Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Simon Murray

Quote Originally Posted by PISTOL1875 View Post
    When Stokes came in and took Murray's place his form just nosedived.. Was doing fine untul Stokes came in .
    Dunno Stokes came in 5/8/2017-30/12/2017 P 21 Scored 11
    Simon Murray. 15/7/2017-27/1/2018 P 28 Scored 14

Pretty much of a muchness but admittedly Murray went his last eight games without scoring

Don’t know how much fire hydrant gate had to do with it but fair play to Neil Lennon he had enough and took a gamble on Jamie MAC and Flo which paid off bringing the best football to be played at Easter Road in a generation

Quote Originally Posted by tonyrougier123 View Post
    Would have him back no problem I thought the signing of stokes was a big factor in his form dipping.

Could be. Or could be that we was found out pretty quickly and found chances harder to come by.

Likeable guy but I’m not pushing for a return. I think he may need to move down a level.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Dunno Stokes came in 5/8/2017-30/12/2017 P 21 Scored 11
    Simon Murray. 15/7/2017-27/1/2018 P 28 Scored 14

Pretty much of a muchness but admittedly Murray went his last eight games without scoring

Don’t know how much fire hydrant gate had to do with it but fair play to Neil Lennon he had enough and took a gamble on Jamie MAC and Flo which paid off bringing the best football to be played at Easter Road in a generation

Hello hyperbole!

We were good. But we weren’t that good.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    Hello hyperbole!

We were good. But we weren’t that good.
    The last six months of that season was probably the best since the Tornadoes unlucky not to do a lot better than we did

Dunno what planet you have been on?

All about opinions I suppose

Jamie scores the pen versus Aberdeen we beat the Hearts hammer the Hun jobs a good un

No?

Is that why Lenny threw a wobbly?
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 29-03-2020 at 03:10 PM.

The last six months of that season was probably the best since the Tornadoes unlucky not to do a lot better than we did

Dunno what planet you have been on?

All about opinions I suppose

Jamie scores the pen versus Aberdeen we beat the Hearts hammer the Hun jobs a good un

No?

Is that why Lenny threw a wobbly?

Well we’ve won 3 cups since the Tornadoes and enjoyed some great players and times. We were irresistible under Mowbray at times.

2018 was very good on the whole until Lenny chucked his toys oot the pram, but the best we’ve played for a generation? You don’t need to be an alien to query such a sweeping statement.

Well we’ve won 3 cups since the Tornadoes and enjoyed some great players and times. We were irresistible under Mowbray at times.

2018 was very good on the whole until Lenny chucked his toys oot the pram, but the best we’ve played for a generation? You don’t need to be an alien to query such a sweeping statement.
    Nae bother Spock but you gotta admit it was a rollercoaster ride and good while it lasted just a shame there was no silver lining

👍🏿

When Stokes came in and took Murray's place his form just nosedived.. Was doing fine untul Stokes came in .
    Think your memory may be playing tricks on you on this. Stokes signed before the league season began.

Although fully fit now, Murray has not played since suffering a cruciate knee ligament damage last September

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
    Think your memory may be playing tricks on you on this. Stokes signed before the league season began.
    Agree see my post Murray fell off a cliff the last two months but was going head to head with Stokes until then both scoring 25 goals between them before Lenny decided to get rid

We can do better than both McNulty and Murray imo. Mcnulty does everything jamie maclaren was critised for yet it doesnt get mentioned. Maclaren was a better player and goalscorer.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    We can do better than both McNulty and Murray imo. Mcnulty does everything jamie maclaren was critised for yet it doesnt get mentioned. Maclaren was a better player and goalscorer.
    Naw Jamie MacLaren was gash all he did was score goals

Weren't most of Murray's Goals scored in the League Cup, against lower league teams?

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post

Ah, the ‘player X is immune from criticism’ line.

Rarely true, and certainly not in this case.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Weren't most of Murray's Goals scored in the League Cup, against lower league teams?
    Errrrrrrrrrrrr!.......only the seven not counting Hearts

Quote Originally Posted by JohnM1875 View Post
    Think he'd compliment Doidge really well actually. And free as well. Why not!
    Think you could be onto something here

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    I can’t see that as a good investment...Simon Murray is 28 years old. Boyle was 21 when he came to us...

In my view, Murray is a backward step - I can’t see our rivals such as Aberdeen are considering him - neither should we

Not really an investment as its its a free. Yes there’s a gap in age but can or will we get better for a free with his speed? Even if he was third choice striker he would still be good to have.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Definitely think a player like Murray would be a good partner for Doidge, but as others have pointed out. We’re a mid table team with this squad and don’t think Murray is good enough to help us climb much higher than where we are.

Errrrrrrrrrrrr!.......only the seven not counting Hearts

OK.

I just don't really remember him as having scored a lot of league goals that season. Haven't checked, so could be wrong.

He did have quite a funny song though

Quote Originally Posted by southern hibby View Post
    Not really an investment as its its a free. Yes there’s a gap in age but can or will we get better for a free with his speed? Even if he was third choice striker he would still be good to have.

Wages aren’t free....

I’m quite confident he won’t be being considered...wouldn’t improve us..so can’t see why we would bother with him.

Will end up in the championship

Simon wasn’t a poor player for us but if everyone wants the squad to improve then that’s not the direction we will be going.

Ah, the ‘player X is immune from criticism’ line.

Rarely true, and certainly not in this case.
    I didnt say people thought he was immune from critisism. I said it didnt get mentioned whereas with MaClaren it was routinely mentioned. People were desperate for McNulty back despite him barely making an impact after the 2-1 win at tynie until the end of last season. We have got the exact same player as the one who left us. He wasnt good enough then and isnt now. He goes through games barely touching the ball (something maclaren was massively chastised for). I will be shocked if hes back in a hibs shirt again.

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    A lot of respect for the player and his work ethic however, not the quality of player that Hibs should be signing if they aspire to improve.

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post

Yes I know this but when Murray was benched and Stokes took his place , his form suffered...........
    In Simon Murray’s last eight games when he fell off a cliff goals wise starting from 2/12/2017 he came off the bench four times out of the eight games he made a contribution

Stokesy only scored two goals in that period one of which was a late goal after he himself came off the bench

In the first half of the season they had scored 25 goals between them (see my earlier post)

Lenny obviously decided he had had enough

www.fitbastats.com

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    No you said top 6. Murray scored against Rangers. McNulty has goals against Motherwell and Aberdeen.

Our biggest game is the next one.
    Even if it’s a pre-season friendly? 😗

Believe he will be signing for Dundee.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    No you said top 6. Murray scored against Rangers. McNulty has goals against Motherwell and Aberdeen.

Our biggest game is the next one.
    What a bore you are 😂

In Simon Murray’s last eight games when he fell off a cliff goals wise starting from 2/12/2017 he came off the bench four times out of the eight games he made a contribution

Stokesy only scored two goals in that period one of which was a late goal after he himself came off the bench

In the first half of the season they had scored 25 goals between them (see my earlier post)

Lenny obviously decided he had had enough

www.fitbastats.com

He hadn't enough in the sense of the phrase.. The opportunity was there to sign a scottish international but had to get rid of Stokes and Murray.. Deal was done to bring the player in in but Petrie stalled and the deal fell through.. Stokes and Murray were already away and we then were desperate for strikers.. Hence why Flo and Mclaren were brought in.....
    Last edited by PISTOL1875; 31-03-2020 at 08:52 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by supermcginn View Post
    What a bore you are 😂
    But was I right?

He hadn't enough in the sense of the phrase.. The opportunity was there to sign Ikechi Anya but had to get rid of Stokes and Murray.. Deal was done to bring Anya in but Petrie stalled and the deal fell through.. Stokes and Murray were already away and we then were desperate for strikers.. Hence why Flo and Mclaren were brought in.....
    OK !

First ah heard o that one

Fair dos

All water under the bridge now anyways