Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Auld fitba highlights

Missing the Saturday afternoon buzz already?

Came across this online from 2006

Might be a long time until our next derby

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

Riordan
    Benji

https://youtu.be/in6gU-YlC_A

johnsparky2

Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 06-06-2020 at 05:35 AM.

@hibs.net private member Juice-Terry's Avatar
    Braw. Remember it well. GGTTH!

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

Riordan
    Benji

johnsparky2

First derby after the disastrous semi-final, and the last derby of the season. I was in Waterford for the weekend with the wife, had a very anxious afternoon as the texts came in with match updates; when I got the result through at full-time, my consumption of Guinness accelerated quite considerably! Great night in the Emerald Isle, but would've been an even better one in Leith I'm sure.

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

Riordan
    Benji

johnsparky2

Cracking. Loved the post match interview. Injuries and suspension cost us the semi.

Benji’s goal celebration was brilliant 💚

@hibs.net private member Johnny_Leith's Avatar
    Remember it well. Hearts' goal was typical of goals we'd concede regularly then. How zibi remained at the club in that period I'll never know. He wa even given a contract extension?!

Murphy was some player. Stephen glass was an underrated player for me, thought he was consistently excellent for us. That starting lineup was missing a few regulars, it was definitely a talented squad and a lot of injuries around the semi final made it very difficult against a strong hearts team.

Just affirms my opinion that Archie MacPherson was undoubtedly the worst football commentator of all time.

Not heard “ All the Hibees are gay” for years 😃

How old are they and so un PC

Will miss the derbies 😃
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 06-06-2020 at 07:46 AM.

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Another classic from Zibi/our defence in a Derby. Loved Jay Shields steaming in to win the ball from Hartley for the first goal. Benji was class on his day. Great times.

Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Another classic from Zibi/our defence in a Derby. Loved Jay Shields steaming in to win the ball from Hartley for the first goal. Benji was class on his day. Great times.
    If only Zibi put as much effort in to keeping the ball out of the net against Hearts as he did keeping Benji out of the Hearts end.

You know you are getting Auld when the match referred to seems ‘not that Auld’ to you...

Benji was quality. Wish we signed more completely unknown genius players.

@hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    Derek Riordan was such a quality player. What a finish for the first, and he’s scored much better derby goals too.

23/9/1967 Scottish League Division One old

Dundee United 2 v 2 Hibernian

Stein
    Davis (pen)

Rare footage from the Saturday after we had beat Porto 3-0 at Easter Road

Shame they miss the “lucky” HIBS first goal!

Petrie!

Hibs : Thomson Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen McGraw Quinn Grant Stein Cormack and Stevenson

Sub ORourke

Att 7716

First Half

https://youtu.be/fsfe-fJvJ4A

Second Half

https://youtu.be/AGHc3qOq0ZA

29/10/1994 Scottish League Premier Division

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

Jackson
    ONeil

Hibs : Leighton Miller Love Beaumont Tweed Tortolano Weir Hamilton Findlay Jackson and ONeil

Subs: Evans Harper

Att: 13606

https://youtu.be/yniQSjgltMc

johnsparky2

www.fitbastats.com

The pac-a-Mac’s game! You wait ages for an Edinburgh derby win then 2 come along at once 😊

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Another excellent assist from Sproule - the accusations that he was a headless chicken that just dined off his hattrick at Ibrox were ridiculous.

Another howler from Zibby (aided by some pish poor defending).

Zibby's howlers cost us SIX goals across different games against Hearts - some worse than others, but all terrible goalkeeping. What is very strange is that he didn't make any howlers against any other teams . It's almost as if he was deliberately making those mistakes against Hearts. Were there any corrupt figures in the Hearts boardroom with a penchant for splashing the cash at the time I wonder?

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Another excellent assist from Sproule - the accusations that he was a headless chicken that just dined off his hattrick at Ibrox were ridiculous.

Zibby's howlers cost us SIX goals across different games against Hearts - some worse than others, but all terrible goalkeeping. What is very strange is that he didn't make any howlers against any other teams . It's almost as if he was deliberately making those mistakes against Hearts. Were there any corrupt figures in the Hearts boardroom with a penchant for splashing the cash at the time I wonder?
    That point on Sproule is spot on.

I was watching a lot of old highlights on Hibs TV. The likes of O’Connor got some amount of tap ins, around that time, from Sproule getting to the byline and cutting the baw back. He could finish as well.

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post

Certainly coincidental the number of shockers zibi had v Hearts.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post

I was watching a lot of old highlights on Hibs TV. The likes of O’Connor got some amount of tap ins, around that time, from Sproule getting to the byline and cutting the baw back. He could finish as well.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Certainly coincidental the number of shockers zibi had v Hearts.
    The number and also the fact they were so ridiculous!

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post

Pretty sure he got most assists in the league one season. He was a brilliant winger.

13/2/1971 Scottish Cup Round 4

Hearts 1 v 2 Hibernian

Hazel
    Duncan

https://youtu.be/lSp0QyDrbrA

Hibs: Marshall Brownlie Duncan Blackley Black Stanton Duncan ORourke Baker Hazel and Davidson

Sub Cropley for Davidson

Att: 30450

8/8/1999 Scottish League SPL

Dundee 3 v 4 Hibernian

Lehmann
    Sauzee 2
    Miller

Mon dieu! It’s a classic

https://youtu.be/KXKBHONTWx4

Hibs: Gottskalksson Lovering Renwick Dennis Jack Sauzee Henry Latapy McGinlay Paatelainen and Lehmann

Subs: Miller Hartley

Att: 6050

www.fitbastats.com
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 09-06-2020 at 06:03 AM.

16/10/1961 Friendly Challenge Match

Hibernian 2 v 0 Torino

Fraser
    Baxter

Rare footage from the friendly match arranged as part of Joe Baker’s transfer to Torino featuring Denis Law

https://youtu.be/16iqho3xBBU

1/1/1996 Scottish League SPL

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

ONeill
    Harper

https://youtu.be/KAomC_W1gwA

Hibs: Leighton Millen Tortolano McGinlay Tweed Hunter McAllister Harper Wright Jackson and ONeill

Sub: Evans

Att 14872

Hibernian: A Grand Old Team (9 mins)

https://youtu.be/nUeCu1QQfJE

johnsparky2

www.fitbastats.com
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 04-01-2022 at 07:16 AM.

16/10/1961 Friendly Challenge Match

Hibernian 2 v 0 Torino

Fraser
    Baxter

Rare footage from the friendly match arranged as part of Joe Baker’s transfer to Torino featuring Denis Law

https://youtu.be/16qho3xBBU

1/1/1996 Scottish League SPL

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

ONeill
    Harper

https://youtu.be/KAomC_W1gwA

Hibs: Leighton Millen Tortolano McGinlay Tweed Hunter McAllister Harper Wright Jackson and ONeill

Sub: Evans

Att 14872

Hibernian: A Grand Old Team

https://youtu.be/nUeCu1QQfJE

johnsparky2

www.fitbastats.com
    Are you managing to watch the Torino highlights? It is "unavailable" when I try.

Thanks again anyway - this stuff is magic.

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    Are you managing to watch the Torino highlights? It is "unavailable" when I try.

Thanks again anyway - this stuff is magic.
    Sorted apologies

Thanks, hadn't seen that before (don't think I knew the game had ever taken place, to be honest!).

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    Thanks, hadn't seen that before (don't think I knew the game had ever taken place, to be honest!).
    Ahm no the best at IT ....born in the fifties

Billy
    I hope you don't mind
    The following link is not game highlights ,but a wee bit of historical memorabilia you and others may find of interest
    I copied it from the wonderful "EdinPhotos" website by Peter Stubbs

Note the Harp and the location of our club listed as

Easter Road Park
    Leith

http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_d/0_do...rd_1921-22.htm
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 10-06-2020 at 08:49 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Billy
    I hope you don't mind
    The following link is not game highlights ,but a wee bit of historical memorabilia you and others may find of interest
    I copied it from the wonderful "EdinPhotos" website by Peter Stubbs

Note the Harp and the location of our club listed as

Easter Road Park
    Leith

http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_d/0_do...rd_1921-22.htm
    Brilliant!

All links to all auld fitba and memoriabilia welcome

Expect to see Raith Rovers v Famous Five “ ice rink match “ 1952 coming to a thread near you sometime soon

10/2/1951 Scottish Cup Round 2

Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian

Smith
    Turnbull
    Johnstone

https://youtu.be/Cdtm5w3LDNU

Hibs: Younger Govan Ogilvie Buchanan Paterson Gallacher Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att: 102342

14/3/1953 Scottish Cup Round 4

Hibernian 1 v 1 Aberdeen

Buchanan

https://youtu.be/Ddj-Xh9JipE

Hibs would lose the replay 0-2

Hibs: Younger Clark Howie Buchanan Paterson and Combe Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att 47585

www.fitbastats.com
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 11-06-2020 at 01:54 PM.

10/21951 Scottish Cup Round 2

Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian

Smith
    Turnbull
    Johnstone

https://youtu.be/Cdtm5w3LDNU

Hibs: Younger Govan Ogilvie Buchanan Paterson Gallacher Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att: 102342

14/3/1953 Scottish Cup Round 4

Hibernian 1 v 1 Aberdeen

Buchanan

https://youtu.be/Ddj-Xh9JipE

Hibs would lose the replay 0-2

Hibs: Younger Clark Howie Buchanan Paterson and Combe Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att 47585

www.fitbastats.com
    Fantastic. That crowd at Ibrox... wonder how many Hibbies would have travelled through for the gemme?