Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Great images . Back then and even up to about 1970 at least team seemed to be the same every week . When did reserve league start ? In early 70s we had a reserve team and 3rd team playing in East of Scotland League . And reserves played at 3 pm on a Saturday so a lot of season ticketholders ( we only had about 1000 I think as only old centre stand ) used to go to reserve matches instead of travelling to see first team .

@hibs.net private member ACLeith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Certainly in the 50s there were only two games broadcast in full-the Scotland/England game and the English Cup Final.Don’t think the Scottish Cup Final was.
    I am sure the second half of the 58 final was broadcast. I jumped about when we equalised only to have my first Hampden disappointment. Still, today more than made up fir all of that

Certainly in the 50s there were only two games broadcast in full-the Scotland/England game and the English Cup Final.Don’t think the Scottish Cup Final was.
    Maybe Rangers v Hearts in the 70's first final live on tv

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    Celtic v Clyde in 1955 was the first Scottish Cup Final to be shown live on TV

The Scottish Cup Final at Hampden Park in 1955.
    The match, between Glasgow football clubs Celtic and Clyde, was the first Scottish Cup final to be televised live and was played in front of a "disappointing" crowd of more than 106,000.
    The score was 1-1, and Clyde won the replay 1-0.

First match was live on STV
    Don't know about the replay

Hibs End at Hampden in the above mentioned final

ma faither, who hailed from New Lanark and a Celtic supporter would likely have been on that terracing with obligatory cairy oot

That's if he didnae spraff a brief for the main stand

Clyde won the Cup the following season by the same score
    Guess who they beat ;-(

Text and photo......
    courtesy of the Burrell Collection,Glasgow.

Edit
    Scoopyboy
    I must have been writing my post when you responded

Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 21-05-2020 at 10:54 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    Celtic v Clyde in 1955 was the first Scottish Cup Final to be shown live on TV
    Only a few years out. I remember being told some fact about Rangers v Hearts final but it obviously wasn't that.

BBC Sportscene started in 1975

But i think The old rangers v hertz final was the following year
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 21-05-2020 at 10:11 PM.

The best fact about that final was that Hearts were 1-0 down before the scheduled start time of 3pm.

It was torrential rain so the ref started the game at 2.58pm and Hearts lost a goal in the first minute

The best fact about that final was that Hearts were 1-0 down before the scheduled start time of 3pm.

It was torrential rain so the ref started the game at 2.58pm and Hearts lost a goal in the first minute
    Didn’t the same thing happen when Hearts won the cup v Rangers...a penalty in the first minute or so, before 3pm after an early kick off ??

I attended the 1975 final with my Hearts mates loads o fighting outside the ground before and after the game which was par for the course at the time

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Didn’t the same thing happen when Hearts won the cup v Rangers...a penalty in the first minute or so, before 3pm after an early kick off ??

Might have been, try to wipe that day from my memory to be honest.

Worse than our final against them in my opinion.

Might have been, try to wipe that day from my memory to be honest.

Worse than our final against them in my opinion.
    Really?

While I didn't celebrate it, I was grudgingly happy for my Jambos mates TBH.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Really?

While I didn't celebrate it, I was grudgingly happy for my Jambos mates TBH.
    Yes, without doubt.

I had thought prior to that day I could get through my life without witnessing Hearts winning anything.

In 2012 we were well beat and I accepted that, might have been different if we had dominated the game and been beaten by a dodgy late penalty. Scunnered at the time but I was over it by the Monday.

Some more Hibernian oldies on this link from British Pathe

https://www.britishpathe.com/workspa...d7e8/HIBS/full

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post

Second image down looks like Raith Rovers v HIBS 1952

https://youtu.be/mbtVLF8MsY8

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar

these are brilliant, I'm sure my Dad was at the Rangers SC semi replay will ask him

and it's not just recently we get dodgy ref decisions against us

I was recently looking for footage of the 1970 Aberdeen v Celtic Scottish Cup Final and was amazed to find only very poor and short footage. I was a young kid at the time but remember watching lavish live coverage of the FA Cup Final from 68' onwards.

Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    I was recently looking for footage of the 1970 Aberdeen v Celtic Scottish Cup Final and was amazed to find only very poor and short footage. I was a young kid at the time but remember watching lavish live coverage of the FA Cup Final from 68' onwards.
    Why would Scottish Football get the same treatment as English...

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Second image down looks like Raith Rovers v HIBS 1952

https://youtu.be/mbtVLF8MsY8
    Billy
    Correct

The link below is same games but details dates/teams
    Sorry the list is not all wins

https://www.britishpathe.com/workspa...0b41bd7e8/HIBS
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-05-2020 at 01:58 PM.

The first Scottish wartime match radio commentary was a New Year’s Day Edinburgh derby which finished up with the scoreline: Hibernian 5, Hearts 6. Petrie! Check oot the ground name below.

Hibernian hold the accolade of being the first professional Scottish football team to appear on television in Scotland:

• Floodlit Professional Football: Arsenal v. Hibernian, Wednesday 22 October 1952, 20:15–21:10
      A charity match at the Arsenal Stadium, Highbury, in aid of the National Playing Fields Association and of the Central Council of Physical Recreation (Sports Development Fund). Commentary on the second half by Kenneth Wolstenholme and Peter Thomson

Hibernian hold the accolade of being the first professional Scottish football team to appear on television in Scotland:

• Floodlit Professional Football: Arsenal v. Hibernian, Wednesday 22 October 1952, 20:15–21:10
      A charity match at the Arsenal Stadium, Highbury, in aid of the National Playing Fields Association and of the Central Council of Physical Recreation (Sports Development Fund). Commentary on the second half by Kenneth Wolstenholme and Peter Thomson
    And got slaughtered

Quote Originally Posted by Steven79 View Post
    Why would Scottish Football get the same treatment as English...

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
    Before the World Cup in 1966 technology restricted broadcasting and a lot of programmes were only shown in London. Technological advantages must have exploded after that and i remember vividly watching the Olympics in 68' and the World Cup in 70' both fired in from Mexico. It was akin to the moon landing in sporting terms .........but no much Scottish football on TV until later.
    Last edited by CMurdoch; 22-05-2020 at 02:13 PM.

The first Scottish wartime match radio commentary was a New Year’s Day Edinburgh derby which finished up with the scoreline: Hibernian 5, Hearts 6. Petrie! Check oot the ground name below.

• Association Football: Hibernian v. Heart of Midlothian, Monday 1 January 1940, 15:00–15:40
      Hibernian v. Heart of Midlothian on the second half of the Scottish Regional League match, by R. E. Kingsley ('Rex' of The Sunday Mail), from the Hibernian Park, Edinburgh.
    • ​
    Rex got around.He started in the Sunday Mail a Player of the Year prize which of couurse the SFA and the Scottish League refused to recognise in any way.And the first winner was?

And got slaughtered
    didn't want to say. Almost as bad a beating as that maroon team took in 73'
    Last edited by CMurdoch; 22-05-2020 at 02:29 PM.

Rex got around.He started in the Sunday Mail a Player of the Year prize which of couurse the SFA and the Scottish League refused to recognise in any way.And the first winner was?
    Gordon Smith in 1951

Why was it not awarded in 1963?
    Last edited by CMurdoch; 22-05-2020 at 02:27 PM.

Gordon Smith in 1951

Why was it not awarded in 1963?

I wonder if Rex had retired by then and the Mail had second thoughts?

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    I was cleaning my laptop and came across this footage of our club .circa 1950.

Admit to having a tear in my eye thinking on what i missed ,not seeing these wonderful footballers in their prime.

I was not born till a couple of years after this film was made.

Be nice if anyone can contribute any such vintage footage from days gone by.

https://movingimage.nls.uk/film/8528

Footage from National Library of Scotland

"When will we see their likes again"
    Fabulous. I’m so proud to be a hibs fan. hibernian was made for me and I was made for Hibernian

And got slaughtered
    As you will see from the game programme link below the Famous Five played in this horsing. What went wrong?
    https://www.footballprogrammes.net/a...h-p-49509.html

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    The thing I’ll never understand about the famous five team is that even when they were dominating Scottish football they still struggled in the derby against Hearts.

I just can’t get my head around the inferiority complex we seem to have in the derby. The only time we’ve ever properly got the better of them is in the turnbulls tornadoes era.