams in terms of loans (to & from) and others in terms of friendly & bounce games.

Outwith all that, I don't think we have a special association with anyone - at least I hope not.

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    My thoughts exactly. Like I said previously there's no love lost at boardroom level. And their fans, in my experience, are a shower of patronising sectarian ****bags. Neither me or the group I go with have ever associated ourselves with them.
    I think the John McGinn transfer soured relationships at Board level. Prior to that though, there was clearly an association in terms of player loans; Ambrose, Commons, Scott Allan, Liam Henderson and Stokes etc.

None

There is nobody else

Just us.

Always has been

Always will be.

The HIBS go marching on

Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 20-07-2020 at 09:15 AM.

I thought we had a Special Relationship with Hearts?

I'm sure Leeann gets on the phone to the good Doctor whenever she has a major decision to make and always receives useful advice.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibee ultra View Post
    Well in my experience with younger fans any club with a connection to Ireland is generally respected if not liked even Celtic (but come game day that’s all out the window )

No, completely false statement.

[QUOTE=TelaStella;6239750]Celtic and at a push St Mirren in Scotland. Gais of Sweden, Eintracht Frankfurt of Germany, Shamrock Rovers of Ireland, am I missing anyone else?

Again, no. Never heard of the Swedish club and never known of anyone with any affinity to Eintracht Frankfurt or Gronigen or Shamrock Rovers.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post
    I think the John McGinn transfer soured relationships at Board level. Prior to that though, there was clearly an association in terms of player loans; Ambrose, Commons, Scott Allan, Liam Henderson and Stokes etc.
    Yep, common denominators, Neil Lennon and Alan Stubbs.

[QUOTE=superfurryhibby;6239951]
    Quote Originally Posted by TelaStella View Post
    Celtic and at a push St Mirren in Scotland. Gais of Sweden, Eintracht Frankfurt of Germany, Shamrock Rovers of Ireland, am I missing anyone else?

Again, no. Never heard of the Swedish club and never known of anyone with any affinity to Eintracht Frankfurt or Gronigen or Shamrock Rovers.

Plenty Frankfurt fans in our support.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    The mere notion of any ‘relationship’ with Celtic churns my stomach.

Shower of inbred, sectarian, patronising ****s. I hate them as equally as I do their blue brothers. **** them both
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

I'm surprised more isn't made of our common love of white sleeves involving a team from London.

Did we copy them or do we just have very similar taste in sleeves?

Celtic and at a push St Mirren in Scotland. Gais of Sweden, Eintracht Frankfurt of Germany, Shamrock Rovers of Ireland, am I missing anyone else?

Lots of people on the Bounce with connections to Gronginen.

It gives me the boak that anyone thinks we have any kind of connection with celtic.

Which clubs do Hibs have a positive association with

There was a strong link with Gais around the time of 2012 between a section of their support and ours, the old green and black bar scarfs worn by Sect43 was lifted from them. Frankfurt connection has been going strong for years through the Edinburgh Adler group. Shamrock rovers is a more recent CCS thing.

@superfurryhibby

Not sure why your reply has been quoted as said by me.
    Last edited by TelaStella; 20-07-2020 at 09:57 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    My thoughts exactly. Like I said previously there's no love lost at boardroom level. And their fans, in my experience, are a shower of patronising sectarian ****bags. Neither me or the group I go with have ever associated ourselves with them.
    Likewise. 👍

Eintracht Frankfurt, Werder Bremen, Groningen, Ferencvaros, Shamrock Rovers.

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    The mere notion of any ‘relationship’ with Celtic churns my stomach.

Shower of inbred, sectarian, patronising ****s. I hate them as equally as I do their blue brothers. **** them both
    👍👍👍

Quote Originally Posted by St Pauli Hibee View Post
    Eintracht Frankfurt, Werder Bremen, Groningen, Ferencvaros, Shamrock Rovers.
    Are these teams which preminantly play in green or is there a reason ?
    Then you could add St Etienne into the mix , the team that is, not the popular 90's band led by the lovely Sarah Cracknell

[QUOTE=oneone73;6239962]
    Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post

Lots of people on the Bounce with connections to Gronginen.
    Similarly with Frankfurt. Seems to be a big fan tie up given the 30 or so Eintracht Ultras I came across in the GrassMarket one night.

They seem hard core Ultras but perfectly well behaved and great fun and look like both sets of fans make regular trips.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    None

There is nobody else

Just us.

Always has been

Always will be.

The HIBS go marching on

👍

Aston Villa ,lots of Hibbies played for both,during my time in Sheffield(shudder) I used to see Alec Cropley play but connections are aplenty,Crops,Bremner,Holt,SuperJohn.

Col L started a thread on this back in 2018

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post
    Was Dylan not a loan at first??

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    [QUOTE=TelaStella;6239969]
    Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post

There was a strong link with Gais around the time of 2012 between a section of their support and ours, the old green and black bar scarfs worn by Sect43 was lifted from them. Frankfurt connection has been going strong for years through the Edinburgh Adler group. Shamrock rovers is a more recent CCS thing.

@superfurryhibby

Not sure why your reply has been quoted as said by me.
    Not sure why, tech isn't my forte, so happy to exonerate you from association with said quote.

Have to say, as a non reader of the Bounce, non member of the CCS and being completely unaware of what the Edinburgh Adler group is, I am oblivious of any connection between our club fanbase and that of any others mentioned. I do know we have been involved with charitable work through the Dnipro.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Is this meant to be a joke?

...or an infestation of undercover yams?
    Take your pick. The club has the same relationship with Celtic is it has with any other club. The fans pretty much the same.

PSN ID: EdinburghHibee86
    I hate Celtic... like proper hate them!

Sick of the wee cousins pish they spout, love telling them to bolt when I meet them at the mrs local bars in Carluke.

When Celtic come to ER I always get the impression it's like having a rather tiresome relative visiting for the afternoon.

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Wireless View Post
    Was Dylan not a loan at first??
    Yes, think so. We've certainly done alright with their loanees over the years and particularly in 2016.

@hibs.net private member Stuart93's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    When Celtic come to ER I always get the impression it's like having a rather tiresome relative visiting for the afternoon.
    The atmosphere is never as good as a hibs v rangers/hearts. Pretty noticeable too. Not the same kind of hatred without particularly liking them.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Yes aha but with younger supporters because of the Irish connection that we share they are preferred to the huns

Celtic no. Their 'please love us' schtick and their phoney anti establishement crap whilst having a boardroom of Tories really grinds my gears.
    The've also become the go to club for any brainless clown who knows nothing about football, just like Rangers were in the 90s.

Scottish clubs we get on well with I'd say are St Mirren (OBIKA! and their relentless trolling of the Jambos this summer) and some respect for Kilmanock (so easy to follow the ugly sisters given their geography).
    No hate either for the Dundee clubs or any of the Fife clubs.

First Team Regular StevesFamau5's Avatar

PSN ID: ImFamau5nStuff
    Not sure if it counts but Rott Weiss Essen? Think we marked the 50 year European adventure with a friendly against them?

Definitely agree with the Celtic love in being utter rubbish. Absolutely detest them and the faux anti establishment crap..
    Horrible club with numpty supporters who say one thing and forget their own club is run by the very thing they claim to be against. They & their city rivals deserve each other.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by AndyM_1875 View Post
    Celtic no. Their 'please love us' schtick and their phoney anti establishement crap whilst having a boardroom of Tories really grinds my gears.
    The've also become the go to club for any brainless clown who knows nothing about football, just like Rangers were in the 90s.

Scottish clubs we get on well with I'd say are St Mirren (OBIKA! and their relentless trolling of the Jambos this summer) and some respect for Kilmanock (so easy to follow the ugly sisters given their geography).
    No hate either for the Dundee clubs or any of the Fife clubs.
    Spot on, Celtic’s claims to be anti-establishment are laughable. They had a former UK defence secretary on their board at one time, you can’t get more establishment.
    Their fans are still fighting some romanticised version of the NI troubles inside their heads. Much like the Huns they are stuck in their own bigoted version of the past. Special relationship? No chance. Mind you I will easily find a reason to dislike every club that isn’t us.