Official Site: WHAT HIBS MEANS TO ME | MICHAEL WEIR

He’s here He’s there He’s every f##king where.....

Quote Originally Posted by RSS Bot View Post

'He’s here, he’s there, he’s everywhere, it’s Mickey Weir'

That wouldn't sing right- not without the f****** F-word !

Still, never a truer song was sung - he DID have the knack of being everywhere !. A genuine Hibee who always played his heart out for us !

Lovely laddie is Michael
    Shared a love for greyhounds with my brother Billy.
    Billy used to sometimes look after and walk the dogs at the kennels .
    The dogs didnae mess wae Billy !!

I usd to drink and play doms/cards with Michael's dad and brother in the Doocot games room. back in the 70s and later.
    Then in later years ,The Clerry Inn and Centurian when they moved to Clermiston.
    Lovely people

@hibs.net private member Jamesie's Avatar
    What's Mickey up to these days?

I remember being heartbroken when he left to go to Luton. I think it coincided with a 0-4 defeat to Dundee at ER as well

I lived in next street in clery and my house backed onto his. He would be out in his back garden till late practicing his skills. My dad refereed a game he was playing and told me he was outstanding and would play pro one day.
    I think mcglashan in the TV programme absolutely nominated him as the man of the week and sang his song on the programme.

My second hero after Ally Macleod.

Great player, skillfull, tricky, could see a pass and score, major influence when we won the league cup.

Can't forget his phenomenal self-foul vs Dunfermline at Hampden

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamesie View Post
    he does an article for the evening news, not sure what he does outwith that

cracking player for us who always gave 100%

Quote Originally Posted by Jamesie View Post
    Top guy, one of the best speakers to listen too.

Mickey is currently an Ambassador around the country for Show Racism the Red Card initiative.
    Last edited by Power; 02-04-2020 at 03:44 PM.

Absolute childhood hero, a fully committed player with no little skill to boot.

They say never meet your heroes but he attended a LHSC burns night do in 2011 that I was at and a nicer man you could not wish to meet. I was totally starstruck - bit pathetic really

He was a wee ray of sunshine when he appeared on the scene during some very grey days for Hibs. I remember a home game against Dumbarton when we were battling the drop (same season as the McBride double at Tynie on another thread) when he really ran the show. We won 3-1 and even though there were some rocky moments to come you just sensed we wouldn't go down. One of those players who the fans instinctively warm to and makes you feel you're all in it together.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    I remember being heartbroken when he left to go to Luton. I think it coincided with a 0-4 defeat to Dundee at ER as well
    0-4 at ht . Mickey was a brilliant player . I remember an away game at Morton, they had just scored and Mickey took the ball from our restart ,skinned half their team and scored . Finished 3-3 .
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

I just love this guy!

He's my wee hero and a nicer guy you could never meet.

I was really upset when he left us but knew he would be back as the pull

of that jersey over his head again was too much.

Listening to him talk you can sense how much he loves Hibs and just what the club means to him.

A really lovely guy and what a player he was too!

He's here he's there he's everywhere..... Mickey Weir!

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    Can't forget his phenomenal self-foul vs Dunfermline at Hampden
    It was a clear foul and everybody involved with Hibs that day, players, coaches and fans all insist it was a foul. 😉