Quote Originally Posted by Newry Hibs View Post
    Did Killie take the lead in this match?
    Aye following a rare Jackie MacNamara slip

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    Jackie Mac's goal was indeed a raker; think big Gordon Rae scored a beauty too, meaning both centre-halves scored? Pat McCurdy has already been mentioned; anyone else remember the other scorers?

I'm going for: Willie Jamieson, Brian Rice, Graham Harvey, Willie Irvine, Arthur Duncan. Someone might have got 2 goals, of course!
    Duncan Rae McNamara Irvine 2 Thomson 2 and McCurdy

www.fitbastats.com

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Duncan Rae McNamara Irvine 2 Thomson 2 and McCurdy

www.fitbastats.com
    Pat McCurdy, had high hopes for him

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    I was in Hibs Kids and in South Stand that day. The heady days of Hibs Kids
    Was it you that was gobbing on the away fans?

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Pat McCurdy, had high hopes for him
    Me anaw as another poster pointed out did well in the reserves but just petered out in the first team.

Played 7 scored 1

I was at this game. It was the only match I attended that season. I was at university at the time and had come home during the Easter break.

My memory is of standing on a pretty empty main terracing on a bright, sunny day - although the result might be making me think it was a lot brighter than it actually was - and Hibs scoring with just about every shot they hit. Looking at the team it's actually hard to believe they mustered eight goals in one game -- FFS! Stuart Turnbull was playing! Trust me, he was worse than a man short.

Over the years I've seen Hibs score, in single games, seven goals once, eight goals once, but nine goals three times.

Quote Originally Posted by McS****y View Post
    I was there! Think it was 2-1at half time and remember somebody's name got called over the tannoy, they had to go home. Oops!

Sent from my HRY-LX1 using Tapatalk
    Yes remember it well . That person was me !!

Quote Originally Posted by Scotty Leither View Post
    Was it you that was gobbing on the away fans?
    Aye. They got their own back about 18 years later when I got a smack in puss leaving their ground

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    Jackie Mac's goal was indeed a raker
    From memory it was at least 30yds out and when the ball came toward him and he set himself up to hit it, you knew he was going to score.

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    From memory it was at least 30yds out and when the ball came toward him and he set himself up to hit it, you knew he was going to score.
    I think it was into the Dunbar end? Not 100% sure though

Quote Originally Posted by bringbackbenny View Post
    I think it was into the Dunbar end? Not 100% sure though
    It was.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Aye following a rare Jackie MacNamara slip
    They didn’t, they equalised an early Arthur Duncan goal. We scored six going up the slope in the 2nd half!

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    A young Graham Harvey played well that day IIRC. Might have been his debut. For a while he looked like he might be something better than the very average team we had back then.
    His debut was against Morton in the Feb, he scored that day. I was at both games, on my own, aged 11!

Quote Originally Posted by Superfurry72 View Post
    They didn’t, they equalised an early Arthur Duncan goal. We scored six going up the slope in the 2nd half!

fitbastats f##ked up !
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 03-04-2020 at 12:48 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Gmack7 View Post
    Hammered Killie 8 . 1 2.4.82. is this a joint record score?
    You mean against Kilmarnock? If not nowhere near a record.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    You mean against Kilmarnock? If not nowhere near a record.

It held the record for highest combined score in a premier league match for a long time (possibly still does.)

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    I was in Hibs Kids and in South Stand that day. The heady days of Hibs Kids
    Showing my age over yours here S, but it was one of the first games I took my young nephew to and had to sit the wee ****er on my shoulders for the 90 mins, even in a sparse crowd. I dropped him at my ma’s at Easter Road after the game and got righteously wrecked in the Vickie bar.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    It held the record for highest combined score in a premier league match for a long time (possibly still does.)
    That was my question. but Celtic pumped Aberdeen 9 . 0 and im sure there's been a 6 . 6 draw since then

There's been a 5-5 too. Some gemme that yin!

That's true, the 6-6 game must hold the record now

Remember watching Grandstands vidiprinter on a weekly basis at 4:40 back then living in Lancashire.

"Hibernian 8 (eight)" it popped up. They always suffixed a high score with the words so you knew it wasnt a typo.

I was there on a very sparse main terrace. Remember it being 2-1 at half time and the Jackie Mc slip for the Killie goal - but I can't remember any of the Hibs goals - weird!