Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Worst game ever seen at Easter road

Between a 0-0 draw with st.johnstone in 2010/2011 under calderwood with the foreign refs or the friendly v bohemians later that season. Both freezing, both bored the life out me.
    Think we had numerous dour 0-0 games against aberdeen between 2012 and 2013.

Any others?

I was at the Scotland vs Canada friendly at Easter Road a few years back and it was brutal. Shocking standard of football, terrible result and it was absolutely freezing that night

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post

Any others?
    This could be a longer thread than the sevco one...

Almost any game in season 81-82 when Bertie Auld was in charge.

Except for the games where we (curiously enough) beat Celtc twice at home

February 2009 Hibs V Falkirk. A 0-0 draw.

It was a brutal game but one I always remember. There had been a building discontent that season and that was the day it spilled over. There was a point in the 2nd half when Chris Hogg passed the ball back to the keeper and the reaction was like we had just lost an 8th goal TO Hearts in a derby.

Some of the abuse aimed at Mixu after that game was shameful. He went from being the guy who scored a hat trick v Hearts to 'the fat Finn' and 'Mixup'.

1-0 defeat to St Johnsone around Christmas in 2018. Scunnered me. We were hopeless.

First Team Breakthrough jingler1954's Avatar
    Hibs v The Rangers when both teams stopped playing with 10 mins to play.

Quote Originally Posted by jingler1954 View Post
    Hibs v The Rangers when both teams stopped playing with 10 mins to play.
    10 mins? More like 30!!

And they weren’t “The Rangers” at that time. This was prime EBT years

First Team Breakthrough jingler1954's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    10 mins? More like 30!!

👍😁

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    1-0 defeat to St Johnsone around Christmas in 2018. Scunnered me. We were hopeless.
    Sure that was the game after the derby early November? MacLaren up top on his own all nicely finished off by their usual 90th min + goal against us at ER

Worst one was that 0-0 V St Johnstone. My wife has never been since ha
    Cougars!!!

Think there was a 1-0 loss to Falkirk under Mowbray or Collins that was pretty brutal.

Quote Originally Posted by The young one View Post
    Sure that was the game after the derby early November? MacLaren up top on his own all nicely finished off by their usual 90th min + goal against us at ER
    That's the one. Baffling tactics again

Scotland v Qatar a few years ago was shambolic, but I fear I’ve seen worse performances/games in Hibs colours tbh.

The Bertie Auld season is a good shout for almost every game. That was when I started going pretty much every week as an 11/12 year old. How I have stuck by Hibs after that is a mystery. Must be some kind of masochist

Quote Originally Posted by HH81 View Post
    Worst one was that 0-0 V St Johnstone. My wife has never been since ha
    Snap.

My other half used to come to games with me quite often, she hasn’t been back since that day.

The game was horrific but it was the cold that really got to us.

That must have been one of Yogi’s last games.

10 mins? More like 30!!

It was an absolute disgrace.

@hibs.net private member Fergus52's Avatar

Gamertag: Zazu rafike
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Think there was a 1-0 loss to Falkirk under Mowbray or Collins that was pretty brutal.
    Is that the one where the ref (I think freedland) made an absolute arse of it all?

Was horrendous.

Quote Originally Posted by Tomsk View Post
    It was an absolute disgrace.
    Not imo. We got what we needed, that’s all that matters

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Snap.

My other half used to come to games with me quite often, she hasn’t been back since that day.

The game was horrific but it was the cold that really got to us.

That must have been one of Yogi’s last games.
    Yes it was freezing that day. I'm used to the cold being from Yorkshire but that day was very cold.
    Cougars!!!

Not imo. We got what we needed, that’s all that matters
    Aberdeen needed a 6 goal swing.

We let them come and win the league at ER and accepted a diddy European spot as reward for that.

We could have had a go. Beat them and got third and stopped them winning the league.

They might have beat us but we could have tried and just kept it tight had we gone behind.

It was crap all round.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post

We let them come and win the league at ER and accepted a diddy European spot as reward for that.

We could have had a go. Beat them and got third and stopped them winning the league.

They might have beat us but we could have tried and just kept it tight had we gone behind.

It was crap all round.

Correct. And when you think who we let win the league - utterly shameful.

Left by mutual consent! KingPat4's Avatar
    The last derby.

It was crap all round.

That “diddy European spot” would have been our aim at the start of the season, so we got what we wanted, regardless of what it took to achieve it.

All it would have took for that 6 goal swing to happen was for us to lose another goal and Aberdeen score another (I think). Anyway, folk have their own opinion on it, because of who it was ended up winning the league, however in my opinion we should do what’s best for us

I remember a night game v Aberdeen, around 2011/12, can’t remember if Calderwood or Fenlon was the manager. We lost 2-0 and we were absolutely dreadful
    Wee lad I take felt sick just after half time, and needed to go home
    Everyone volunteered to take him home as we were so awful

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Where’s the Hibs 1-3 Hamilton Accies thread when you need it. Yes, I did stay to the end and saw John Collins consolation goal.

Too many to mention

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Some time in the 90’s I cut a holiday in Brighton short by 24 hours to get back up the road for a midweek game against Dunfermline. Drove non stop for about 10 hours (GF at the time couldn’t drive) and was delighted to make it in just in time for kick off. Fast forward 45 minutes, 0-4 down, I was a tad unhappy.

There was some right dross in the 1980s but I seem to recall a home defeat to Meadowbank being amongst the worst. Horrific. It may be age catching up with me but I seem to recall Arthur Duncan playing for Meadowbank and being the best player on the pitch

@hibs.net private member Jamesie's Avatar

It was crap all round.

It was a nasty spectacle, the like of which I hope I never see again at Easter Road. A European place wasn’t worth watching them deface our turf at full time.