Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Was/is DH not a Rangers fan? I’m sure I’ve been told that. You can’t tell from his writing which is testament to what a good professional he’s been.
    Yes, Ibrox season ticket holder in the 70s - or so he told me when I once met him in the Jinglin Geordie pub a good number of years ago. However he'd also developed a big affection for the Hibees due to his close connection to the club. I imagine that by now he's a fully fledged fan. Seem to recall that the reporter who covered Hearts at that time was also a Rangers fan.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    Yes, Ibrox season ticket holder in the 70s - or so he told me when I once met him in the Jinglin Geordie pub a good number of years ago. However he'd also developed a big affection for the Hibees due to his close connection to the club. I imagine that by now he's a fully fledged fan. Seem to recall that the reporter who covered Hearts at that time was also a Rangers fan.
    Pretty sure Barry Anderson is also.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post

Worked in JG's for years many moons ago. Knew David quite well back in the day. Last time i heard from him was when he contacted me when doing a piece on 20th anniversary of HoH.
    Certainly was a sticky bun (used to noise him up about it ) but as you say he's been in with the bricks for so long, his affinity with the club has grown proportionally.

A proper old skool journo and by all accounts a good standard hockey player in his youth.
    Plenty time for him, sound guy.
    Enjoy the easy life David.

Really good guy 👍🏻

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by May21/05/16 View Post
    Not a patch on john Gibson

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
    Think you mean Stewart Brown. John Gibson was an insufferable twat.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    👍 JG must've been one of the richest people in Edinburgh as he never seemed to put his hands in his pocket. Despite claiming to be a Hibs man he was quick to take up Mercer's free scran and bevvy offer when Hibs were not at home. I also think he got into ER using his press pass so didn't seem to contribute to 'his' club either.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Logie Green View Post
    👍 JG must've been one of the richest people in Edinburgh as he never seemed to put his hands in his pocket. Despite claiming to be a Hibs man he was quick to take up Mercer's free scran and bevvy offer when Hibs were not at home. I also think he got into ER using his press pass so didn't seem to contribute to 'his' club either.
    I mind him moaning when he never got a Christmas card from Hibs. Hoped it was tongue in cheek.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    auld Stewart Broon was an absolute Hibby, and his pink news reports were good. that auld fart fae "stockeroo" lived on his reporter's /supporters basis for free meals over the years. Hardie was well known and respected by many Hibs fans and said it how it was, He was never shy, to say we were playin' keek so I will gie him that.

I remember as a boy you could easily pick out Stewart Brown sitting in the Press Box from the East sitting not far from Eddie Turnbull who watched every game from the Centre Stand in order that he could get a better appreciation of how the game was going

My eyesight was a lot better then

As others have said Stewart Brown was a good friend of Tom Hart

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Eddie Turnbull who watched every game from the Centre Stand in order that he could get a better appreciation of how the game was going
    Great memories of Eddie appearing at the tunnel half way through a match. You just knew he was going to tweak something or other and the opposition were in trouble.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Great memories of Eddie appearing at the tunnel half way through a match. You just knew he was going to tweak something or other and the opposition were in trouble.

Telling Arthur and Mickey to swap wings second half versus Sporting worked a treat.

Anyone know if John Gibson was Grumpy Gibby the West Stand Hibby?

Or for that matter the real identity of this Superfan ?

Anyone know if John Gibson was Grumpy Gibby the West Stand Hibby?

Or for that matter the real identity of this Superfan ?

Grumpy Gibby is penned by Sandy the Hippy Hibby of old school fanzine fame.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    Grumpy Gibby is penned by Sandy the Hippy Hibby of old school fanzine fame.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
    Sandy MACNAIR the very felly

Loadypish anyweys
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 16-03-2020 at 11:41 AM.

Sandy MACNAIR the very felly

Loadypish anyweys
    Always a must read.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    Always a must read.
    Yip!

Another book I am working my way through during the enforced break

I was a big fan of the fanzines HIBS Monthly and Mass Hibsteria