Thread: Sportscene

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar

Sportscene

Good to see Sportscene being moved back to a Saturday night slot for match highlights after 18 years of Sunday broadcasts.

Despite being as long as 18 years (which it doesn’t really feel like) Saturday night still feels like the traditional time to be watching Sportscene and it was always something to look forward to if we had a successful afternoon on the pitch.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53308309

Nice one! Only downside if we play on a sunday we wont be on it.
    Last edited by HendoDelivered; 06-07-2020 at 02:21 PM.

Sportscene on a Saturday evening, Scotsport on a Sunday... jumpers for goalposts... marvellous!

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Good to see Sportscene being moved back to a Saturday night slot for match highlights after 18 years of Sunday broadcasts.

Despite being as long as 18 years (which it doesn’t really feel like) Saturday night still feels like the traditional time to be watching Sportscene and it was always something to look forward to if we had a successful afternoon on the pitch.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53308309
    And genuinely hope it is before match of the day.

Sportscene on a Saturday night followed by Match of the Day, bliss. And they're keeping the Sunday show too.

Brilliant, I'm fair looking forward to seeing Craig Levein instead of just hearing him on the radio all the time.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Brilliant, I'm fair looking forward to seeing Craig Levein instead of just hearing him on the radio all the time.

I hope he’s not going to be on

And Chucky Budges bitch English who no doubt will still be squealing about how unfair it is on Hertz and how they would have won the league!!!

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GonzoReturns View Post
    And Chucky Budges bitch English who no doubt will still be squealing about how unfair it is on Hertz and how they would have won the league!!!
    They might win the league just not the premiership

Let's hope it's not half 11 after match of the day. 10pm would be ideal.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Sportscene on a Saturday evening, Scotsport on a Sunday... jumpers for goalposts... marvellous!
    Curling and rugby after the featured match on Scotsport. Then....Bullseye! Ye can't beat a bit of bully.

Magic 😁

Testimonial Due Booked4Being-Ugly's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Let's hope it's not half 11 after match of the day. 10pm would be ideal.
    Aye, especially seeing as I usually fall asleep halfway through MOTD!

Be on bbc Scotland channel Saturday night you would hope after Alba has finished.

Hopefully they won't include the absurd artificial crowd noise that EPL games have.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    Hopefully they won't include the absurd artificial crowd noise that EPL games have.
    That has been an improvement on listening to the players shouting at each other IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    That has been an improvement on listening to the players shouting at each other IMO.
    I haven't actually watched any of the games TBH. Cannae stand the EPL. I just happened upon one of the matches when channel flicking last week and couldn't understand why there was crowd noise until I read that it was fake. Just seems daft to me, like canned laughter on a sitcom or some sort of football computer game. Why try to pretend there's any atmosphere at the games when the reality is that the vibe is that of a closed doors/training game?

I gather that you can actually switch the dubbed-on noise off though.

The artificial noise is a great idea, it's made the games much better viewing.

Quote Originally Posted by supermcginn View Post
    The artificial noise is a great idea, it's made the games much better viewing.
    I prefer to watch without the constant droning buzz.

Quote Originally Posted by Gloucester Hibs View Post
    Sportscene on a Saturday night followed by Match of the Day, bliss. And they're keeping the Sunday show too.
    I remember when I was wee it was called Sportsreel before it rebranded as Sportscene. Presented by Brian Marjoribanks.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    I remember when I was wee it was called Sportsreel before it rebranded as Sportscene. Presented by Brian Marjoribanks.
    And I can still hear the opening theme. Great excitement on a Saturday night.

I tried watching Spurs - Man Utd without the crowd noise and switched off at half time.

I tried watching Everton - Liverpool with the crowd noise and switched off at half time.

Conclusion - I can't get interested in the EPL.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Saturday or Sunday it will still be forty minutes about the Rangers and Celtic games and all the other games squeezed into the last 20 mins. Add in the slaverings of Tom English and co think I‘ll just watch the youtube highlights.

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    I tried watching Spurs - Man Utd without the crowd noise and switched off at half time.

I tried watching Everton - Liverpool with the crowd noise and switched off at half time.

You lasted to half time?

Is the artificial noise pumped through the tannoy in the stadium or is it TV witchcraft?

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Is the artificial noise pumped through the tannoy in the stadium or is it TV witchcraft?
    It’s just on tv

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    It’s just on tv
    👍

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post

I have watched a fair wad of Spanish fitba and they do it really well, with animated/super imposed crowd put in, adds to the experience.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Saturday or Sunday it will still be forty minutes about the Rangers and Celtic games and all the other games squeezed into the last 20 mins. Add in the slaverings of Tom English and co think I‘ll just watch the youtube highlights.
    The saving grace will be if the ugly sisters are both in the Europa League. The Saturday night programme will be free from both of them.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    The saving grace will be if the ugly sisters are both in the Europa League. The Saturday night programme will be free from both of them.
    Oh they will still get a mention

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    That’s a good point. I’m quite looking forward to Saturday nights with a few cans in front of the highlights. Just need news that Strictly has been canned this year and I’ll be over the moon!