@hibs.net private member Dan Sarf's Avatar

England Won The World Cup!

Apparently, it was in 1966. Why has nobody talked about this?

You can listen to the commentary here...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p06qct94

Quote Originally Posted by Dan Sarf View Post
    Apparently, it was in 1966. Why has nobody talked about this?

You can listen to the commentary here...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p06qct94
    Well, they kept that quiet.

Quote Originally Posted by ian omand View Post
    I reckon it's because of the, relatively obscure, fact that in 1967 Scotland beat them 2-3 at Wembley.

They were so embarrassed at being beaten by a country with such a small population they barely ever mentioned their WC victory in 1966 ever again.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

They barely ever mention it.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Scotland twice world cup winners 1967and of course 1978

@hibs.net private member Dan Sarf's Avatar

Shame no footage of the game has survived.

Aye they weren't so keen on Var then....

Oh them Russians !

@hibs.net private member Sudds_1's Avatar
    As i recall, ramsay played greaves instead of hurst so he could claim we hadnt beaten the world cup side
    The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits

The trouble with referees is that they know the rules, but they do not know the game

Yes we did and Scotland have never won it.

Quote Originally Posted by JXM73 View Post
    Aye they weren't so keen on Var then....

Disallow that goal and they still won.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    To be fair, it is being brought up less and less now. It's going from "we won it" to "it's embarrassing we haven't won it since then".

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    To be fair, it is being brought up less and less now. It's going from "we won it" to "it's embarrassing we haven't won it since then".
    It should be embarrassing seeing as they seem to consider themselves a "world football powerhouse" yet havent even reached a final since. I dont think They will win anything in my lifetime. Bottling it is engrained in their mentality.

Scotland are the most successful nation in the world.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unoffi...-time_rankings

Back in yer box sassenachs!

They really do have a horrendous record when compared to similar sized nations.

Still remember 1967 Scotland the unofficial World Champions

The Sunday Post had World Cup Willie wearing a kilt

Jim Baxter told the story that he kept calling Alan Ball Jimmy Clitheroe to wind him up

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    I reckon it's because of the, relatively obscure, fact that in 1967 Scotland beat them 2-3 at Wembley.

They were so embarrassed at being beaten by a country with such a small population they barely ever mentioned their WC victory in 1966 ever again.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
    Yeh and it’s not like we have ever banged on about 1967 and being the unofficial World Champions, in fact I may be the first person to have ever brought that up !

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    That commentary will likely bring a lot of joy to a lot of people at a time when it's needed the most.

Just like 2012 with Hearts, just like 2016 with us. At times like this a comfort blanket's perfectly OK.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Still remember 1967 Scotland the unofficial World Champions

The Sunday Post had World Cup Willie wearing a kilt

Jim Baxter told the story that he kept calling Alan Ball Jimmy Clitheroe to wind him up

So will BBC have the balls to show the game in 1967 when the World Champions were humbled by the Wee Jocks ..... pleasing

Back in the day I would have fancied Scotland to win the World Cup at home. Well maybe no!

Quote Originally Posted by gloryhunter View Post
    Disallow that goal and they still won.
    Well. You say that but I believe VAR would have disallowed the ‘4th goal’ because there were some people on the pitch because they thought it was all over!!

Quote Originally Posted by hibby6270 View Post
    Well. You say that but I believe VAR would have disallowed the ‘4th goal’ because there were some people on the pitch because they thought it was all over!!
    Surely just exuberance? 🤔

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    It should be embarrassing seeing as they seem to consider themselves a "world football powerhouse" yet havent even reached a final since. I dont think They will win anything in my lifetime. Bottling it is engrained in their mentality.
    Aye but I was getting nervous 2 summers ago...

Quote Originally Posted by delbert View Post
    Yeh and it’s not like we have ever banged on about 1967 and being the unofficial World Champions, in fact I may be the first person to have ever brought that up !

And never banged on about Archie's goal against Holland

I'll never cheer on England but they still have the best World Cup song- World In Motion. Just my opinion though.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    I'll never cheer on England but they still have the best World Cup song- World In Motion. Just my opinion though.
    I Have A Dream John Gordon Sinclair

“It’s a penalty!”

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    Three Lions is an absolute banger as well.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

England are by far the least successful of the large populated nations in the world. Germany, Italy, Spain are much better with roughly the same populations.

@hibs.net private member therealgavmac's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Three Lions is an absolute banger as well.
    Being pedantic, this wasn't a World Cuo song, it was Euro 96

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    I Have A Dream John Gordon Sinclair

“It’s a penalty!”
    Quality. Bought the single fae John Menzies at Barnton. Incidentally, the b side was brutal - 'Wrap up the Cup'.

'World in Motion' was barry too, mind. Have often changed the words to 'Scotland' or 'Hibernian'.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbiesandtheBaddies View Post
    England are by far the least successful of the large populated nations in the world. Germany, Italy, Spain are much better with roughly the same populations.
    I'd say France was a better comparison in terms of population but also players who are descendants of families from former colonies. England are miles behind.