Thread: Great goals

Great goals

No matter who great goals:

Always thought this was top drawer from a top drawer player.

https://youtu.be/juxu6Ev7a6A

"The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

A proper laces through it volley

https://youtu.be/pPHqRpJ7tLY

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    I have watched this goal so many times and I still struggle to understand the physics and physiology behind it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IicmCu47pMo
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I have watched this goal so many times and I still struggle to understand the physics and physiology behind it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IicmCu47pMo
    I will include Pele, Maradona, Messi & Ronaldo in this. I do not think I have witnessed a player with a better first touch than Bergkamp.

https://youtu.be/XsZkCFoqSBs

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Trips View Post
    I will include Pele, Maradona, Messi & Ronaldo in this. I do not think I have witnessed a player with a better first touch than Bergkamp.

https://youtu.be/XsZkCFoqSBs
    There are great goals, countless great goals. The screamers from long range. The great first touch and then the finish.

I like the patient build-ups and I may still yet post Cambiasso for Argentina vs Serbia in the 98 WC as that was a thing of absolute, sheer beauty. Carlos Alberto for Brazil in the WC final in 1970 is definitely iconic. Some of the Brazilian goals from the 1982 WC also deserve credit.

But for sheer and simple brilliance then Bergkamp against Newcastle still defies my logic. As for his talent, I see that in the spectacular goal he scored against Argentina in the 98 WC, but the Newcastle goal was just a different level.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

And in fairness, if we are going Dutch we can’t exclude this one. One of the most prolific strikers in my lifetime but someone who seems a bit forgotten about. All about natural talent to control the ball, both in receiving it and then shooting.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Ly3mSsHg9T0

Not got a link but Kasami's goal in the Premier League for Fulham vs Crystal Palace is my favourite non hibs goal of all time. The way he controls it whilst hes running and doesnt even break stride to hit the volley basically the opposite way he is running is magnificent. He started the run from the half way line too. Just a fantastic goal and never really mentioned when they talk about goal of the decade and stuff for the EPL. Probably because it wasnt one of the big teams.
    Last edited by SChibs; 04-04-2020 at 10:55 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by SChibs View Post
    Not got a link but Kasami's goal in the Premier League for Fulham vs Crystal Palace is my favourite non hibs goal of all time. The way he controls it whilst hes running and doesnt even break stride to hit the volley basically the opposite way he is running is magnificent. He started the run from the half way line too. Just a fantastic goal and never really mentioned when they talk about goal of the decade and stuff for the EPL. Probably because it wasnt one of the big teams.
    This it ? -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OWEtvlJZfA4

So far, for me, I love Dennis Bergkamp's goal - not just for the style, skill and grace but also for that Dutch commentator trying to emulate his Brazilian counterparts - brilliant !

Van persie volly against villa for man utd to win the league.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

My favourite goal ever....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRHSP_KXigs

I think most found this piece of skill enjoyable at the time.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-7CECdXum4

Just the whole thing, Socrates first in the game was also a belter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jx9KMhX4lzo

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    Up there with the best ever. Never tire of watching it.

My English side Chorley were 2-1 down in the 95th minute of Conference North play-off semi-final and then one of our players done this:

https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/row-z...d-kick-5630757

Went on to win on penalties.
    Last edited by Chorley Hibee; 04-04-2020 at 07:03 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Trips View Post
    Just the whole thing, Socrates first in the game was also a belter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jx9KMhX4lzo
    Thats a stunning goal. Loved the '82 Brazil side. Probably my favourite ever team (Hibs aside).

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by LeithMike View Post
    Thats a stunning goal. Loved the '82 Brazil side. Probably my favourite ever team (Hibs aside).

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
    My favourite side ever by a mile, from the brilliant Falcao to the magnificent Socrates who had no equal. Here's 11 beauties, poor Roughie had a miserable time....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZxvYy5-ekI

I think for a certain generation of us, the Brazil 1982 team were simply the most unbelievable and incredible thing we had ever seen. In a world before the internet and every league being broadcast through satellite TV, they were unfathomable. Plus the sheer joy and insouciance that they brought to matches was something entirely new, certainly compared to the experience of league football at the time.

Italy-Brazil in the second round also has to be the best non-Hibs game ever, despite it resulting in a loss for Brazil.

They contributed some fantastic goals in that tournament. There have been Brazilian sides who achieved more in World Cups but I don’t think any quite achieved the elan of the 1982 team, though the guys from 1970 run them close.

Mentioned I might post this earlier, Cambiasso’s goal for Argentina against Serbia.

In my previous post I said it was 1998, no one pulled me up about it being 2006

Special, special goal though. Argentina just pull Serbia all over the place through movement and precision. But there are also some really deft and skilful touches.

After Bergkamp this is probably my favourite non-Hibs goal.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=COe5Y29-BZY

I think for a certain generation of us, the Brazil 1982 team were simply the most unbelievable and incredible thing we had ever seen. In a world before the internet and every league being broadcast through satellite TV, they were unfathomable. Plus the sheer joy and insouciance that they brought to matches was something entirely new, certainly compared to the experience of league football at the time.

Italy-Brazil in the second round also has to be the best non-Hibs game ever, despite it resulting in a loss for Brazil.

They contributed some fantastic goals in that tournament. There have been Brazilian sides who achieved more in World Cups but I don’t think any quite achieved the elan of the 1982 team, though the guys from 1970 run them close.
    They are the best team I've seen in the flesh, and although the QF with Italy is a classic I still remember being gutted that Brazil were out. I was convinced they'd win the cup and when they didn't it had repercussions for Brazilian fitba as they changed to a more cynical, defensive game in the years to follow.

https://youtu.be/-5ihIMKh0E0

Incredible hit of a dead ball!! Made even better by there being no crowd and hearing it hit the net.

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    They are the best team I've seen in the flesh, and although the QF with Italy is a classic I still remember being gutted that Brazil were out. I was convinced they'd win the cup and when they didn't it had repercussions for Brazilian fitba as they changed to a more cynical, defensive game in the years to follow.

Said it on another thread goals change games and all Rossi did was score goals

Worth his weight in gold

That game was a joy to watch some brilliant goals especially from Socrates

Best team goal Carlos Alberto Brazil World Cup Final 1970

And the winner is.......

https://youtu.be/M5HbmeNKino
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 04-04-2020 at 09:51 PM.

Paolo Rossi = wee fat Robbo :(

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    Yes, so many of that Brazilian squad were based in the home country but over the next decade and a half players moved abroad. That led to playing in different styles and there was an overall trend towards defensive football internationally during that period.

As brilliant and scintillating as Brazil were in 1982 there were a bunch of other teams who were also really good. Sky Sports sometimes show a documentary about the various WC tournaments which involve lots of touchside camera work, from the time, as opposed to the polished stuff we take for granted now. They are really good and the 1982 episode is probably the best.

I imagine that in the current circumstances they will be repeated!
    Last edited by Mibbes Aye; 04-04-2020 at 09:50 PM.