Werder Bremen game tonight

Anyone watching? Bayern down to 10 men 11 mins to go Bremen need a goal for a point. Lots of crowd noise which improves viewing.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    I think Werder tactically got it right. 1-0 down but hung in there then Bayern reduced to 10 men for the last 15 minutes or so and gave it a bit of ago. Congratulations to Bayern yet another championship, head and shoulders above anyone else in the Bundesliga and have been for quite some time.

Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    I think Werder tactically got it right. 1-0 down but hung in there then Bayern reduced to 10 men for the last 15 minutes or so and gave it a bit of ago. Congratulations to Bayern yet another championship, head and shoulders above anyone else in the Bundesliga and have been for quite some time.
    Eight in row PSG must be about the same Juve too ?

Money is killing the game.

Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post

Getting a bit boring now, eight in a row.

It's nearly as bad as Scotland

Huge game on Saturday. Don’t win that and it’s over.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post

Most top leagues in Europe, Juve/ PSG/ Porto or Benfica/ Ajax/ Bayern/ Anderlecht or Brugges/Olympiakos/ etc etc almost makes the EPL competitive. Football has been money centric for decades lets not pretend otherwise.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post

In my lifetime I think 4 maybe 5 teams have won the bundesliga.

It's 2 in Scotland.

Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post

It's 2 in Scotland.
    TBF Germany is 12 times the size of Scotland it should be more competitive. In my lifetime 5 or six teams have won the league in Scotland.

Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post

It's 2 in Scotland.
    Bayern have won the league 23 times in my lifetime. I'm 39!

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post
    Eight in row PSG must be about the same Juve too ?

Money is killing the game.
    Monaco won the French league 3 years ago.

@hibs.net private member G15 Hibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Monaco won the French league 3 years ago.
    PSG have won 7 of the last 8.

Going back to the topic, Bremen probably did the right thing last night, knowing that the important games are still to come, especially this weekend, and the likelihood of taking anything from last night's game. Kept in the game but never overstretched themselves and risked injury or suspension. Wins for Dortmund and Leipzig tonight a must, as is 3 points against Mainz on Saturday. Still a chance for them.
    Last edited by G15 Hibs; 17-06-2020 at 08:05 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by G15 Hibs View Post

Going back to the topic, Bremen probably did the right thing last night, knowing that the important games are still to come, especially this weekend, and the likelihood of taking anything from last night's game. Kept in the game but never overstretched themselves and risked injury or suspension. Wins for Dortmund and Leipzig tonight a must, as is 3 points against Mainz on Saturday. Still a chance for them.
    I think they will beat Mainz they looked terrible the other night

@hibs.net private member G15 Hibs's Avatar
    I think they will beat Mainz they looked terrible the other night
    They looked utterly bereft against a poor Augsburg team on Sunday, aye.

TBF Germany is 12 times the size of Scotland it should be more competitive. In my lifetime 5 or six teams have won the league in Scotland.

It's actually fifteen times the population of Scotland (5.4 million to 83 million), but your point still stands.

Either way, it doesn't change the point that both leagues are now getting boringly predictable.
    Last edited by Keith_M; 17-06-2020 at 12:35 PM.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Huge game on Saturday. Don’t win that and it’s over.
    I think the result against Bayern was positive for Werder. This could possibly go down to goal difference and with 5 goals at the weekend for Werder and only losing by 1 against Bayern, things could get pretty tight before the last game. With Mainz away to Dortmund and Düsseldorf away in Leipzig tonight it could possibly see Bremen leapfrog Düsseldorf despite having lost yesterday.

Quote Originally Posted by G15 Hibs View Post

Yes. Lyon won 7 in a row last decade though, no one said a word.

These teams have taken a big step forward and left others in the dust. There is no reason Bayern are so far ahead other than being better run and making better decisions. Dortmund have had all the chances.

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Dortmund 0 Mainz 2
    Leipzig 2 Dusseldorf 2

Not good results for Werder Bremen.

Last game of regular season today.

Bremen up 3-0 and Dusseldorf losing so as it stands Bremen will be in the playoffs.

35mins to go though.

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    Last game of regular season today.

Bremen up 3-0 and Dusseldorf losing so as it stands Bremen will be in the playoffs.

35mins to go though.
    Bremen 5-0 up and Dusseldorf 2-0 down. 29 mins left.

YAAAAASSS. #wearestayingup

Quote Originally Posted by BegbieHSC View Post
    YAAAAASSS. #wearestayingup
    Playoffs to go.

Fortuna Düsseldorf,the ultimate yoyo club. When I lived there they beat Bayern and Dortmund but still got relegated

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    That was some day yesterday. My boy's team had their end of season party at the ground and the clubhouse was showing the games on a couple of large screen TV'S. Although the area I live in is 50/50 Union/Hertha, by the end of the game everyone was rooting for Werder. Oh ma heid, all set now for another Wunder on the Weser. 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Hamburg had the chance today to set up a Nordderby playoff with Werder, but instead Sandhausen killed them as a club: https://www.whoscored.com/Matches/13...-SV-Sandhausen

Werder's playoff will be against Heidenheim.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    Hamburg had the chance today to set up a Nordderby playoff with Werder, but instead Sandhausen killed them as a club: https://www.whoscored.com/Matches/13...-SV-Sandhausen

Heidenheim are decent but I prefer their camp site rivals, Heidenho.

I'm looking forward to the play-offs. The second leg on Monday 6th will be when pubs open their outdoor areas.... wonder if anyone will be showing it?

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by andyf5 View Post
    I'm looking forward to the play-offs. The second leg on Monday 6th will be when pubs open their outdoor areas.... wonder if anyone will be showing it?
    BT Sport show a fair number of Bundesliga games, not sure if they usually show the playoffs.

Shocking today by one of German football's traditional "giants". I don't follow German football in depth but anyone got a wee breakdown of why Hamburg have fallen so much in the last 4 seasons or so. They've lost out to clubs like Paderborn, Union Berlin, Armenia, Heidenheim in the promotion stakes - all due respect - clubs nowhere as big.

I would imagine they have massive potential, surely?

BT Sport show a fair number of Bundesliga games, not sure if they usually show the playoffs.
    Yeah they are both on BT

Scheduled to show 1st leg Thursday. I presume 2nd Sunday. Saturday is Pokal final.